nanowrimo 2015: week 3

So, for the past couple of days, I was about this close to giving up on my novel, NaNoWriMo, and writing in general – it was awful.  Much of the problem stemmed from the fact that plot holes abound in my story and I was sick and tired of not being able to plot out a sensible story.  Plus my dialogue was terrible.  Plus my characters weren’t coming out on paper like they are in my head.  PLUS Louis L’Amour and O. Henry and a bunch of other brilliant authors write westerns that are a hundred times better + more accurate than any I could ever hope to write.  I know I shouldn’t compare myself to anyone else.  I know it, but it’s so hard.

BUT.

I still love my characters.  And my story.  And my novel in general.  And, come on, it’s only the first draft.  I think I need to learn to cut myself some slack.

Anyway, the word count has still been going up steadily, as you can see.  Saturday ended up being one of my best word count days, despite the fact that every word I wrote felt like garbage and I hated everything about writing.  I guess pushing on anyway was a good thing, but by the end, all I wanted to do was eat Oreos and watch Combat! for hours.  But I only have about 6,000 words left to write now, which is great, since I want to be done NaNo by the 27th because we’re having company over and they’ll be taking over my bedroom. 😛  (Not that I really mind, though – they’re awesome folks.)  (I probably won’t be posting a NaNo wrap-up post until after the LMM Week, though.)

By the way, if anyone reading this right now is depressed about their writing like I was, whatever you do, DON’T DELETE ANYTHING.  I haven’t actually done that when I’ve been in one of my slumps, but I’ve considered it and now the thought makes me shudder.  Just walk away, take a nap, watch a funny movie, bake a chocolate cake, go for a walk, hang out with your pet (playing with animals lowers your stress levels a LOT), etc., but don’t delete or edit anything.  Trust me, it’s a recipe for disaster.

Anyway, I’m hoping that I don’t have go through One of Those Days again (at least for a while) because, after all, I love my story as much as Clint Eastwood loves squirrels.

Eva

14 thoughts on “nanowrimo 2015: week 3

  1. So glad you didn’t delete anything!!! You gave some great ideas for what to do instead of deleting anything. (I’ll have to try to bake a cake next time.)

    And, yeah, I’ve had those days when I think that there’s always going to be a story that’s better than mine. The only thing I’ve come up with that can combat that is the fact that God placed the story idea on your heart so He wants you to write it, right? He’ll help you finish it. (But I still feel like my story ideas would be better in someone else’s hands… LOL.)

    hugs!
    -Ashley-

    PS: YOUR WORD COUNT LOOKS AMAZING! Mine is always like 2k below the average ’til the last days. LOL.

    Like

  2. I am dying over that picture of Clint Eastwood and the squirrel. It may take me several days to recover.

    I AGREE, playing with animals helps tremendously to lower your stress! I don’t know about *their* stress, but….;-P

    Good luck! 🙂

    Like

    • Hehe. That was pretty much my reaction when I saw it. 😉

      My grandparents (who live with my family now) have a lovely cat that purrs and purrs all the time, and it’s always relaxing to pet her. She’s my go-to when I feel depressed.

      Like

  3. Awwwwwwwwww.

    (meaning, the squirrel and Clint Eastwood 🙂 )

    Good luck with the rest of NaNoWriMo! You can do it–you’ve got lots of talent and you’re almost done!

    Like

    • It’s adorable, isn’t it? ❤

      Well, I woke up this morning with a bad cold, and I know from experience that being sick brings my motivation down to about zero, but I'll see what I can do anyway. 🙂

      Like

      • Oh, no–I’m sorry! I know exactly how that is; I never want to do ANYTHING when I’m sick like that.
        Here are two really funny videos that might help–I don’t know if you’ve ever seen them, but they always make me laugh 🙂 They’re McDonald’s ads for their spicy chicken wings:


        Like

      • Well, thanks to everyone’s encouraging comments, I ended up writing 4.5K yesterday and winning NaNoWriMo! So I’m pretty happy. 🙂

        Loved those ads, by the way.

        Like

Leave a Reply

