tv show review: combat! {season 4}

"Hills Are For Heroes"

Combat!, a one-hour WWII drama series on television, followed a frontline American infantry squad as they battled their way across Europe. With mud-splattered realism, the show offered character studies of men striving to maintain their own humanity in the midst of a world torn by war.

___________________________

Combat! enters its fourth year with the same solid, quality entertainment and multitude of guest stars that characterized the first three seasons.  Like every season, it has hits and misses, although the standout episode, “Hills Are For Heroes”, goes a long way toward balancing out the bad and quite possibly making this season my second favorite of the show (if “Hills” wasn’t a part of Season 4, I would say it was no better or worse than Season 3).  Each season has a different ‘feel’ for me, very difficult to explain but there all the same, and I would say that Season 4 is a little…darker than any of the others.  At least that’s the impression I’ve always gotten.  There’s an episode with a murderer (“Nothing To Lose”) and one with a guy who gets killed in a pretty gruesome way (“Retribution”) and, yeah, it’s pretty dark at times.  Plus, the ending of “Hills” always struck me as quite (read: VERY) depressing.  But I still love Season 4 (as I do all the others, really), and now to discuss all the reasons why.

These two.  Normally, Doc and Kirby have a very....interesting friendship, of sorts, where Kirby's always griping about his various injuries and Doc teases him about it, so I love how in "The Leader", you see them working together in a pretty serious situation.  It's great.

Main characters:  If Season 4 ‘belongs’ to any character, it’s Kirby.  Really.  First, there’s “Retribution”, which is giving me feels just remembering it: Kirby’s soon-to-be brother-in-law is found beaten to death by a sadistic German CREEP and Kirby goes off on a vendetta to find the guy and kill him.  Jack Hogan’s acting is amazing, as usual, and Kirby continues to change and grow through the whole season, which ends in the pinnacle of his characterization (IMO) in “The Leader”.  The decisions he makes and things he does in that episode show just how much he’s matured.  He also carries a large chunk of the plot in “Hills Are For Heroes”, which I view as the biggest testing the squad has ever had to go through; I’d even so far as to say that it almost rips them apart (at least some of them) before Saunders steps in and gets Hanley back on track with that wonderful pep talk. (BEST. SCENE. EVER.)

Speaking of Saunders, he ends up with hearing loss in Season 4, which is pretty big.  He also puts up with green replacements and old men joining the squad, a POW camp episode, getting wounded countless times, etc., etc.  How he manages to stay on his feet is awe-inspiring in and of itself.  Hanley gets several focus episodes, and “Hills”, of course, which I’d say was quite a traumatic experience (it’s my sister’s favorite and least favorite episode all at once – she’s a huge Hanley fan, so go figure).  All the other characters (Caje, Littlejohn, and Doc) don’t get any big moments, from what I can remember.  (I’m rather sleepy right now, so if I’ve forgotten anything, remind me!)  Doc is his same steady, dependable self, Littlejohn keeps getting bit parts, and Caje is still awesome.

Minor characters: Compared to seasons 1, 2, and 3, Season 3 doesn’t have as many minor characters that I’m fond of or that I at least find interesting, but there are a few.  “Hills” is populated by some nice minor characters – Einstein, particularly, and Earl Parker (Vic Morrow’s stunt double) gets a small part.  Elisabeth and I have also grown to like Hanley’s radio operator in that episode; he gets practically no characterization, but we still kinda like him, for whatever reason.  Andrea Darvi returns in “Gitty”, and does just as well in that episode as she does in “No Trumpets, No Drums” and “The Party”.  All the POW chaps in “Ask Me No Questions” are great as well, and the British dude in “Evasion” is a lot of fun.  I also like the four replacements in “The First Day” (yes, even Tate), but overall, there isn’t any minor character in Season 4 that I love. (Not like Avery or Brockmeyer, anyway.)

<3

The list of guest stars for Season 4 includes Sal Mineo, Leonard Nimoy, John Casavettes, and Claude Akins.

Favorite/Least Favorite episodes: There are a few blah episodes in Season 4.  “A Sudden Terror”, for one. *beats head against desk at the sheer stupidity of this episode* (Ditto for “Luck With Rainbows”.)  “The Linesman” has got to be one of the most boring episodes in the history of the show, and “One At A Time” isn’t much better.  Now, Season 4 is probably my least-watched season (I don’t know why, it just is), so most of these episodes I’ve only seen once, but I think the ones I’ve listed deserve it.  A few other episodes that didn’t capture my interest: “The Ringer”, “The Farmer”, “The Old Men”, and “The Flying Machine”.  There are others, but I won’t list them all, because I’d rather talk about all the truly excellent episodes in this season.

Like “Hills Are For Heroes”.  I can’t understand why this hasn’t been released in movie format yet, because if you view it as a movie, it ranks right up there with some of the great war films (not going to name names, though, because just about everyone has a different idea of what makes a ‘great war film’).  I believe I watched “Hills” quite early into my foray into Combat!, and the ending really knocked the breath out of me for a while, a bit like how “Cat & Mouse” did when I first watched it.  Didn’t expect that ending at all.  Vic Morrow directed “Hills” by the way, if you didn’t know, and he has a wonderful directorial style all his own.  I could go on and on about the perfection of this episode (episodes?), but I won’t. (Rats.  Now I feel like watching it again, and I don’t have the time.)

"The First Day"

After “Losers Cry Deal”, I’d say that “The First Day” would be the best episode to show a first-time C! viewer: great characterization for all the regulars, interesting plot, emotional depth, snappy dialogue – everything that makes Combat! what it is.  I’ve watched it quite a few times, and the missionary family who stayed at our house for a few days really enjoyed it, which made me quite happy (I love introducing people to my fandoms and having them enjoy whatever book or movie or TV show it is).  “The Leader” is another fantastic episode from Season 4.  Seeing Doc and Kirby having a serious discussion was interesting, since they’re usually doing some kind of back-and-forth banter (usually about one of Kirby’s imaginary wounds).  The atmosphere reminded me of Hell Is For Heroes – filmed at night, a small force having to fill a gap in the line, tricks and traps, and so forth.  Did anyone else get that feeling?

I also enjoy “Evasion”, “Finest Hour”, “The Raider”, “S.I.W.”, “The Mockingbird”, “Ask Me No Questions”, and “Gitty”.

Overall: Season 4 offers fans several strong episodes.  It’s the last season in b&w, and while there are a few recycled plots, Combat!’s fourth year of episodes stands on its own two feet.  All the characters we’ve come to know and love over the past several seasons haven’t changed at all (with the possible exception of Kirby) and there’s enough action, excitement, and drama to satisfy anyone.  One of my favorite seasons.  Next up, my final Combat! review which will focus on the controversial fifth season (controversial because of the show’s switch to colour).

Eva

6 thoughts on “tv show review: combat! {season 4}

  1. Just curious: Where do you watch these shows? I mean, are they on YouTube, or do you have to buy them on DVD, or is it something else?
    They do sound like fun 🙂
    Speaking of WWII, I have a quick question about my novel: I’ve got to write a couple of air-battle scenes and they rather scare me because I don’t really know how to describe that kind of action. Do you have any suggestions as to movies/books that would be helpful? (I asked Hamlette the same question because I know she loves WWII also.)
    Thanks!

    Like

    • All the episodes are available on Youtube (Seasons 1-4 here and Season 5 here), which is where I watched the show for several months until I saved up enough money to buy the DVD set. I highly recommend the DVD set, as the picture quality is great, and all five seasons are full of awesome special features (commentaries, photo galleries, documentaries, and more). However, I’d probably watch some episodes on YT first to see if you want to buy the DVDs, since the full set is quite expensive. 🙂 I’m pretty sure you’d like Combat!, though, especially if you’re writing a WWII novel – it’s definitely helped me with mine!

      Air battle scenes? I don’t envy you. 😉 Any kind of action scene is hard for me, but air battles seem especially tricky. Anyway. Jack Cavanaugh’s books The Allies and The Victors are both super when it comes to air battles, although Allies is set in WWI (you’d probably still get good info, though). Neither book is exclusively about the airforce, but both devote a pretty good chunk of plot to it. I can’t think of anything else, but you could do worse than to start with those two. 🙂

      Like

      • Thanks so much! I’ll definitely try those out!
        Yeah, I feel like it’s probably going to be pretty hard, but it’s an important part of the plot so it HAS to be there, whether I like it or not. Fortunately I should only need two.

        Like

  2. I was quite convinced, growing up, that quicksand was going to be a significant danger at some point in my life. Every Single 60s TV Show has a quicksand episode, even C!. (Also, I still haven’t had to transport nitroglycerin up a hill — but both it and quicksand could happen yet! I’m only 35, after all.)

    I totally agree — “The Leader” a LOT like Hell is for Heroes. Even down to stuff strung on wires, etc.

    I really love Ask Me No Questions. I love it when Saunders gets all wily like that ❤

    Like

    • Ugh, yes. Have you watched “Nightmare on Red Ball Run”? That’s C!’s ‘transporting sensitive explosives over rough terrain’ episode. 😛 But getting back to the quicksand thing, I used to be pretty freaked out by the thought that I might fall into some and sink to a horrible death (yeah, like that would really happen in suburban Canada). Wasn’t helped by the fact that I read a Lassie TV novel that focused on a boy falling into quicksand.

      The wires were what made me think of HIFH in the first place, and then I realized how much the whole episode was like it.

      Same here! I wasn’t expecting much from that episode because I don’t really like solo plots – I prefer squad stories – but it pleasantly surprised me.

      Like

      • Nope, haven’t see NORBR yet, but I knew that was C!’s “transport the explosives” ep. I sometimes wonder if there was one writer who shopped the “falls in quicksand” idea around to every show, and another who shopped the “transports explosives” idea around. Hee.

        Like

Leave a Reply

