five great movies for a girls’ night in + giveaway!

Sometimes, I don’t have any ideas for a movie to watch with Elisabeth on our movie night (each Friday, we watch a movie together), and I’m sure some of you have had similar problems, so I’ve compiled a short list of great films that I think any girl would love.  They’re all old movies, because that’s pretty much all I watch these days, but if you’re a die-hard modern movie fan, I still suggest checking these out – the first one on the list convinced me that not all old movies were dry and boring.

~Casablanca

Grab the popcorn and start filling those lazy weekends. Movies every woman should see!:

Ah, Casablanca.  This film should be a staple of your movie nights if you’re a teenage girl – or a girl of any age.  There’s a dazzling, heartbreaking love triangle, political intrigue, more than a few nail-biting moments, and an ending that will leave you choked up and satisfied all at the same time.  Casablanca is a one of the most classic of all classic films, so I’d recommend watching it just for that, if nothing else.  Plus, allll of those iconic lines!  You’re just dying to hear them in their proper context, right? (RIGHT?)

~Roman Holiday

Roman Holiday with Gregory Peck Apparently it was Peck's idea to fake the missing hand for this scene. Unaware, her reaction was genuine.:

Roman Holiday is sort of a Cinderella story for girls who want a little more depth, emotion, and romance than what the fairy tale has to offer. (I’m not bashing Cinderella, though.)  Audrey Hepburn is enchanting, as usual, and the fact that it was her first movie role + she won an Oscar for it, just goes to show how truly brilliant she was.  And Gregory Peck is always a good idea.  There are lots of charming little scenes as Princess Ann goes through her one magical day of freedom, scenes that culminates in a bittersweet ending that, again, will leave you choked up.

~Gone With The Wind

Gone with the Wind:

You knew I had to include this, didn’t you?  The book is amazing (actually, it’s more than amazing) and while the movie isn’t quite as good, the filmmakers did a fantastic job with bringing everything to life.  Clocking in at nearly four hours, Gone With The Wind is a movie I’d pop in for an all-nighter.  (You know what the best thing about those are?  Midnight snacks.)  Even if you’re feeling drowsy by the end, it’s all worth it just to hear and see Rhett/Gable deliver The Line with a coolness that no-one else could quite convey.  Really, my only quibble with the film is that WILL WASN’T INCLUDED. (Right now, Mom’s rolling her eyes because she’s heard me rant about that for quite a while.)  Other than that, it’s as close to perfection as a book-to-movie adaption can be.

~To Catch A Thief

Grace Kelly and Cary Grant, To Catch a Thief - directed by Alfred Hitchcock (1955):

Hitchcock film alert!  When I started coming up with titles for this list, I knew I’d have to include at least one of his, and I decided on To Catch A Thief because I think it’s a gentler introduction to Hitchcock than most of his other films.  More a comedic romance than anything else, TCAT does include some intense action scenes coupled with Hitchcock’s flair for the dramatic, the ridiculous, and the mysterious.  I’m not a big fan of Cary Grant, but I don’t mind him in this one, and Grace Kelly is wonderful.  And if you don’t have serious clothing envy by the time you finish this one…well, it’s impossible not to.

~Laura

Dana Andrews and Gene Tierney in "Laura" (1944; directed by Otto Preminger). A fascinating romantic mystery. I think it is superior to "Rebecca", even with the drop off from Hitchcock to Preminger.:

I know this one is included in the Fox Film Noir collection, but if film noirs aren’t your thing, don’t let that deter you from seeing this exquisite piece of moviemaking, because it’s not really a film noir at all.  Sure, there’s a murder and a ‘hard-boiled detective’ (really, Mark’s a dear underneath) and it’s in black-and-white, but it doesn’t have the mood/tone of a film noir.  Laura is an elegant, interesting film starring a gorgeous Gene Tierney and an unbearably handsome Dana Andrews.  Oh, and there’s a great villain, an intriguing story with a huge plot twist, and plenty of lovely costumes.  Everyone should see Laura, guys and girls alike.

____________________________________

And now for the giveaway!  I have a copy of Casablanca for one lucky winner – if you don’t have a copy/haven’t watched it yet, this would be the perfect opportunity to expand your DVD collection + your experience with classic film, and if you do have a copy, DVDs always make great gifts. 🙂  Giveaway ends on September 28th – I will randomly pick a winner and then email them for their address.  If they don’t respond within three days, I’ll pick a new winner and email them accordingly.  The giveaway is open to residents of Canada and the USA only (I apologize to all my international readers – Naomi, especially – but shipping rates are ridiculous these days). 

And to enter, just answer this question in the comments – what is your go-to movie for a girls’ night in?

Eva

17 thoughts on “five great movies for a girls’ night in + giveaway!

  1. Okay, I’m not actually entering the giveaway ’cause I don’t think Casablanca would really be my thing (I know–I’m odd 🙂 ) and I want to leave it for somebody who would enjoy it! But I’d like to answer the question anyways.
    So, Rosie and I have three favorite “girls’ night” type movies that we love to watch together: Pride and Prejudice 05, Sense and Sensibility 08 (my favorite Austen movie EVAH), and Bernadette 88 (my favorite movie of ALL TIME, period, hands down). We are both madly in love with the 08 Colonel Brandon, so that’s always a ton of fun, and Dan Stevens as Edward is adorable . . . so. And we both really, really love Keira Knightley as Lizzy Bennet in the 05 movie. And Bernadette 88–well, it’s just so peaceful and lovely and uplifting that you can’t not feel better about your life after seeing it. And Sydney Penny, who plays Bernadette, is sooooooo cute. AND it’s in French, which makes it even cooler, somehow 🙂

    Like

    • It makes me happy to see fellow P&P ’05 fans. 🙂 It really is amazing, isn’t it? And I know how much fun it is to watch a movie with a fangirl friend when both of you love at least one of the characters. Elisabeth and I usually sit side-by-side on the couch and elbow each other whenever The Character says or does something heroic or adorable. 🙂

      Like

  2. Yay! I’ve seen all of these except Casablanca and Laura. To Catch a Thief is amazing! (How do you not like Cary Grant!!), but I think I like The Man Who Knew Too Much better because it’s more Hitchcocky! But Grace Kelly’s wardrobe is on point! And Roman Holiday has all the cuteness!

    I think my girls’ movie night movie would be the Bachelor and the Bobby Soxer with Cary Grant and Shirley Temple. I’ve only seen it once, but it’s just that kind of movie. My sister and I also like Please Don’t Eat The Daises cuz Doris Day is awesome! Thanks for the giveaway!

    Like

    • I have no idea why I don’t like Cary Grant. Everyone else (including my mom) seems to adore him, but I…don’t. *shrugs* It’s weird.

      I’ve seen Please Don’t Eat The Daisies, but it was such a long time ago that all I remember is the song. 🙂

      Like

  3. Ohh! GWTW and ROMAN HOLIDAY! Yes, perfect for girl’s nights. Aw, don’t worry about the giveaway – I Totes understand. Besides, we are currently borrowing Casablanca from some friends, so we aren’t in great need of the dvd, anyway. After your review, I can’t wait to watch it!

    Like

  4. My sisters and I love to watch Pride and Prejudice(2005), Emma, My Fair Lady, Singing in the rain…and the new Cinderella movie has become a FAVORITE:)

    Like

  5. Okay, so I HAVE to stop by and give you three cheers for saying Keira Knightley is perfect as Lizzy Bennet. Because she IS. I have nothing against Jennifer Ehle, as an actress, but I simply could not see her as Elizabeth. She doesn’t have ANY of Lizzy’s fire and spunkiness. So yeah. P&P 05 fans unite 🙂

    Like

  6. I would love to have Casablanca on DVD! Such a great movie.

    Some “girls movie night” favorites of mine:

    Emma, with Gwyneth Paltrow, Jeremy Northam, and Ewan MacGregor

    Miss Potter, with Renee Zellweger and Ewan MacGregor

    Reunion in France, with John Wayne and Joan Crawford (bonus: set during WWII)

    That Funny Feeling, with Bobby Darin and Sandra Dee

    Hello, Dolly!, with Barbra Streisand and Walter Matthau

    Father Goose, with Leslie Caron and Cary Grant (bonus: set during WWII)

    The Blue and the Grey, with Stacy Keach

    Romancing the Stone, with Michael Douglas and Kathleen Turner

    Without Reservations, with John Wayne and Claudette Colbert

    Mrs. Winterbourne, with Brendan Fraser

    Okay, I need to get breakfast on the table. If I get a chance later today, I’ll spread the word about your giveaway on my blog 🙂

    Like

    • *sigh* I’ve watched about two of these. 😛 (Of course, you’re much older than me, too.) I watched Miss Potter a really long time ago, and I don’t remember liking it much, but everyone keeps saying it’s awesome, so I should probably see it again. I think I was too young to appreciate it when I first saw it.

      Like

  7. Pingback: movie review: casablanca | coffee, classics, & craziness

Leave a Reply

