the bedtime movie tag

Create your best Minion! #lumidough #letitglow:

Hamlette tagged me a short time ago, so here’s the post! (I think my “I don’t do tags” attitude is going down the drain, though I still don’t like tags where you have to share a bunch of random facts about yourself.  I only enjoy ones that are about movies or books or TV shows.)  I’ve got multiple answers for some of the questions and I do talk about TV shows a bit, too.  Rules are made to be broken, right?

1.) A movie that kept you up all night

Best Years of Our Lives is a 1946 American drama film directed by William Wyler and starring Fredric March, Myrna Loy, Dana Andrews, Teresa Wright, Virginia Mayo, and Harold Russell. The film is about three United States servicemen trying to piece their lives   back together after coming home from World War II.:

Okay, there was this one time when my brothers and I pulled an all-nighter and watched about five movies all in one night/early morning – we were exhausted the next day, but it was soooo worth it.  Only I don’t remember any of the movies we watched.  I haven’t stayed up all night watching just one movie (how would that work anyway?) but there have been some films that have taken me up to one in the morning.  The Longest Day, for example.  Last New Year’s Eve, I watched Meet The Robinsons and Combat! with my cousins and siblings.  And The Best Years of Our Lives and Exodus have both kept me glued to the screen for several hours.

2.) A movie that made you scared to sleep

Indiana Jones et la dernière croisade Grail Knight acte de foi peinture Print:

First of all, a scary film wouldn’t make me afraid to go to sleep – I’d want to go to sleep to forget what I’d seen if I ever watched one.  It’s getting up in the middle of the night and having to traverse through the old, creaky house to go to the bathroom that’d scare me half to death.  But as a rule, I don’t watch stuff that scares me.  There’ve been a few episodes of Murdoch Mysteries that were a bit freaky, and a couple scenes in the Indiana Jones films made a negative impression on me (particularly from Temple of Doom), but nothing really sticks out.  I don’t watch horror movies.

3.) A movie that made you go to sleep

Disney Illustrators:

Disney’s Pinocchio. *yawns*  It’s the only movie that I’ve legitimately fallen asleep while watching.  Soooo boring.

4.) A movie that left you tossing and turning all night in anticipation of its release

I don’t go to see movies when they come out in theatres, but there’ve been three films that I’ve eagerly anticipated the DVD release of, and I mean eagerly.  Like, ‘hugging the case when I get it’ eagerly.  And those three would be Les Miserables, Unbroken, and Captain America: The Winter Soldier.  Ugggggh.  I have a penchant for completely depressing stories, as you can see.  All three of those 1) lived up to my expectations + exceeded them and 2) made me cry tons.

5.) A movie that has your dream boyfriend/girlfriend ship of two separate movies

There aren’t enough bricks in the world. | Community Post: 17 Struggles Of Having An OTP:

Like Hamlette, I’ve crossed out the first part of the question, otherwise it doesn’t make any sense.  But it doesn’t really matter anyway, ’cause I hate inter-movie shipping.  Like Elsa and Loki. (What on earth???)  Anyway, most of the fictional characters I like are already in love with someone who’s perfect for them, so what’s the point of me breaking up a perfectly good ship?  I honestly can’t think of any two characters from different films that I’d ship.

6.) A movie that would be your worst nightmare to live in

The Manchurian Candidate (1962) (This scene terrified me when I first saw this movie.):

The Manchurian Candidate (older version – haven’t seen the re-make).  Because of all those murders and mind-control and the creepy music and the red queens and it’s so depressing and hopeless and I’d hate to be trapped in it and be any of the characters.  Nobody’s safe!  It’s an excellent film, but a horrible one to live in.

7.) A movie that reminds you of nighttime

https://lisathatcher.files.wordpress.com/2014/05/the-bourne-identity-2002-720p-hddvd-x264-mkv_000524482.jpeg?w=640

Combat!, for starters.  Whenever it’s the girls’ night to pick something to watch, Elisabeth and I usually chose C! and it’s awesome.  We get our snack and sit down and keep a running commentary on whatever episode we decide on for that night, because we’ve seen most of them lots of times so we can talk through it all.  Or we just squeal a lot and Noah and Ezra just roll their eyes. 😉  As for movies, there a great film noir called Somewhere In The Night that we watched recently and it always reminds me of nighttime, probably because the exciting climax takes place in the dead of night.  Oh, and The Bourne Identity, which Elisabeth and I watched in a hotel room while snuggled up in blankets, fangirling over Matt Damon.  Good times…

8.) A movie that has a nightmarish cliffhanger

Alfred Hitchcock’s The Birds.  It ended and I was staring at the screen with my mouth hanging open.  “That can’t be the ending!  We need closure!”  Just like Hitchcock to leave everyone hanging like that.  Of course, it’s a better ending than the one he originally had planned, where they make it to the Golden Gate Bridge, only to find it completely covered with birds. *shudders*  Seriously, though, the ending threw me for a loop.

9.) A movie you actually dreamed about

164. The Ox-Bow Incident (1943) Sheriff: God better have mercy on you. You won't get any from me.:

A couple nights after I watched The Ox-Bow Incident for the first time, I had an awful, vivid dream about it where I was one of the people in the mob and even though I knew the lynching was completely, totally wrong I didn’t stand up and say or do anything about it.  When I woke up, I had a wicked headache and a horrid, lingering sense of guilt for the next couple of days (no, really, it was that long – it stuck with me for quite a while) until I wrote some alternate-ending fanfiction and started seeing Dana in other films.

10.) A movie monster you would not want to find under your bed

Ughhh the lizard mutt  | Mockingjay part 2 OFFICIAL trailer stills:

I know Mockingjay Part 2 hasn’t come out yet, but I’m going to say the lizard mutts all the same, because like I said, I don’t watch horror movies and none of the other mutts (or the Grievers in The Maze Runner) have been ghastly enough to qualify, in my opinion.  The lizard mutts look appropriately terrifying and repellent.

~

This was lots of fun!  Thanks for tagging me, Hamlette. 🙂  And as for tagging other people, if you’re eating/drinking something right now, consider yourself tagged – though only if you want to do this, of course. (If you don’t have a blog, by the way, feel free to answer in the comments.)

Eva

8 thoughts on “the bedtime movie tag

  1. Pingback: the bedtime movie tag. | inklings press

  2. Elsa and Loki? What even?

    I haven’t seen the remake of The Manchurian Candidate either, but I would kinda like to cuz Denzel Washington. The original is sooooo good. Poor Tom Lowell 😦

    Yeah, the ending of The Birds is super creepy. Yuck.

    Like

    • Elski has a huge fanbase. I don’t get it, honestly. 😛

      I had no idea Tom Lowell had a part in TMC, so it was neat to see him in something other than C!…and then awful. 😦

      Like

      • Tom also has a tiny role in one of my favorite comedies, Mr. Hobbs Takes a Vacation. And he doesn’t get shot or killed or hurt in anyway! He’s only in one scene, though. He’s got a major role in That Darn Cat and is adorable. And he’s in one of my favorite eps of The Big Valley. I think those are the only other non-C! things I’ve seen him in. TMC is the worst because he’s basically Billy Nelson, so it’s just harrowing to a fan.

        Like

  3. Huh–I was pretty sure I commented on this, but I don’t see it here 🙂 What I MEANT to say was, my Conspiracy Theories professor showed us the opening scene of “The Manchurian Candidate” in class the other week, and it freaked me out 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

