‘the mountain lion’: writings of my younger self

“To practice any art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow. So do it.” — Kurt Vonnegut:

The other day, when she was looking through some old files, Mom found a short (very short) story I’d written back in 2007 and I couldn’t resist sharing it with the rest of you – typos and all.  You know, it’s exactly what I need with NaNoWriMo right around the corner because it goes to show how much my writing has improved in eight years (yes, I know I was only nine, but it’s still a confidence booster).  I mean, I can’t see anything that reminds me, even vaguely, of the way I write these days, so my writing style has definitely evolved over the past several years.  Which is quite encouraging, actually.

Oh, and this story is rife with plagiarized plot points from a animated movie I watched around the time I wrote this.  It’s embarrassing.

~

“The Mountain Lion”

In the Rocky Mountains a newly married couple called Mr. and Mrs. Collins lived.  They owned a horse named Starlight, a dog named Bruno, and a farm.  The newly wed couple was happy.  They often had quiet walks through the woods.

One day while they were walking and they saw a mountain lion!  After that Mr. Collins vowed never to go into the woods without his gun.  Soon after that they had a baby named Esther.

One night a huge storm came.  It hit the horse stable were Starlight was!  He escaped!  Mr. Collins went out to find him.  As he ran out the door he forgot to get his gun.  As he was searching for Starlight the storm passed.  Suddenly Mr. Collins came face to face with a mountian lion!  It was angrey!  Then he heard a wolf growl behind him!  The wolf sprang at the mountian lion.  But it was not a wolf!  It was his dog Bruno.  Bruno’s body made the mountain lion fall over a cliff.

Soon after that Mr. Collins found Starlight.  Then they all went home.

The End

~

ARGH.

Isn’t it awful?

Eva

18 thoughts on “‘the mountain lion’: writings of my younger self

  1. Hey, that’s really not so bad for a nine-year-old! I kind of like it, actually 🙂
    Good luck with NaNoWriMo! I hope it’s a lot of fun!

    Like

      • Actually, I’m not–I just don’t have the free time right now 😦 Also, to be honest, I’m not sure if it would help me very much, because I seem to write best when I take lots of time and work really carefully . . . Like, I think if I tried to finish a writing project in a single month it wouldn’t be much use, you know what I mean? I know it really helps some people, though! I guess it just depends on your personal writing style.

        Like

      • Ah, okay. I get that. NaNo doesn’t work for everyone – but I personally love it. 🙂

        By the way, I listened to that song you recommended (‘Love Is Waiting’). Wonderful!

        Like

  2. It’s adorable! My first writings were worse. : P

    I saw a quote once that said, “The only writer you should compare yourself to is the one you were yesterday.” Or the one you were eight years ago. Congrats on coming this far. 🙂

    Like

  3. Not bad for a nine-year old . . . in fact it’s very good compared to how I wrote at that age 🙂

    But yes! Isn’t it encouraging to look back at old writings and see how much you’ve improved? Although it is rather embarrassing, I agree 😀

    Like

    • Really? Wow. I can’t imagine anything being worse than my little story. 😛

      I’ll probably look back in five or six years at the stuff I’m writing now and cringe. It’s all part of the learning process!

      Like

      • Hehe, well perhaps it’s a matter of taste. But I really as Not A Good Writer at that age. Take my word for it 🙂

        Yes, that’s true. It’s the same way for me with drawing. I draw a picture, think it’s awesome, put it away. Then several years later, going through my work, I’m wincing and going “Wait, I DREW THAT? It’s HORRIBLE!” Writing is just the same 😛

        Like

  4. You were nine, though! You should see the stuff I cranked out as a wee widdle kid — rampant plagarizations of Little Women mixed with The Five Little Peppers and How They Grew. Later, around 10, it was take-offs of Trixie Belden. This is how we learn! By imitating, by grabbing things we like and trying to make them our own. As one of my favorite songs (“Pen to the Paper” by The Divers) says, “all poets are thieves, and every minstrel a marauder.” We just get better at hiding our tracks, that’s all.

    Like

    • Oh, you read Five Little Peppers and Trixie Belden, too??? I loved both! 🙂 (And I still think the Trixie Belden series is much better than Nancy Drew – the characters seem more realistic and, IMO, the mysteries themselves are much more interesting.) I love that quote – it’s sooo true. 🙂

      Like

      • I liked Five Little Peppers better than Little Women as a kid. I should re-read it.

        As for Trixie Belden, I have a kind cousin who is about 10 years older than I am, and she gave me nearly the entire set when she outgrew them! I definitely liked them better than Nancy Drew, though I liked the Hardy Boys better than both. But Trixie was more of a tomboy than Nancy, so more like me, and I had the biggest crush on Jim.

        Like

      • Mom had a friend who owned the whole set (she didn’t own any of the books herself) and would loan her all the books in turn, so she’s read all of them. I’ve only read the first few, ’cause that’s all we own, but I’ve really enjoyed the ones I’ve read. And YES, Jim is great. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

