my vacation

Pretty much how I feel right now – glad to be home.

Well, I’m back!

Vacation time didn’t go exactly as planned, mainly since Jonah (the baby of the family) came down with a cold/cough – it wasn’t too serious, but we couldn’t visit all the friends and museums we’d planned on, because if we did a lot of activities, he’d probably have gotten a lot sicker.  But the whole thing was still quite fun, full of junk food and wayyyy too much TV, and there were a few surprises throughout the three or so days we were Away From Home.  I’m not going to bore you with a blow-by-blow account, but I do want to mention a few note-worthy things that I did, that I discovered, and that I experienced during the past few days.  It definitely wasn’t boring.

{There will be random, unrelated photos sprinkled throughout this post; sort of a ‘Saturday File’ thing.  I do love those posts.}

Ohhhhhhh, yes.

~Writing fan-fiction is very therapeutic.  I finished up The Last Battle by Cornelius Ryan on the way to the hotel (it’s a four hour drive), solved a few word search puzzles, and then fell into the rut of Being Bored even though I had several other books with me.  I watched the scenery for a while, but about two hours into the trip, I was bored and my back was aching because I’d been sitting for so long.  Through a series of thought processes, my mind fell to thinking about Combat! and in a moment of inspiration, I pulled out the lovely notebook Elisabeth gave me at our family’s New Year celebration and started a fan-fiction that was basically just Kirby complaining about being stuck in a troop truck for hours while the convoy rattled toward Paris.  Kirby’s a great complainer, so that helped me vent a little.  And then a little later on when I couldn’t find a comfortable position to sleep in, no matter how hard I tried, I added another section where Doc couldn’t fall asleep either.  Now it’s morphed into a whole story, and I’m quite happy with how it’s turning out.  Fan-fiction is the best.

I can’t WAIT to see this movie.

~As I found out during breakfast before we got on the road to the hotel, Elisabeth can do a killer (and I mean killer) imitation of Roddy McDowall.  Makes me giggle every time.

Vintage ads…LOVE.

~Speaking of Elisabeth, it’s great fun to recommend a book to her, have her read it, and love it.  She started reading Violins of Autumn (review hopefully coming soon, but, suffice to say, I adored it) over our stay, and she loves Robbie just as much as I do (well, almost).  It’s great to be in the same room with her as she reads it (or any other good book), because she’ll read out bits that strike her as interesting or lines of dialogue that make her laugh.  Along with added benefit of being able to intelligently discuss my favorite, little-known books with someone who actually cares.  She wasn’t able to read too much of it though, since the TV was on most of the time we were in our hotel room, and it’s nearly impossible to concentrate when that’s the case.  Which brings me to my next point…

Well, this isn’t my next point, but I heartily agree all the same.

~I hate television.  I know that now.  I’m so glad we don’t own one, because just having it for three days was obnoxious enough.  There’s very little on these days that’s good (unfortunately, the TV in our room didn’t have the MeTV channel – that’s the one that plays all the old shows from the 50’s and 60’s), and it sucks your brain cells.  I’m convinced of that.  You wouldn’t believe how much I missed Combat! and Wanted: Dead Or Alive (even after the total emotional roller-coaster that is “Secret Ballot”) and all the other old TV shows and movies and actors and actresses and…it was bad. *sigh*

One of my favorite behind-the-scenes photos ever.

~At the risk of sounding ridiculously prideful, I’m super happy with how I behaved, food-wise, on this vacation.  I’ve been following the THM plan (it’s not really a diet) for probably over a year now, but it’s been more of an off and on thing until a month or so ago.  And then I got super serious about the whole thing, and I haven’t eaten off-plan for about that length of time.  But.  I wasn’t sure how I’d do this past week, since there was bound to be a ton of tempting foods, so I was pleasantly surprised when nothing really tempted me at all.  Not the Dorito chips or apple turnovers or pizza – none of it.  It was great.

It really is.

~Saving the best for last: The Thrift Store Visit.  Before having dinner at East Side Mario’s (note: their Caesar salads are one of the best things EVER), all of us kids/teens and Dad stopped at a thrift store to check out their selection of books (we’re big on books, in case you haven’t noticed), and I’m so glad that we did.  I hadn’t actually planned on going with them because I had a headache and basically the only thing I wanted to do was take a nap on one of those delicious hotel beds, but Elisabeth cajoled me into coming (she can make me do almost anything – in that regard, we’re more like Wallace and Davis than Betty and Judy).  So, I went.  The selection of books was wayyyy better than the thrift store back here at home (shelves and shelves of great books), and I found a like-new copy of The Guernsey Literary & Potato Peel Pie Society, ditto for I Am The Messenger (which I picked up solely because, HELLO, it’s written by Markus Zusak).  And then.  I saw it.  And I couldn’t believe my eyes.  The Puritans by JACK. CAVANAUGH.  How on earth???  Do you have any idea how many used (and new) bookstores I’ve combed (hehe…I automatically typed ‘combat’ instead of ‘combed’), trying to find a Jack Cavanaugh book? (In case you’re new to this blog, Jack Cavanaugh is my favorite author in the history of ever.)  There it was, just sitting on the shelf, waiting for me to come and buy it.  Wow.  I still can’t believe it was there. (Cool thing: Noah, my teenage brother, read it and now he likes JC’s books too.)

Overall, it was a great vacation.  I wouldn’t even mind a repeat performance sometime soonish.

And now to go catch up on all the pins I’ve missed seeing for the past three days…

Eva

2 thoughts on “my vacation

Leave a Reply

