lucy maud montgomery week: intro + the tag!

Welcome to the Lucy Maud Montgomery Week, everyone!

Today is LMM’s birthday.  (And it was Louisa May Alcott’s birthday yesterday – funny coincidence, that.)  So join me in celebrating the birthday of one of the world’s most beloved authors in this week long party, because it’s going to be amazing.  Goodness, I’m soooo excited for all the awesomeness that this week will hold.  There’ll be guests posts and lots of posts written by myself, too, and OODLES of fangirling, and a giveaway (which I’ll be posting about later on today).  This promises to be an unforgettable week, and the festivities start with a tag. 

Feel free to answer these tag questions on your blog (if you do that, please share the link – I’d love to read your answers and I might not see them otherwise) or in the comments section, whichever you prefer.  I’ll be answering these questions myself later on this week. 

  • How did you first discover LMM’s books?
  • What’s your favorite LMM book? 
  • What’s your least favorite LMM book?
  • Who is your favorite character in allllll of LMM’s works?
  • What couple is your favorite?
  • What is your favorite quote from LMM (either a quote from one of her books, or from her personal life)?
  • How many LMM books have you read?
  • Which LMM book would you most like to see made into a movie?
  • Have you found a kindred spirit?

Have fun! 🙂

Eva

36 thoughts on “lucy maud montgomery week: intro + the tag!

  1. YAY IT HAS BEGUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUN!!!!! *jumps up and down*

    And it was C.S.Lewis’ birthday yesterday, too! Goodness, all these family authors have their birthday around the same time. (Isn’t it Jane Austen’s birthday somewhere in the beginning of December?)

    I will complete the tag soon, and to the last question: YES OF COURSE. You, to start with. 😀

    ~ Naomi

    Like

  2. Have you seen the Google homepage this morning? WHAT. EVEN.

    Okay. Tag:
    1. My mom told me about them.
    2. RILLA OF INGLESIDE.
    3. Mmmmmmm . . . Anne’s House of Dreams. Too much stuff going on in dat dere book (for my taste, anyways 😉 )
    4. Ellen West in Rainbow Valley. She Bothers Me. Greatly.
    5. Rilla and Ken. They’re just so CUTE.
    6. I have two. Here they are: “I will not say it is a judgment upon him because I am not in the counsels of the Almighty.” (Right ho, Susan.)
    And of course, this one: ” ‘Why not?’ briefly demanded the founder of the Junior Red Cross and transporter of babies in soup tureens.” (Makes me grin every time.)
    7. Uh . . . 5 or so? I’ve read most of the Anne books, and none of the others.
    8. RILLA OF INGLESIDE.
    9. Yes. A bunch of them. I’ve been really lucky 🙂 (My sister Rosie, of course, is right at the top of the list.)

    Like

      • I do! It’s my favorite of all her books, by FAR. It’s just so powerful.

        Oh, dear–I just realized you asked for “favorite character,” not LEAST favorite, like I thought. I guess I would have to go with Susan, like Rosie said. I just love her soooooooooooo much. Although maybe Rilla is my favorite too? I just don’t know. Maybe I have two favorites. 😉

        Like

      • I think ‘powerful’ is a great word to describe RoI. I don’t like reading it too often because I don’t want its effect to wear off/become commonplace.

        Seems like Susan is everyone’s favorite. 🙂 She’s SUCH a fun character.

        Like

  3. I think I’ll skip the tag questions… seeing as I, uh *cough* haven’t ever read the LMM books. 😄

    Eva, you’ve GOT to go on Google’s homepage today – it’s LMM themed!!!

    Like

  4. Pingback: Lucy Maud Montgomery Tag | De Mon Esprit!

  5. YES!!! I don’t have much free time to spare this week, but goodness I have to do this because Montgomery is my favorite! So excited to see all the Montgomery loveliness this week! I’ll do the tag when I can ^_^

    Oh, it was CS Lewis’s birthday? He’s another favorite. Mere Christianity is one of the best books of all time! 🙂

    Like

  6. Happy Birthday Lucy Maud Montgomery!

    Okay: TAG ANSWERS.

    How did you first discover LMM’s books? – My sister brought Rilla of Ingleside home from the library and let me read it.
    What’s your favorite LMM book? – Rilla of Ingleside 😛
    What’s your least favorite LMM book? – I really don’t know.
    Who is your favorite character in allllll of LMM’s works? – Susan, from Rilla of Ingleside. Just hilarious!
    What couple is your favorite? – Rilla and Ken.
    What is your favorite quote from LMM (either a quote from one of her books, or from her personal life)? –

    ‘Rilla went out to the kitchen, shut all the doors with a mysterious expression which alarmed Susan, and then said solemnly, “Susan, can you make a wedding-cake this afternoon?”
    “A wedding-cake!” Susan stared. Rilla had, without any warning, brought her a war-baby once upon a time. Was she now, with equal suddenness, going to produce a husband? Susan felt that she was really too old to be subjected to such shocks.
    “Who are you going to marry, Rilla?” she asked feebly.
    “Susan, darling, I am not the happy bride . . .”‘

    I just love that part 🙂

    How many LMM books have you read? – Rilla of Ingleside, and most of the Anne series.
    Which LMM book would you most like to see made into a movie? – Rilla of Ingleside.
    Have you found a kindred spirit? – My sister? Does that count? 😛

    Like

    • I see you love Rilla of Ingleside lots. 🙂 I do, too. (Probably more than is socially acceptable, actually.)

      Of COURSE your sister counts! My sister is definitely the most kindred spirit-est friend I have. 🙂

      Like

      • Haha, me too 🙂

        OH YAY! My sister counts as a kindred spirit. Joy shall be unconfined 🙂 It was funny, I posted my comment naming her as a kindred spirit, when separately and unknown to me, she’d done the same thing! I guess we really are 😀

        Like

  7. Oh, this is such a great idea for a blog event!

    How did you first discover LMM’s books?- I have no idea how or when we got it, but as a little girl of eight or so we had a kid’s chapter book version of Anne of Green Gables that I remember reading. I didn’t start exploring Montgomery’s other works until I was about thirteen.

    What’s your favorite LMM book?- Don’t ask me! I do love Anne of Green Gables, The Blue Castle, and Rilla of Ingleside.

    What’s your least favorite LMM book?- Magic for Marigold. It just wasn’t very good or engaging at all.

    Who is your favorite character in allllll of LMM’s works?- SUSAN BAKER. haha, probably Anne, although I love all of her various and interesting side characters (Miss Cornelia! Phil Gordon! Rachel Lynde!)

    What couple is your favorite? probably Anne and Gilbert.

    What is your favorite quote from LMM (either a quote from one of her books, or from her personal life)? Anything that comes out of Susan Baker’s mouth is a favorite.

    How many LMM books have you read?- 20 of her novels (I believe I only have 2 more to go before I’ve read them all!) and I’m pretty sure I’ve read all of her short stories. (In fact, I just did a blog post on all of her short stories here: http://haydenwand.blogspot.com/2015/11/the-short-stories-of-lm-montgomery.html)

    Which LMM book would you most like to see made into a movie? I really need a Blue Castle movie…but I also really need a Rilla movie, too.

    and I have found a few kindred spirits in my life 😉

    Like

  8. Pingback: // “the way to fairyland” – l.m. montgomery tag // | A Portrait of Grace

Leave a Reply

