what I’m doing {#7}

{reading}

http://vignette2.wikia.nocookie.net/theselection/images/4/4a/The_Selection_Cover.jpg/revision/latest?cb=20130911044436

Lots, as usual.  Unfortunately, there’ve been a couple of books that I’ve had to put down recently because of Language – a gorgeous biography of Audrey Hepburn by Barry Paris (none of the language came from her, by the way) and an Alistair MacLean novel, Partisans, that was proving extremely interesting (I adore his writing style).  *sigh*  Anyway, there have been a couple of books that I’ve read all the way through in the past week or so: The Selection and Jungle Pilot.  Both were re-reads.  I find The Selection a (very) slight cut above the typical YA romantic drivel that everyone seems to churn out these days, and at least it’s interesting, for brain candy.  And then, Jungle Pilot which is the story of Nate Saint.  Hugely inspiring, just as good as Through Gates of Splendour in my opinion.  An amazing, AMAZING story.  And now I’m on Violins of Autumn again. (LOVE.)

{watching}

Lots, as usual. 😉  A very eclectic mix, that’s for sure: Somewhere In The Night (oh, it’s such a chillingly good film noir – and available on Youtube), Ramona & Beezus (I’m surprised at how much I love that movie; I always turn it on when I need some cheering up), Saving Mr. Banks (feeeeeels – it’s one of the few films that can consistently reduce me to ugly tears and make me emotional just thinking about it), and The Happiest Millionaire (Disney fun!).  I also picked up a copy of The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly at the local thrift store, so I’ll be watching that sometime soon.  Oh, and Cool Thing: my brothers and Elisabeth went to an airsoft store a couple days ago and I was waiting for them in the car when Elisabeth came running out and told me that the store owners were playing Saving Private Ryan inside (we’ve both seen/loved it – but with a language filter).  So I went in with her and got to watch maybe two or three minutes of it as the boys finalized their purchases, and it was at the bit where Ryan (the real Ryan) finds out about his brothers, so I got my dose of Matt Damon Being An Awesome Actor for the day.  I wanted to reach through the screen and give him a hug ’cause he looked so saaaad. *sniff*

{listening to}

Frank Sinatra and Vera Lynn (who has one of the most beautiful voices in the world) and, of course, Glenn Miller.  And I love Bobby Darin’s version of ‘A Nightingale Sang In Barkely Square’, so I’ve been playing that a lot.  That song is lovely all on its own, but he adds a little something to it that’s enchanting.

What have you been reading/watching/listening to lately?

~Eva

16 thoughts on “what I’m doing {#7}

  1. I need to read Through Gates of Splendor and Jungle Pilot soon! Personally, I think Jungle Pilot sounds more interesting, but I don’t know.
    Violins of Autumn 😀
    You’re watching the Happiest Millionaire!!! Yes!!! That’s one of my favorites! I love John Lawless sooooo much! And Cordy is a dear!
    My brother would be in an air soft store too… He has so many vests and guns! I can’t even vacuum because there are bee bees and air soft bullets all around the floor 😀
    Glenn Miller is the king of big band!
    I can’t wait to watch Casablanca 😀

    Like

    • They’re both great books. I don’t think I could pick one and say “This is better”. 🙂

      The Happiest Millionaire is one of my grandparents’ favorite films, so I’ve seen chunks of it over the years, but that was the first time I saw it all the way through. Well, except for when I was a toddler – my mom says that after I saw it, I went around growling like the alligators for days. 😀

      Like

  2. The Selection – I JUST WANT TO READ THEM BECAUSE OF THE GORGEOUS COVERS. Are they good, though? Because they look a bit ‘Modern.’ I mean, you RE-read them. Which means they must be good. 🙂

    UGH. OHHH. AHHHHHHHHH. Saving Mr Banks!! I still haven’t seen it in it’s entirety but I feel like I’ve watched it all already.
    “He got shot.”
    “No wonder.”
    She’s so mean, but it’s hilarious.

    And I love ‘A Nightingale Sang in Barkely Square.’ It’s so romantic and sweet.

    ~ Naomi

    Like

    • Yeah, they are modern. Preeeeetty good, though. There’s some passionate kissing through the series, though, if that kind of thing bothers you, and some sprinkled swearing (though nothing worse than d— or h—). Overall, it’s a nice series to read if you want a break from heavier books. However, the love triangle is awful. AWFUL.

      Aw, you need to watch it allll! FEEEELS. You’ll love it even more once you do, I’m sure.

      (By the way, Robert Sherman got shot during WWII, right after helping to liberate Dachau. How’s that for awesome???)

      Like

  3. I haven’t gotten to do a lot of reading. Because of School and All That. You know how it is 🙂

    But I have been watching the Masked episodes with my sister as soon as they come out every week. And I’ve been watching clips of Frozen. Which is awesome.

    And I’ve been listening to scandalous amounts of Celtic Thunder 😀

    Like

    • Yep, the worldview course I’m taking has eaten into my available writing time a bit, but I still do manage to squeeze some chapters in – couldn’t live without my books!

      I’ve been watched Masked, too. It’s a great webseries. (I’m also trying to get myself into Green Gables Fables, ’cause everyone raves about it, but it just hasn’t happened yet.)

      Like

  4. “Scandalous amounts of Celtic Thunder”? Um . . . yeah. Guilty as charged 🙂 I’ve also been listening to some Mary Black and Donna Taggart, though–so I guess I’m diversifying a LITTLE bit, lol. Oh, and Brooke Fraser. Have you ever heard her song “Love Is Waiting”? If you haven’t, PLEASE go find it on YouTube. It’s AWESOME. It’s all about a girl waiting for the right guy and it is SO SWEET and SO PERFECT that I can’t get over it. 🙂

    And “Masked” has been lots of fun. Oh, and Rosie and me are going to try to watch “Amazing Grace” over fall break, which should also be awesome 🙂

    Like

    • As soon as I finish answering all the comments I have back-logged, I’ll go give it a listen! 🙂

      Masked is pretty good, isn’t it? I’m intrigued to see where the next episode takes us viewers, especially after the rather cliff-hanger-y ending.

      Like

      • Yes–I’m loving Masked SOOOO much 🙂 (Actually, I just watched Episode 4 and . . . well, let’s just say you won’t be disappointed.)

        Like

      • When I got home from church, I saw your comment and immediately went and watched Episode 4. EEEEP. So exciting! Alllll the drama. 🙂 (But there’s only going to be ten episodes? Awwww…)

        Like

  5. BOBBY! You’re listening to Bobby ❤ I want to hug you! I love his version of ANSIBS a lot.

    Okay, um… eeeeeee… "The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly." Please get a parent to watch that one first. It plays rough, and it has a scene to fast-forward through, and some bad language. It would get an R rating today, I think. (It's also not my favorite of Eastwood's "Man With No Name" trilogy, but the soundtrack is excellent.)

    Like

    • I put that in just for you – I knew you’d be happy. 😉

      Oh, Mom and Dad have already seen it (I wanted them to, ’cause I knew it had some stuff in it) and they said it was okay for me to watch, but not some of my siblings. So…yeah. I don’t really watch any films/read any books without getting their approval first. (So, is Eastwood the same character in all three films? And is there a story arc or are they all stand-alones?)

      Like

      • Well, you succeeded, cuz I was happy. Been listening to a bunch of Bobby today myself, especially “Feeling Good”, which I had on repeat while making breakfast.

        Okay, so there’s no official order or story arc to the “Man With No Name” trilogy. At least, not as far as I know! There could totally be, and I just don’t know. Eastwood wears the same basic costume in them and has the same basic character, so it’s just kind of accepted that this is the same guy. The first to be filmed was A Fistful of Dollars, then For a Few Dollars More, both of which take place kind of on the Mexican border. I think The Good, The Bad, and the Ugly is supposed to be a prequel, because during it, he finds the famous green-and-cream serape/poncho that he wears in the other two. Also, it takes place during the Civil War, while the others seem to take place later (due to presence of things like a Gatling Gun, wounded ex-soldiers, blue-coated American troops, yadda yadda).

        My favorite is FAFDM — it has a cool story, great music, and Lee Van Cleef plays a good guy in it (he’s super evil in TGTBTU). But I’ve seen AFOD a zillion times more often because we owned it on VHS when I was a teen and we didn’t have the others. Also, it has zero bad language or skippable parts, so we were allowed to watch it whenever we wanted, not just with a parent present. (When I got to be like 16 or 17, they trusted me to know where to skip things in movies we watched a lot.) It does have a bunch of violence, but it’s very… not cartoony, but not really realistic.

        One thing you’ll probably notice is that the words don’t always match mouth movements — a lot of roles were actually filmed in Italian, and they dubbed them. So in TBTGTU, Eastwood and Van Cleef and Wallach are speaking English, but most of the others aren’t, and it cracks me up sometimes.

        Like

      • Um…confession: I’ve only listened to, like, two Bobby Darin songs (‘Beyond the Sea’ and ‘Nightingale’). Any suggestions? *grins because I know you’ll have a huge list*

        Well, once I watch TGTBATU, I’m totally going to look up those other two movies ’cause I’m pretty sure I’d enjoy them (and I’m keeping an open mind about TGTBATU even though everyone I’ve asked about it says it’s boring and super violent). I didn’t know it was a trilogy (of sorts) until you mentioned – all I’d ever heard of was TGTBATU. 🙂

        That’s how it is with one character in Hitchcock’s To Catch A Thief. Obviously dubbed lines are pretty funny, aren’t they? 🙂

        Like

      • A huge list? I want to make you compilation CDs. But for right now, based on your taste for swing and the two you’ve mentioned, here are some songs Bobby did you probably will dig:

        “Mack the Knife”
        “Up a Lazy River”
        “Blue Skies”
        “Standing on the Corner”
        “You Made Me Love You”
        “Call Me Irresponsible”
        “That’s All”
        “Clementine”
        “Artificial Flowers”
        “As Long as I’m Singing”
        “Don’t Rain on My Parade”
        “Two of a Kind” (and all the things he recorded with Johnny Mercer on the album by the same name)

        You should be able to find most/all of those on YouTube 🙂

        Like

      • Thanks! I don’t have time tonight to check all these out (and I don’t go online on Sundays until I get home from church late at night), but I’ll work my way through this list ASAP. 🙂 I’m always looking for new awesome music, so this is perfect.

        Like

Leave a Reply

