moods

ARGH.  My writing SUCKS.  IT’S AWFUL.

~

I just want to sit in bed and eat chocolate ice cream and have a Combat! marathon.

~

Actual thought: maybe The Ox-Bow Incident will cheer me up.

~

NOPE.

~

Aw, the horses next door are soooooo cute!

~

THE WHOLE WORLD IS HORRIBLE AND I JUST NEED A NAP.

~

I wonder how many times I can scroll up and down through my document folder before I start annoying myself?

~

*cries*

~

*laughs*

~

Oh, I know!  Music!  That always cheers me up! *spends three unsuccessful hours looking for something I feel in the mood for*

~

Meh.

~

IF ETHAN STARTS CRYING ONE MORE TIME-

~

*eats coffeecake and drinks coffee until sick*

~

My to-read list is huge.  I should probably start working on it, since My Novel isn’t working with me.

~

Nah.

~

*laughs hysterically over something completely un-funny*

~

Well.  There’s got to be SOMETHING I can do to bring me out of this HORRIBLE STATE BROUGHT ON BY WHO-KNOWS-WHAT.

~

*goes and writes a blog post about it*

Eva

P.S. It worked.

27 thoughts on “moods

  1. I KNOW. It’s reeeeeally tough. I never knew how hard writing could be until I tried it for myself 🙂

    P.S. Celtic Thunder is really useful when I need some music to get my brain going. If you knew how many times I listened to the same playlist, over and over, when writing Political Science papers last term I reckon you’d be shocked 🙂

    Like

      • Do, do! They are pure awesomeness. Particularly their song “Always There.” And my personal favorite singer in that band is Colm Keegan ’cause he’s awfully cute and he actually does one song with MY NAME in it. Can life get any better than that?

        (I should explain that my name isn’t really Jessica Prescott–that’s the name of one of my favorite fictional characters so I just stole it for an online pseudonym 🙂 )

        Like

  2. YES. Why is this so accurate?

    During the school year, when I don’t have much time to write, there’s ideas and motivation galore. But as soon as summer begins? Nothing. Zilch. Nada. Currently I’m doing well just to make progress on a fanfic or two. *sighs in mild exasperation* Writerly struggles. Ah well, it’s all worth it! 🙂

    Best of luck in working on Your Novel!

    Like

    • Thanks! Fanfiction usually works out well for me, but since I’ve been indulging in it for so long and not working on any original stories, I didn’t want to get back into that rut. Thankfully, everything went much better this morning when I sat down to write, which made me happy. 🙂 And you’re right – it’s DEFINITELY all worth it. Writing is my happy place. (Most of the time, at least.)

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Glad it worked!

    I’ve noticed that on particularly hormonal days, I cannot write. Everything is annoying, even fictional characters of my own creation. If I even start to think about stories, I get so mad at how sucky they are. I have learned to simply stop myself from thinking about them when I get that way so that I don’t get any aftereffects where, after I feel better, I still think they’re bad.

    So hope your valley of funkitude ends soon 🙂

    Like

  4. Random thing to make you smile: did you know that there’s an actor who has been in both The Avengers and Combat!? No lie! Harry Dean Stanton played Beecham in “A Day in June” (the guy with the headaches) and the security guard who finds Bruce Banner all nekkid after he fell from the helicarrier.

    Like

    • That is actually one of the coolest snippets of trivia I’ve ever heard and you made me smile, so…mission accomplished? 🙂 Now I’ve got to watch “A Day In June” + that scene from The Avengers and compare! (And did you know that I’ve never watched The Avengers? But I have watched a bunch of scenes on Youtube and I’ve been in the fandom long enough that I feel like I know it inside and out. But I’ve never seen the whole thing from start to finish.)

      Like

      • Isn’t it a cool bit of trivia?

        But you must watch The Avengers. MUST!!!! Especially from a writer’s perspective — it is jewel-like in its precision, how it all works together exactly perfectly. I’ve learned a lot from how that movie is put together.

        Like

      • Ah, I’d love to, but my parents are very particular about what modern movies they allow my siblings and I to watch (especially since we don’t have Clearplay), and they weren’t impressed with the first twenty or so minutes, so watching it has been put on hold for right now. 😦 I just watch the Cap movies and see all the other Marvel ones vicariously through friends and Pinterest and Youtube. (Which sounds kinda weird, but it works.)

        Liked by 1 person

      • Aha! Gotcha. Hmm. The movie overall does have a goodly bit of violence, but I don’t think it’s more violent than “Captain America.” It does have some bad language, that’s very true. Not the big, bad F-bomb, but scattered profanity and a couple spots where they do use God’s name carelessly. (But also one where Cap basically sticks a big sign that says “Christian” on his back because he’s amazing like that.) And one British obscenity that’s pretty shocking IF you know what it means. And someone admits he once tried to commit suicide, which makes me cry. Pepper and Tony are obviously an intimate couple, and she whispers something in his ear that makes him turn metaphorically into a drooling puppy, but they barely even actually kiss during the movie. There’s also a little drinking and a reference to pot. So yeeeeah, especially considering you’ve got younger sibs who might be mad if you got to see it and they didn’t, I’m gonna have to side with your parents.

        (But when you’re old enough, and they say it’s okay, YOU MUST SEE IT!!!!)

        Like

      • Yeah, I’ve read PluggedIn’s review. The thing is, by the time I get around to watching it, all the fans will have moved on. 😛 (Not really. But pretty close.) Sigh. Still, whenever I do get to see it, I’ll let you know what I think of it, okay? 🙂

        Like

  5. The struggle is real. Remember, though – your writing is only awful because you stare at it all day and you know its ins and outs better than anyone else. I’ve loved everything you sent me. (Except for that Sass Patrol/HG AU – WHY DID YOU KILL MY FAVORITE MEMBER OF THE SP FIRST?! WHYYYYYY. I will never forgive you for that.)

    If you’re in the mood for some adorbs to lift your spirits, go on Pinterest and look up either “Spieling Peter Pan” or “Andrew Ducote.” You can thank me later. 🙂

    Like

    • “…our writing is only awful because you stare at it all day and you know its ins and outs better than anyone else.”

      True, true. And it all looked much better this morning, so it was probably just a one day thing. (I hope.) And knowing that my friends have enjoyed my writing before gives me a great boost of confidence. 🙂 (BUT THAT FANFIC. It’s still wayyyyyy too feelsy. *sniffle*)

      Okay, even though I don’t have a clue who this guy is, he’s adorable! 🙂 Brightened up my day muchly.

      Like

      • Probably. You’re doing great – stick at it and you’ll do even better. 🙂 Um, DUH, of course I enjoyed it. (Except that part. *sniff*)

        Hahahaha! He’s the Disney face character of Peter Pan at Disney Los Angeles (I think). He ended up marrying the girl who was Wendy and they’re having a baby and they’re Christians and they’re just adorbs. 🙂

        Like

  6. Yes. I’ve been there, and it is Not Fun. When writing is just not clicking and I’m firmly convinced that every word I’ve ever written is rubbish, my preferred remedies are (A) chocolate, (B) going outdoors for a good long walk, and (C) watching something light and entertaining and not too taxing of the brain. 🙂

    (Horses next door? You lucky girl!)

    Like

    • I went out with my family to do errands yesterday, so that change of scenery probably helped. Plus, I watched a very entertaining, no-emotional-commitment-involved episode of C! that involved infiltrators, which cheered me up too. 🙂 Chocolate is optional, and I’m on a diet right now, but my sister did share some chocolate candies with, so I got all the bases covered, right?

      (I was waiting for someone to comment on that fact! Yes, there’s two, a bay and a black. One of them is highly standoffish, but the other will come over if you stand by the fence, which is nice. My youngest sister and I spend the most time petting him – the other kids aren’t too interested.)

      Like

  7. Eva–Jessica Prescott is one of the main characters in Paul Horgan’s novel, “A Distant Trumpet.” It’s a very LONG work of historical fiction (roughly 600 pages!) about the U.S. Army in the Southwest in the 1880s. It’s brilliantly written and the characters are awesome–although I wouldn’t recommend it to anybody under 18 because it has a fair amount of what they call Adult Content (adultery, graphic violence, etc.)

    I know you’re older than that so I’m not worried–I just don’t want anybody younger seeing this and wanting to read it and getting a nasty surprise 🙂

    Like

    • As it turns out, I’m actually sixteen going on seventeen. 😛 Anywho. It sounds like a great book but, yeah, I doubt I’ll be reading it any time soon. 🙂

      Like

      • Sheesh! Why did I not guess that? I DO hope you aren’t offended 🙂 I think I must have assumed you were 18 because you just finished high school (or at least, I thought you did?) Maybe I’m just all confused. Anyways, 16 going on 17 is a great age to be–and yeah, probably you should hold off on A Distant Trumpet for a few more years. I mean, it was written in the 1950s, so it’s not AWFULLY graphic but it’s KIND of graphic. But yeah, it’s a great story and I do recommend it highly.

        I myself just turned 21 this spring. And I feel OLD 🙂 No, actually, I feel fine.

        Like

      • Nope, I’m not offended at all – it’s an honest mistake, since most people ARE eighteen when they graduate, but I’m sixteen, because I started school a year early (I’m homeschooled). My parents are pretty careful about what they let my siblings and I watch/read, so I’m used to waiting for books and movies. 🙂 I have a whole list of things to read and watch ‘when I get older’; I’ll just add A Distant Trumpet to the list! 🙂

        Like

  8. Your post describes those certain days perfectly. Chocolate ice cream really does help everything. At least you know what shows to watch. I’m never sure if I want musical, adventure, western, or just plain silly comedy.

    Wait. Pause. You have horses next door? Wow, you’re lucky. 🙂

    Writing is so hard, and it emotionally drains you (it might be different for you, but when I’m emotionally drained, that’s when the moods kick in). Usually going outside, and noticing the beauty of nature helps in the end.

    I’m glad blogging helped. 🙂

    Like

    • Oh, wanting to watch Combat! was just a tiny part of my many mood swings yesterday; sometimes I wanted to watch it, sometimes I didn’t. Most of the time, though, when I’m feeling really depressed, I gravitate toward heartbreakingly sad films and TV show episodes. Which doesn’t make much sense, but I think crying about fictional problems helps me face mine, you know?

      Yep! They’re lovely. I used to be hugely obsessed with horses as a kid, and having a couple of them next door is bringing back all those memories. 🙂

      Like

      • I understand exactly what you mean about crying about fictional problems helping you with your real problems. If I even get down to actually choosing a film or show to watch, it’s usually one that I know I’ll cry on or get depressed and mourn for the characters. Do you ever get sad or depressed for characters? I know this seems silly, but sometimes, I’ll even get embarrassed for them.

        Like

      • Oh, it’s not silly at all! The amount of emotional investment I have in different fictional characters is huge (and probably a bit embarrassing). You’re not alone in this. 🙂

        Like

  9. Pingback: THANK YOU | coffee, classics, & craziness

Leave a Reply

