my daily schedule

Randomly nice picture because I can’t seem to start off a blog post without one.

  • 7:30ish – Wake up, get dressed, start schoolwork. (Note: Mom has the four oldest kids on a rotation chart, which means that once every four days I have to make breakfast [which is always oatmeal].  If it’s my day to do breakfast, I’ll juggle boiling grain and schoolwork with relative ease, but I’d rather not.)
  • 8:00 or 8:45 (it all depends) – Eat breakfast.
  • 8:45 to 9:30 – If it’s my day to wash dishes, that’s what I’ll be doing.  If not, I usually read or finish up leftover schoolwork.
  • 9:30 to 10:00 – Family devotions, Bible memorization, and copywork.
  • 10:00 to 11:00 – Write.
  • 11:00 to 11:30 – Read. (Usually recreational reading, although I do still have several books to read for school.)
  • 11:30 to 12:00 – Practice on the piano. (Sigh.)
  • 12:00 to 12:30 – Prepare/eat lunch.
  • 12:30 to 2:00 – Computer.  Write blog posts, answer emails, catch up on all the Youtube channels I follow.
  • 2:00 to 3:00 – Wash dishes if I’m on duty for the day.  Read. (I should be reading Books For School, but right now I’m in the middle of a SUPER book series…)
  • 3:00 to 6:00 – What I do in these three hours is highly varied from day to day.  If I’m prepared, I’ll write a book report or short biography for my WWII history course.  Several times a week I’ll go to the mall and/or library with Elisabeth, and when I get back, I either read until it’s supper (or until I have to help prepare supper) or watch a movie with everyone.
  • 6:00 to 6:30 – Eat supper.
  • 6:30 to 7:30 or 8:00 – Wash dishes if applicable.  Read.  Play games with siblings.  Colour with Younger Siblings.
  • 8:00 to 9:00 – Computer.  This is the best time for me to chat with friends, unless I have a blog post from the afternoon that I’m putting the finishing touches on (and that certainly wouldn’t take the full hour).  I’m generally free for this hour.
  • 9:00 to 10:00 or 10:30 – Watch a varied amount of TV shows with siblings.  We have it all divided up neatly: Saturday to Monday are the boys’ nights for picking what to watch, Tuesday to Thursday is for me and Elisabeth to decide, and we alternate on Friday which is Movie Night (actually, it’s gotten a bit more complicated, but that’s the basic premise).  Elisabeth and I always decide on Combat! and Wanted: Dead Or Alive, by the way.
  • 10:30 to Whatever Hour I Go To Sleep – Personal devotions, shower (every other night), study for my upcoming Spanish exam, and play Uno with Elisabeth.  Lights out.  Talk in the dark for another ten minutes.  Sleep.

Of course, there are plenty of variations to this schedule, and a few of those variations would include…

  • The entire family goes to the mall after supper.
  • A visitor comes over unexpectedly. (Usually my grandparents.)
  • Prayer meeting on Tuesday.
  • An impromptu road trip on the weekend.
  • And Sunday is a whole new schedule in and of itself.

But, overall, the schedule above is how most of my days go, and it feels good to get it all down on paper (virtual paper?).  Lists really are wonderful for keeping things organized and accessible; I don’t know what I’d do without them.

Eva

3 thoughts on “my daily schedule

  1. Just so you know, I’m now singing a song from Tangled in my head. “Seven AM. The usual morning lineup: start on the chores and sweep ’til the floor’s all clean! Polish and wax, do laundry and mop and shine up. Sweep again and by then it’s like… seven fifteen. And so I’ll read a book, or maybe two or three. I’ll add a few new paintings to my gallery. I’ll play guitar and knit and cook…” Um, yeah, I may be a bit too fond of that song. Anyway, it was fun seeing what your days and weeks are like! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

