five female characters tag

Usually when I talk about fictional characters on this blog, I focus on male characters, and while I’ve often thought it was an oversight on my part, up to this point I hadn’t had a chance to fix it – I just don’t fangirl over female characters like I do the guys (which I’m sure is a good thing).  So whenI saw this tag on Maribeth’s blog, I knew I should do it (plus, it looked like fun).
Rules
 
1.) List 5 of your favorite female characters (book or screen)
 
2.) Tagging other people is optional
 
3.) If you are tagged link back to the person that tagged you
 
4.) Link back to Revealed In Time
 
_______________________________
 

Choose one character from each category:

1.) Protagonist – Katniss Everdeen (“The Hunger Games”)

 :

Katniss might be an obvious (even cliched) choice for many people, but when I reviewed my options I knew she had to be the one I featured.  Katniss combines many different qualities – courage, self-sacrifice, intelligence – that make her a character worth rooting for, but at the same time, she isn’t perfect.  Far from it.  No character is believable without flaws, and Katniss’ character developement and the challenges she faces makes her seem to leap right off the pages of the Hunger Games trilogy and into the real world.  I might not relate to her all that much, but I admire her greatly.

2.) Villain – Elsa Schneider (“Indiana Jones And The Last Crusade”)

Okay, maybe Elsa isn’t exactly a villain, but she’s an extremely interesting woman and I’ve been wanting to talk about her for some time.  If she’s any kind of villain, she’s a sympathetic one – yes, she leaves the story eaten up with greed, but even Indy almost fell prey to the Grail’s lure.  She cast in her lot with the Nazis, at least for a time, but I personally believe that she knew exactly what she was doing when she gave the wrong cup to Donovan (thoughts?).  Elsa is a deliciously clever woman, and I kinda, sorta ship her and Indy.  No, actually I do.  A lot.

3.) Superhero – Jamie Sommers (“The Bionic Woman”)

Black Widow was the only other female superhero I know of, and while she’s a great character, I didn’t like having my choices limited to only one person, so I thought long and hard and came up with Jamie aka The Bionic Woman.  Who is a superhero, because she’s had about the same amount of augmentation done to her as, say, Steve Rogers.  I’ve seen Jamie in only one two-part special episode of The Six Million Dollar Man, but I was quite surprised at how much I liked her.  Way better than Steve Austin, that’s for sure.  She struck me as a very independent, interesting woman, and I wouldn’t mind seeing a few episodes of The Bionic Woman at some point.

4.) That I would want to be friends with – Melanie Hamilton (“Gone With The Wind”)

Olivia de Haviland in Gone With the Wind:

Melanie and I would be good friends, I think.  First of all, she’s friends with practically everyone, and it would be quite easy, I believe, for me to get past my shyness and start talking to her because she’s somewhat shy herself – but very sweet, too.  We have a love of books in common, because after all, she had a copy of Les Miserables sitting out in her home in Atlanta.  Overall, I think Melanie would be an amazing person to be friends with, and I’d love to have her for one.

5.) That I wish had better development – Katrine Theary (“Saints & Soldiers”)

 :

Katrine (eh, I know that’s not how Wikipedia spells her name, but it’s how I spell it) is a character in the amazing war film, Saints & Soldiers.  She lives with her daughter, Sophie, in a little cabin smack-dab in the middle of a forest, and I have so many questions about her.  Where’s her husband?  Is he dead?  In the French Resistance?  Why does she have such a fancy house + white flour?  Is she a double agent, working for the Resistance, but pretending to collaborate with the Germans?  And then, of course, there’s her relationship with Gunderson.  I NEED CLOSURE, PEOPLE.  Which I’ll never get. *sniff*

Eva

P.S. If you want to do this tag, go ahead!

22 thoughts on “five female characters tag

  1. Katrine’s little girl is sooooooo cute!
    I think Melanie would be a great friend, because she seems so sweet and kind and ready to be friends with EVERYBODY. No, I haven’t seen GWTW, but that’s what I hear about her from all sides, basically. She sounds a lot like Jane Bennet, actually–do you think they’re very much alike?
    I would want to be friends with Fanny Price because she’s SO much like me it’s not even funny. She’s basically my long-lost twin sister. And she’s incredibly nice. So yeah.

    Like

    • Have you seen Saints & Soldiers? I feel like I’ve asked you that before, but if I have, I forgot your answer. 😛

      Yes! I’ve often compared Melanie to Jane in my thoughts, though I think Melanie does have a bit more backbone/spirit. Still, never having seen Jane go through some of things Melanie had to, I guess I really couldn’t say…

      Fanny Price is lovely. The fact that sooooo many people hate on her constantly makes me more than a little mad.

      Like

      • No, I haven’t seen it! Would you recommend it? It does sound quite epic, from what you’ve told me 🙂
        YES. It makes me absolutely FURIOUS, because, honestly, she and I have got SO many character traits in common that, basically, if they say horrid stuff about Fanny that means they’re actually saying it about ME. Which I will not tolerate.
        I especially hate how nobody (well, okay, very few people) are willing to acknowledge what a tough childhood she’s had and how those experiences have exacerbated her natural timidity and sensitivity. The biggest reason she hangs back so much and doesn’t like to speak up for herself is that she’s been constantly beaten down and told she’s worthless, ever since she was 10 years old. That sort of thing really leaves its mark on you, especially if you’re as shy as Fanny to begin with.

        Like

      • Oh, I recommend it wholeheartedly! It’s an amazing, thoughtful movie. Though extremely sad, so if that isn’t your thing, you probably don’t want to watch it.

        Her childhood WAS difficult, and it’s something I tend to overlook myself a lot. She’s one of those characters you just want to hug, yes? Especially when she’s a little girl.

        Like

  2. Yes, I sooo want to be friends with Melanie. Especially because she DESERVES a friend who REALLY loves her. Not a friend like Scarlett who – even though she can’t see it – actually hates her. She needs a bestie, Melanie does. 😀 I think we all want to be Melanie’s friend! 🙂

    Like

  3. I love your new header!
    And yes. Fanny Price totally deserves a big hug. Did you know I actually have a lot of fun shipping her with Steve Rogers (Captain America)? I know they’re in different universes (the World of Austen v. MCU) but if they COULD actually meet I think they’d be very good for each other. He could protect her, and she could give him lots of love and comfort him when things don’t go right 🙂
    I know it’s a really odd sort of idea . . . but I just like thinking about it 🙂

    Like

      • Ahhhhh . . . I see. Hey, that’s fine–it’s just that I don’t care too too much for Edmund Bertram, so I was casting about for somebody else to ship Fanny with, and I thought, “hey, how ’bout Captain America?” Mostly because I want to marry him myself, haha.

        Like

  4. Ach, das tut mir Leid. (I’m sorry.) 🙂 No, we probably shouldn’t argue about Edmund ’cause we probably wouldn’t agree about him . . . I will say, though, that I do think he has a good heart and good intentions. I don’t think of him as a “villain” or anything like that. He’s just . . . Not My Favorite Austen Hero. If you Know what I Mean. 🙂

    Just out of curiosity, who is your favorite Austen hero? Mine is, definitely, Colonel Brandon. (Specifically, the David Morrissey portrayal from S&S 08.) I LOOOOOOVE him. He’s awesome.

    Like

    • I have a great fondness for Mr. Knightley (Johnny Lee Miller is my favorite portrayal of him, btw), but I think my heart will always belong to Colonel Brandon. 🙂 Only I like Alan Rickman’s Brandon a lot better than Morrissey’s. Have you ever read Colonel Brandon’s Diary by Amanda Grange? It’s a beautiful book and pretty much a must-read for any Colonel Brandon fan.

      Like

      • I haven’t–I should definitely try that 🙂
        I did like Alan Rickman’s Brandon a lot, but David Morrissey’s was the one I really, truly fell in love with. I just really like how strong he is, and yet how sweet and kind-hearted at the same time. I don’t know . . . just, watching him makes me really happy 🙂

        Like

      • Maybe part of the reason I like Alan Rickman’s Brandon more than Morrisey’s is because I like Kate Winslet’s Marianne a LOT more than Charity Wakefield’s. That’s probably it.

        Like

  5. Whaddaya know — I just did this tag this week myself!

    I like your choice for a friend — Melanie is wonderful. I don’t know Katniss or Jamie, though. And I agree that Katrine could have used more development — she was very cool.

    But… Elsa Schneider? Really? You ship her and Indy? Not Marion and Indy? I am agog; I am aghast.

    Like

    • You know, I’m surprised you haven’t read The Hunger Games yet. Is it because you don’t agree with the series or just because you haven’t gotten around to it?

      Well, I didn’t really…click with Marion when I watched Raiders (though I did like her quite a bit in Crystal Skull – when I think about that one I do hesitate about shipping Indy and Elsa). She seemed a little bit too much like a typical action girl, whereas Elsa always came across as more cultured/interesting. However, I’ve only seen Raiders once, so my opinions on Marion aren’t full cemented, I’m sure. Maybe I can persuade my brothers to watch it again tonight. 🙂 And anyway, The Last Crusade was the first Indy movie I saw (and the only one I’ve seen more than once), so that probably has a lot to do with how I view Elsa.

      Like

      • Sometimes I’m surprised by that myself. I just can’t seem to make myself interested in them! I don’t care for dystopian fiction all that much — sometimes I like it, and sometimes I don’t. And I must admit that I get sort of ridiculously anti-super-popular-books sometimes… and then sometimes I love really popular things, like Harry Potter and Eragon. I know lots and lots of people who enjoy the Hunger Games, books and movies both, but nothing about them has ever grabbed me and made me go, “I should read these! They look so interesting!” One day, I’ll probably try the first one.

        I love that Marion challenges Indy. I think he would grow annoyed with Elsa’s manipulative neediness, whereas Marion stands on her own two feet, gives as good as she gets, and makes him keep up with her rather than tagging around after him.

        I’ve seen Last Crusade way more times than Raiders, but I think Raiders is actually the better movie. I like Crystal Skull well enough to have seen it 3 or 4 times now. As for Temple of Doom, well, I’ve seen it once and that was more than enough :-b

        Like

      • Well, I’ve always wanted to read them (part of being a teen, I guess?) but it took a while to convince Mom to preview them for me – it wasn’t until she read Divergent that she realized not all dystopian fiction is lame (though I wouldn’t really recommend Divergent now). Anyway, she’s a big fan of the series (The Hunger Games, not Divergent) now. If you ever do end up reading any of the books, I’d be interested in a book review to get your opinions. 🙂 (And, yes, I know exactly what you mean about not liking certain things just because they’re oh-so-popular. That’s basically me.)

        So, I watched Raiders a couple of nights ago, and I liked Marion a LOT better that time. I think, the first time I saw the movie, I was expecting her to be a cliched Action Girl, so I viewed all her actions and dialogue through that lens and didn’t get any of the depth in her character and her relationship to Indy. I probably ship them more than Indy and Elsa now (I do love how they get married in the fourth movie, so that’s a big plus), though Last Crusade is definitely still my favorite of the four films.

        I’ve seen Raiders twice, Last Crusade four or five times, and the other two only once apiece. I wish I could expunge Temple of Doom from my memory. 😛 And Crystal Skull was great! I don’t get why all the fans hate it so much (well, except for you).

        Like

      • Yeah, the Divergent books don’t really interest me either. I’m sure I’ll read the first Hunger Games book at some point, and when I do, I’ll definitely review it. I review almost every book I read, unless I didn’t care much for it or I have a huge backlog of books waiting to get reviewed. Movies, on the other hand, I review maybe one in four. Only if it’s something I really want to share my thoughts on.

        I don’t get the hate for Crystal Skull either. I found it entertaining and enjoyable, which is what I ask for in an Indy movie. Speaking of Indy, today I’m watching a couple of kids so their parents can go see the Indiana Jones exhibit at the National Geographic Museum. I didn’t even know it existed! I need to find out how long it’s going to be there, how much it costs,and whether I can get there before it’s gone. Kind of waiting for our friends to tell us if it’s worth seeing 🙂

        Glad you liked Raiders and Marion better this time around! She’s such a great character 🙂

        Like

      • Why are all the best things in America? I’m sure there’ll never be any exhibit of that kind up here in Canada. 😛 But I hope you get to go! It sounds like lots of fun. (Though why would it be at the National Geographic Museum? I mean, it is fiction.)

        Like

    • Because they tied it to the history of modern archaeology, according to my friends. The website is here. So it had movie props, but also actual artifacts, and talked about the changes in archaeological practices from Henry Jones’ era through Indiana and beyond.

      Like

  6. Pingback: // “woman up!” – female character tag // | A Portrait of Grace

  7. Pingback: five male characters tag | coffee, classics, & craziness

Leave a Reply

