what I’m doing {#4}

{reading}

Gregor and the Code of Claw (Underland Chronicles, Book 5)

I haven’t been reading much lately since I’ve been sick – illness always saps my ability to concentrate, and it’s next to impossible to find a book that’ll hold my interest long enough.  But I have read a few things; I can’t do away with books altogether, no matter how sick I am, right?  I finished up Code Of Claw yesterday, one of many re-reads, and my only thought was “Why does Suzanne Collins have to make everything so heartbreaking?”.  I can take sad and depressing and all that, but it’s just as bad as Mockingjay, so that tells you something.  I had no problem with how the book/series wrapped up, though, unlike many fans.  Sure, Gregor has PTSD and he’ll probably never see the Underland again and his family still has problems…but there’s still some hope.  And I think that’s realistic.

Four by Veronica Roth is another book I read over the last few days.  That and Divergent are her two best books.  I never want to read Insurgent and Allegient again.  Four/Tobias is my favorite character in the trilogy, and reading an entire book written from his viewpoint (by the way, Roth did a much better job capturing his voice in Four than she did in Allegiant) was a great experience.  I also read an Al Lacy book – Whither Thou Goest – which I read a lot when I was younger (thirteen, or so) because I thought modern Christian fiction was the coolest thing ever.  Revisiting it after all these years was something of a rude awakening, as I didn’t like any of the characters (except the villain, maybe), the dialogue was too modern for a Western, etc., etc.  There were certain parts I enjoyed, but overall it didn’t impress me.  Now I’m reading a much better book, non-fiction, entitled The Greatest Generation Speaks, which is a collection of interesting letters and personal reflections from men and women who served during WWII.

{watching}

Humphrey Bogart, Casablanca

I watched Casablanca last night.  Partly because I wanted to, and partly because I wanted to refresh my memory concerning the film and see how it weighed, in my mind, against The Ox-Bow Incident, because Casablanca beat out TO-BI for best movie at the 1943 Academy Awards.  Oh, it was just as brilliant as I remembered, and I’m not going to even try to compare the two films…all I’ll say is that the decision must’ve been very tough.  So much of the dialogue was witty and clever and (duh) iconic.  And I know there are inaccuracies and plot holes and all that, but it’s still a fantastic film – there were some plot twists that I’d forgotten about, so it was nice to experience them all over again.

Yesterday I sat down and finished Daisy Kenyon.  I must say that the last half hour or so was vastly better than the first hour, although the whole thing was still messy and angsty and rather unenjoyable.  And kind of weird, too.  I really don’t like stories that center around adultery (so then why do I like the Combat! episode, “Off Limits”, so much?), which is probably a good thing.  Overall, it’s a one-time watch for me (at least that’s my view right now), but I don’t really regret watching it either – very different from The Maze Runner, where every time I watch it, I feel like I just wasted two hours of my life.

And I’ve been watching a lot of Wanted: Dead Or Alive too, because the episodes are addictive and short, which means that it’s easy to fit four or five in at one sitting.  The great thing is that my brothers enjoy it almost as much as Elisabeth and I do, so it’s fun to watch it with them as well.  We’re now up to The Jason Episodes and Millie wasn’t exaggerating when she said he was scarily annnoying.  He’s awful.  For starters, Josh doesn’t need a sidekick – he’s awesome enough on his own – and for another thing, he doesn’t need a sidekick who’s so lame and boring and such a wet blanket.  Ugh.  And the actor who portrays him imitates Steve McQueen all the time, which gets old very quickly.  But enough about Jason.  Josh is still Josh, with or without Jason.  Amazing and cool and just… *siiiiigh* (I wrote a spot of fanfiction about him.  Kind of.)

{listening to}

‘Lili Marlene’ is one of the most gorgeous songs I’ve ever heard, especially when Vera Lynn sings it.  Dietrich (from Rat Patrol) has great taste in music.  I’d heard of the song for the longest time, but it was only a couple days ago that I sat down and actually listened to it…and I was completely blown away.  It’s breathtaking.

And then I looked up ‘You Are My Sunshine’, because that song’s very special to a couple of characters in one of my new favorite books – Violins of Autumn – and it was incredibly sweet, and a little sad too.  Jimmie Davis’ version is the best, in my opinion, but I enjoyed Gene Autry’s too.  I also recently ‘discovered’ the Sons of the Pioneers, when I was looking up different covers of ‘Red River Valley’ (their’s is my favorite), and ended up listening to their version of ‘Dixie’.  Which is pretty much my new favorite song (at least for the moment).

What’ve you been reading or watching or listening to lately?

Eva

13 thoughts on “what I’m doing {#4}

  1. I left a comment yesterday, but I don’t think it went through… I basically just screamed with joy about finding another person who loves Vera Lynn as much as I do. She’s GORGEOUSNESS ALORE. 🙂

    Like

      • Oh, thank you for asking me! Well, ‘We’ll Meet Again’ is BEAUTIFUL. I think that’s her most famous number, together with ‘There’ll be blue-birds over the white cliffs of Dover,’ which is also charming.
        I also love her slightly more swing-y number (she doesn’t have too many of those – most of her songs are emotional and soulful) – called ‘But you can’t do without Love.’ Man, the amount of times I’ve listened to that song. 😀
        Here’s the clip (it seems to be a clip of a movie – but that’s the only place I can find the song.), just in case you can’t find it:

        Yeah, she’s a GREAT singer. Definitely one of my favourite Vintage singers! Do you have any other favourite Vintage songs? I’m always looking for more. (I am, like you, a big Glenn Miller fan, by the way. :-))

        ~ Naomi

        Like

      • Thanks for the recommendations! I listened to ‘We’ll Meet Again’ and ‘White Cliffs Of Dover’ (I believe Glenn Miller has done an arrangement of that, by the way), and as I adore most swing music/songs, I’ll be listening to ‘But You Can’t Do Without Love’ as soon as possible. 🙂 I haven’t listened to toooo many vintage songs…I like ‘Red River Valley’, although I’m not sure that would qualify, pretty much any Glenn Miller arrangement, recently discovered a great liking for Frank Sinatra songs (particularly ‘I’ve Got You Under My Skin’ because it features heavily in one of my favorite books), and I’ve also enjoyed Bobby Darin’s ‘Beyond The Sea’. Though I’m not sure that would count as vintage – I believe he recorded it in the late fifties or early sixties. Oh, and like I mentioned, ‘You Are My Sunshine’ is lovely. So is ‘High Noon’, sung by Tex Ritter, for that matter.

        Like

      • Depends on how you define “vintage,” huh? Bobby Darin’s recording of “Beyond the Sea” is from 1959 (same record as his “Mack the Knife”). But the song itself was written in the ’40s.

        “Red River Valley” is a folk song that dates back to the late 1800s. I’d call that vintage. Obviously it’s been recorded much more recently than that 😉

        Like

      • Yep, everyone has a different idea of vintage. I tend to lump everything done before the seventies onto my old Hollywood Pinterest board, so I’d definitely call “Beyond The Sea” vintage.

        Like

    • Well, I hope you enjoy it. *crosses fingers* I’m a tad apprehensive about having anyone I actually know read the story and give feedback, as it’s somewhat different from my usual writing style, and I wrote/edited it in a three day frenzy of inspiration. And it’s a bit personal, to me, for various reasons. Overall, I think it’s still pretty good, as fanfiction goes, but I’m still nervous (interested, too), in hearing other people’s thoughts.

      Like

Leave a Reply

