“It’s a grand night for singing…”

I just watched State Fair (1945) last night, third re-watch, and I’m more in love with it than ever.  Such a light, lovely, squeeful film – like a fluffy, delicious piece of lemon meringue pie.  So many of the movies I watch these days couldn’t exactly be called any of those things, so State Fair always provides a wonderful change of pace.  Anyway, the point of this post is not to review the whole movie (although I definitely want to do that one of these days), but to ask all of my followers a question.

What are your thoughts on a State Fair blog week/party?  I’ve been wanting to do another blog week for some time now, and I’d love to do one for SF, but as I know it’s a very well-known musical, I thought I’d ask before jumping into things.  The whole thing wouldn’t come about for months and months, but I thought I might as well start the ball rolling right now and see if it comes up against any obstacles.  So, you have time to watch the film (if you haven’t already) and get enthusiastic about it, especially since it’s on Youtube.  And for those who have seen it…let me know your thoughts on this idea!

Eva

9 thoughts on ““It’s a grand night for singing…”

    • Well, actually, the kind of blog parties I throw are where I write most of the posts (I might have a guest post or two throughout the week, though), along with maybe a game or a poll and definitely a giveaway. 🙂 But thanks for offering, and I hope you enjoy State Fair just as much as I do!

      Like

  1. Yes! Thanks for providing the YouTube link! I watched it again the other night! The 1945 version is waaay better than the 60’s one. (Mostly because we have to skip a lot of parts in the newer one 😦 ) I can’t wait!

    Like

Leave a Reply

