the books of 2014

According to my ‘2014 Books’ Goodreads list, I’ve read 269 books this year.

WUUUUUUUUUUT.

Of course, the number is actually higher because I tend to re-read the books I love quite obsessively.  I read The Book Thief six times this year and Unbroken about three times.  And you don’t even want to know about all the numerous re-reads I give Jack Cavanaugh’s books.  The number is actually quite embarrassing.  

Anyway, I started said list to keep a record of how many books, on average, I read in one year.  Ever since January I’d planned to write a blog post about it once the challenge was over, but as the time drew nearer, I wondered how to go about it.  At first, I was going to list every single book I’d read, but that idea quickly changed when I saw how many titles I was amassing – it simply take too long.  And then I thought that perhaps I could just say what the best/worst books of 2014 were (in my humble opinion) and leave it at that.  But I really wanted to give you an idea of the many different books I’d read this year (and there were some doozies), so I decided to adapt a 2015 reading challenge I saw on Pinterest for this post.  I had to skip a couple of the entries because I didn’t have a book that fit, but overall, it worked out really well.

Scrolling through my Goodreads list in search of possible titles for each entry was an amazing feeling.  I’ve read so many different books this year, in dozens of different genres, and it’s been amazing.  I’m leaving 2014 much richer than I entered it (in more ways than books read, naturally, but the books have played a big part in my life…and always will) and I couldn’t be happier about that if I tried.

So, without any more gushing or philosophizing, here are a few of the books I’ve read this year. (I’ve also include best/worst books at the end – I couldn’t resist)

~A book with more than 500 pagesWar & Peace by Leo Tolstoy
~A classic romancePride & Prejudice by Jane Austen
~A book that became a movieThe Book Thief by Markus Zusak
~A book published this yearFour by Veronica Roth
~A book with a number in the titleA Tale Of Two Cities by Charles Dickens
~A book written by someone under 30 – Divergent by Veronica Roth
~A book with nonhuman charactersMartin The Warrior by Brain Jacques
~A funny bookZany Afternoons by Bruce McCall
~A book by a female authorI Am Malala by Malala Yousafzai
~A mystery or thrillerThe Westing Game by Ellen Raskin
~A book with a one word titleSon by Lois Lowry
~A book of short storiesJane Austen Made Me Do It edited by Laurel Ann Nattress
~A book set in a different countryThe Guernsey Literary And Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer
~A nonfiction bookUnbroken by Laura Hillenbrand
~A popular author’s first bookGregor The Overlander by Suzanne Collins
~A book from an author you love that you hadn’t read yetThe Arm Of God by Jack Cavanaugh
~A book a friend recommendedThe Penderwicks by Jeanne Birdsall
~A Pulitzer Prize-winning bookAn Army At Dawn by Rick Atkinson
~A book based on a true storyI Claudia by Charity Bishop
~A book that was at the bottom of your to-read listAllegiant by Veronica Roth
~A book your mom lovesTrim Healthy Mama by Pearl Barrett & Serene Allison
~A book that scares you – Lord Of The Flies by William Golding
~A book more than a hundred years oldEmma by Jane Austen
~A book you read based entirely on its cover – Wonderland Creek by Lynn Austin
~A memoirDevil At My Heels by Louie Zamperini
~A book you can finish in a dayThe Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry
~A book set somewhere you’ve always wanted to visitHeart Of The City by Ariel Sabar
~A book with bad reviewsThe Selection by Kiera Cass
~A trilogySongs In The Night by Jack Cavanaugh
~A book from your childhoodThe Velveteen Rabbit by Margery Williams
~A book with a love triangleFifteen Minutes by Karen Kingsbury
~A book set in the futureEmbassy by S. Alex Martin
~A book with a colour in the titleFirefly Blue by Jake Theone
~A book that made you cryWhile We’re Far Apart by Lynn Austin
~A book by an author you’d never read beforeUglies by Scott Westerfield
~A book you own but had never readMacbeth by William Shakespeare
~A book that was originally written in a different languageLes Miserables by Victor Hugo
~A playRomeo & Juliet by William Shakespeare
~A banned bookTo Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee
~A book based on or turned into a TV showCombat! The Counterattack by Franklin M. David

Best Book Of 2014

Unbroken

(runners-up: The Book Thief, The Longest Day, The Hunger Games [trilogy])

Worst Book Of 2014

Allegiant

(runners-up: Frankenstein, Left Behind, Matched [trilogy])

What books did you read this year?

Eva

One thought on “the books of 2014

Leave a Reply

