my top seven ‘little known things’ recommendations

random photo to start off the post.

I’m in a multitude of fandoms. Big, medium, and small. There’s The Hunger Games, Divergent, Les Miserables…there’s BBC Robin Hood, The Book Thief, and Emma Approved…and then there’s all the little fandoms I have. Not called so because I have a lesser affection for those certain books, movies, and TV shows, but because only a very few people know about said media.

On the one hand, it’s really fun to have small, private fandoms. They’re your own special thing. You can imagine whatever you want about the story world and no one will call you out on it. The fandom object is personal to you, instead of being shared by hundreds or thousands of fans. But on the other hand, a private fandom can be hard to reconcile to. Since hardly anyone has heard about said book/movie/TV show, you’re all alone with your feels and squee and general fangirling. And I can’t even begin to describe the feeling of excitement when you 1) discover a friend of yours loves the exact same thing you thought no one else knew about, or 2) introduce a friend to your little fandom and have them love it. I want to share some of my private fandoms with you today, and hopefully you’ll discover a gem or two. Here we go…

(in alphabetical order because I can’t think of any other way to rank these)

~Calvin & Hobbes

Calvin & Hobbes is one of the few things that can actually make me laugh out loud. I’m…amused by a lot of things, but if I actually, literally laugh out loud over something, you know it’s pretty funny. (the only five things that can consistently make me laugh out loud are C&H, Despicable Me, Hogan’s Heroes, The Lego Movie, and my brother, Noah…though he’s not a ‘thing’) Basically, it’s a comic strip about a bratty boy and his stuffed tiger, only in Calvin’s world, Hobbes is real. The jokes are hilarious (no, really, they are…not like most comic strips), the artwork is quirky and actually kind of beautiful at times, and Hobbes is pure gold.

~The Great Mouse Detective

By atarial. Maan, Disney should jump on this! Can you imagine if BBC and them teamed up and made an animated show? Ha haaa... This would be all kinds of awesomeness.

Ah, I love this movie. Many of my favorite movies are animated, but TGMD is one of my favorite animated movies out of the many I like, if not my top favorite. Basil is arrogant, more than a little self-serving, as well as being an egomaniac, and yet I still like him. Really like him. Ratigan is a fantastic villain, one of the best Disney villains in my opinion. Actually, when I take a look at this movie as a whole – great story, dialogue, characters, animation, humour, songs, etc. (believe me, the list could go on) – I can’t believe that TGMD isn’t more popular. But, from what I’ve seen, there are only a few fans. For someone who doesn’t particularly like Disney princess movies and loves classic books, TGMD is a perfect watch.

~Hogan’s Heroes

hogan heroes | Hogan's heroes - Hogan's heroes Photo (31293044) - Fanpop fanclubs

This was a recent addition to my list of private fandoms. As in ‘four or five days ago’ recent. I watched the whole series (which is about Allied POWs in a German prison camp, in case you didn’t know) when I was a lot younger, then decided I didn’t like the show, and it was only a few days ago, when I watched a few episodes on a whim that I fell in like with the whole thing again. It’s amazing and funny and sometimes deep and funny and exciting and funny…and did I mention funny? When my siblings and I watch episodes in the evening, sometimes we’re laughing so hard that we get all teary-eyed. There are six seasons, and I don’t remember most of the episodes, so I suspect we’ll be enjoying this show for quite awhile.

~Jack Cavanaugh’s books

See. I couldn’t even get a good picture to represent this fandom, because pretty much no one knows about Jack Cavanaugh’s books. And I know, I know, I probably sound like a broken record since I talk about these books (‘these books’ as in the ones in the picture above and every other one he’s written) whenever I can. I can’t promise that I won’t discuss Jack Cavanaugh’s amazing writing, and how his characters are all unique (he’s written tens of books, and each character is unique – do you know how hard that is to maintain?), and how each of his books always makes me cry at least a little. But I figure that if I talk about it a little right now, that should tide me over for some time. *looks back through the paragraph* Well, it seems like I’ve touched on a few of the major points, so I guess I’ll be moving on. I want to get this post done before I have to go to bed. But I will be reviewing more of his books.

~Rat Patrol

This…this show. Currently my main fandom, and I suspect it’ll stay that way for a loooong time. Basically, The Rat Patrol is a TV show about four guys in North Africa during WWII who go around blowing German stuff up. Like convoys and ammo dumps, things like that. I’ll admit that it doesn’t sound all that interesting, not something that would have a lot of material to fangirl over, but, believe me, it does. The characters, for one thing, are awesome and well-rounded even if no one gets very much personal screen time between blowing stuff up. The action sequences are pretty neat, I must say, and the episode plots are interesting enough. Still doesn’t sound all that great? Then you’ve got to watch it for yourself. Each episode is less than half an hour, and well worth your time. If you want more information about RP, EMAIL ME. I could go on for hours… (and I would write a review of this show, only I don’t think anyone would understand what I was talking about because there are so few fans)

~Seussical

Seussical the Musical - saw in Columbus & saw Seussical Jr. by a local high school this year. They did a wonderful job!

Yes, I know. I’m weird. I would never have dreamed of listening to this musical – I didn’t even really know it existed – if I hadn’t watched an interview of Andrew Keenan-Bolger, and he mentioned that he’d been in Seussical, really loved the show, and he even sang a little of it. So I found the Original Broadway Cast Recording on Youtube (gotta love the OBCs!) and tentatively played it. And, BAM, new favorite musical. Sure, it’s pretty wacky and crazy, had an abysmal Broadway run, and some of the songs are just plain weird, but there’s enough good in it to counteract all of that. Now, unlike most little-known musicals I love, I can see why this one did so terribly on Broadway. The songs are terrific, but when you watch clips of the show, it just doesn’t seem as good, and I think it’s because when you’re listening to the songs without visuals, you can imagine that it really is an elephant, and monkeys, and birds singing…but then when you actually SEE it… Still, I highly recommend the OBC.

~Underland Chronicles

Gregor the Overlander (Underland Chronicles 1) | Vivienne To

Did you know that Suzanne Collins (yes, she of Hunger Games fame) wrote another series? This one is targeted to tweens, instead of young adults, but it’s still one of my favorite serieses ever. The basic premise is that a boy named Gregor falls through a hole and comes out in the Underland, a place where people ride bats, converse with rats, and associate with several different insects. Sounds kind of creepy, right? Well, it’s not. I mean, by the end of the series, I’d cried over a cockroach, a rat, and a bat. So you really do get used to it. There are five books in all, and I really can’t pick a favorite. They’re all amazing. I’d go as far as to say that I love the Underland Chronicles just as much as The Hunger Games. If you’re looking for a good magicless fantasy series, these are definitely the books for you.

Eva

Leave a Reply

