more favorite screen characters

I had so much fun with the Ten Favorite Screen Characters Tag that I decided to write a follow-up post with a few more of my favorite screen characters (I was trying to be quite exclusive with who I chose,  so I didn’t end up with quite ten).  As before, I’ve stayed away from real life people portrayed on-screen (with one exception that I couldn’t leave out) and characters in film adaptions of books I’ve read.  After all, I have to have a few boundaries, or I’d be here all night!

~Kirby (Jack Hogan) from Combat!

The first episode of C! that I watched was “Forgotten Front”, in which Kirby was a Grade-A jerk.  I remember glowering at him (if looks could kill…) and thinking that I liked Caje and Saunders MUCH better.  The next few episodes did little to change my opinion (particularly “Far From The Brave”), but when I got out of Season 1 episodes and started to skip around, Kirby steadily rose in my estimation until he became my second favorite C! character.  Sure, he’s annoying at times, but he has his good qualities too (so many, actually).  I’ve got pages of stuff written up about him in my C! notebook, theorizing about his background and the way he looks out for Tate (one of the kids in “The First Day”) in a grudging sort of way, and what he’d do after the war (ASK ME ABOUT.  I’ve got two headcanons and they’re both awesome.).

~Tully (Justin Tarr) from Rat Patrol

this is Tully's

Tully’s the best.  He’s got a great Southern accent (not a drawl…it’s clearer, but still lovely), a smile that lights up the desert, fabulous hair, and shooting abilities that would put Sergeant York to shame.  He loves The Jeeps, can drive like nobody’s business (picked it up running moonshine in Kentucky as a kid), and is bffs with Moffitt.  *siiiiiiigh*

~Britt (James Coburn) from The Magnificent Seven

According to various sources, Britt is the character most like his Japanese counterpart in Seven Samurai than any other of the remake’s characters, which makes sense because James Coburn was a huge fan of the original film. (He went to see it FIFTEEN TIMES when it first came out.)  He obviously put a lot of work into making Britt such a great character and had a lot of fun with the role, and every time I see Britt napping, leaning against the back of the fence, I always get a grin on my face. (He does the same thing during the festival, only it’s a tree, not a fence.  Everyone’s partying, and he’s napping.  Introverts FTW!)  Aside from the fact that he died, I wouldn’t change a thing about Britt or Coburn’s performance.

~Henry Jones (Sean Connery) from Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade

Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade

My brothers introduced me to the Indiana Jones films a few weeks ago, first with The Last Crusade (which I loved) and then Raiders (which was okay), and I’ve been a fan ever since, though I wouldn’t say it’s one of my top fandoms.  I haven’t seen Temple of Doom or Crystal Skull yet, and I really don’t have any wish to because 1) I’ve heard they’re not all that good and 2) neither of them include Henry Jones in the cast of characters.  Now, Indi is all well and good and I do like him, but I like his dad more.  Last Crusade is the only film I’ve seen Sean Connery in (besides The Longest Day), and I loved his performance.  So much fun.  He gets a ton of good lines (“We named the dog Indiana!”) and his relationship with Indi…ah, it’s great.

~Lovat (Peter Lawford) from The Longest Day

Favorite Peter Lawford role.  Hands down. (Admittedly, I’ve seen him in a handful of films, but STILL.)  The real Lord Lovat was an epic guy, and I think Lawford did an excellent job bringing that across in his (very) few scenes.  As far as I can tell, his portrayal was remarkably accurate (thanks in no small part, of course, to the script): from his white sweater (Elisabeth and I love that sweater) to that crazy Frenchman with the champagne to Lovat’s apology for being late, it’s all straight from Real Life.  Very cool.

~Bucky Barnes (Sebastian Stan) from Marvel

Bucky Barnes reporting for duty.

Poor Bucky. *sniffffff*  I still haven’t gotten over The Winter Soldier.  I know there aren’t too many fans who liked The First Avenger, but I love it, and the first time I watched it, I was heartbroken over Bucky’s ‘death’. (He’s really such a sweet guy.  And then HYDRA had to turn him into some kind of MONSTER.  UGGGGGH.)  At the time, I know nothing about the MCU, so when I watched the trailer for TWS (which came out just a couple of days after I watched TFA for the first time), I didn’t know that Bucky had actually survived.  So I was quite downcast about his apparent demise for some time, and then I found out about him being the Winter Soldier, and I got feels-attacked.  Again.  Anyway, I wish more people would talk about pre-serum, pre-metal arm Bucky, because he’s wonderful with his protectiveness toward Steve (even when Steve doesn’t need protection anymore), and his loyalty and…yeah.  I loved him back then, too.

~Ari Ben Canaan (Paul Newman) from Exodus

How do I explain Ari?  Well, for starters, he’s an amazing hero.  One of my new favorite fictional heroes.  He’s courageous – he’s not afraid to stand up and fight for what he believes in, even if everyone else is against him (or, in this case, the whole British empire).  He has a wonderful relationship with his parents and his sister.  He’s a gentleman.  He cares about people (but he doesn’t let that impede his judgement).  In short, he embodies most of the qualities that I’d love to see in the guy I marry, and I think that’s pretty awesome.

~Damian (Farley Granger) from The North Star

Damian is young, but he’s brave, too.  He has a beautiful relationship with Marina (when he danced with her AND when he asked her for a kiss? *heart melts*) and the rapport between him and his brother, Kolya, is PRICELESS.  I love The North Star and all the characters, but especially Damian, so I was greatly relieved when my dire predictions about certain characters’ fates didn’t come completely true (me to Elisabeth: “They hugged [Damian and Kolya].  At least one of them’s going to die.  Probably both, though.  But at least one is going to die.”).  I was worried for a bit, but it did all work out in the end. (Besides the fact that he DOESN’T HAVE A BROTHER ANYMORE.)

~Hymie (Dick Gautier) from Get Smart

I wasn’t one hundred percent sure about including Hymie on this list until a couple nights ago when my siblings and I were watching Get Smart and he showed up in an episode and I freaked out, in a fangirl way (I really did – just ask Elisabeth).  ‘Cause that showed me that I did indeed like Hymie enough to feature him amongst all the other great characters I love.  I know it’s kind of weird to like a robot so much, but I guess it’s the same as liking R2-D2 or C-3PO, right?  Hymie’s a lot of fun, with his rather unique outlook on everything, so it’s always super when he’s in an episode. (I almost included Parker on this list as well, since I adore his enthusiasm for all the weird stuff he invents, but I thought two Get Smart characters might be pushing it.)

Honourable mentions include Tom Joad (Henry Fonda) from Grapes of Wrath, Pat Gilbert (Dana Andrews) from State Fair, Peggy Carter (Hayley Atwell) from Marvel, Shifu (voiced by Dustin Hoffman) from the Kung Fu Panda movies, Hobart Kemp (Josh Duhamel) from Ramona and Beezus, and Demitrius Gans (Marc Gomes) from Sue Thomas: F. B. Eye.  (And a bunch of other characters, but that’s just a given.)

Did you see any favorites on this list?

Eva

4 thoughts on “more favorite screen characters

  1. What is Kirby going to do after the war? 🙂

    Yeah, Bucky’s awesome. I loved watching his relationship with Steve: “Don’t do anything stupid until I get back, okay?” “I thought you were dead.” “I thought YOU were smaller.” Yep.

    Of course you can have a robot on a favorite-characters list. Back when I watched Star Wars as a little kid, my favorite character was R2-D2. Seriously. I loved him. I still love him. He’s my baby. 🙂

    Like

    • Okay, SO: #1 – He falls in love with an awesome French girl and stays in France after the war. I want to see Kirby REALLY fall for someone and know what it feels like, especially since he runs after every girl he sees, and if that happened, I can totally see him settling down in France. For some reason, I never really see Caje staying on there after the war, but Kirby definitely. #2 – He goes back to the States and goes into business with his uncle who runs a bowling alley (based off of information taken from “The Bankroll”). I imagine his uncle being rather old, maybe getting up in years, so Kirby eventually takes over the whole place and runs it single-handedly. I think he’d be a fun fit for the position! 🙂

      Oh, I love all their back-and-forth dialogue. They really are closer than brothers.

      R2-D2 is awesome (but C-3PO annoys me most of the time). I’ve only seen A New Hope, so I don’t know as much about all the characters as I’d like to, but Obi Wan, Han Solo, and R2-D2 are my top three favorite characters. 🙂

      Like

      • Either one of those options sounds great! Running a bowling alley, especially, is an awesome idea because bowling is such a COOL sport. (I’m terrible at it–but it’s still really cool.)
        I think I saw all three (original) Star Wars movies as a small child, but my memory’s kind of hazy. I do remember watching all of “A New Hope” and really loving it. I’m SOOOO excited about the new movie coming out in December. I can’t wait to see where they go with the story. And the trailers they’ve released so far look fabulous.

        Like

Leave a Reply

