my definition(s) of normal

For me, normal is…

Waking up at six in the morning to write, write, write, while wearing my enormous, feels-exactly-like-a-big-soft-hug sweater, and sipping from a ginormous mug of instant coffee.  Which usually goes cold because I tend to forget it when I get caught up in my writing.

~

“Books are not made for furniture, but there is nothing else that so beautifully furnishes a house.” ~ Henry Ward Beecher

Organizing my wonderful, beautiful books while listening to Glenn Miller & His Orchestra.  With a few swing-y dance moves if I’m alone (which doesn’t often happen).

~

Scott Harding 1965 | San Antonio, Texas | TuttArt@ | Pittura * Scultura * Poesia * Musica |

Curling up in Mom’s comfy rocking chair by the window and reading Jack Cavanaugh’s books or Unbroken or Violins of Autumn or Gone With the Wind.  Or just anything.  If the house is cold, I’ll wear two pairs of socks and my aforementioned sweater and read for hours.  And hours.  And HOURS.

~

Eating oatmeal with almond milk and drinking coffee + cream for breakfast.

~

Fun mail!

Walking down to the mailbox on lazy, golden summer evenings, hoping that there’s a letter or package for me.

~

Watching movies at night with my siblings, snuggled up on the leather couch with my glasses on, thrilling over Casablanca or keeping up a running commentary on an episode of Combat! with Elisabeth.  And then we’ll pause for snack breaks and bathroom breaks and it’ll usually take us three hours to finish a movie half that length, but it’s still great.

~

And all those other tiny, perfect things that make up my super-cool-and-awesome life.

What things make your routine amazing?

Eva

P.S. This post is dedicated to the fact that my life has been anything but normal for quite some time and I’m ready for it to go back to the way it was.

8 thoughts on “my definition(s) of normal

  1. This was a lovely post – all those sweet cosy pictures 🙂

    I’m sorry that you have had so much “un-normality”. I know how you must feel . . . I love routine, myself. Like waking up, hearing the birds and all those morning noises – little feet, murmuring voices, the kettle shrieking . . . then school, and then later in the day, reading or writing, listening to music, sucking a lollipop – I could go on and on, but I just wanted to say, thanks for writing this. It has made me appreciate the regulararity and routines of my life more 🙂

    Like

  2. I have to go read history homework so I can’t make a long comment–but I really loved this post 🙂 You’re 100% right–routine is AWESOME. It makes my life so much nicer.

    Like

    • Hearing you’re happy with one of my posts makes me happy. 😉 I think the thing I miss most about my routine (my family’s currently on vacation) is my writing. I can’t wait to get back to it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

