guest post: ‘seven things I love about Jane of Lantern Hill’

“Seven Things I Love About Jane of Lantern Hill

by Naomi

Jane of Lantern Hill is probably in my top five Lucy Maud Montgomery books, straight after Rilla of Ingleside, Anne of Green Gables, The Blue Castle and The Story Girl. I love it. It’s simple; it’s beautiful; it’s magical, like all of her stories. Here is a list of things I love about this book.

  1. Lucy Maud Montgomery dedicated this novel to one of her beloved cats, called Lucky. Isn’t she Lucky? I love it when authors do clever ‘dedications’ in the beginning of novels – it’s just so funny and awesome and original. I don’t know if I’ve ever read a book dedicated to a cat! (No wait. I have. Jane of Lantern Hill.)  This is what it says. “To the Memory of “Lucky” – The charming affectionate comrade of fourteen years.” Awww. I don’t know about you, but I just love that. (And I’m not even a cat-person. This says a lot, people.)

  1. The story ends happily. And not just ‘oh nice, that’s nice’-happy. I mean really, almost cry-happy. I believe I have cried reading this. I love books where it ends with a happy family all together. You know… the cosiness, and the fuzzy feelsies? Montgomery does write that kind of stuff well.  (Ahhh, Jane so deserves her parents together. The sweet girl.)

  1. I ship Jane’s parents so hard. And when they’re finally together at the end… just squeeness. I love the last chapter way to much.  “Jane,” said dad, “two foolish people have learned a little wisdom.”  “It was all my fault that we didn’t learn it long ago,” said mother. There was a sound of tears in her voice and a sound of laughter.

  1. Jane is an amazingly lovely heroine. She’s really kind; but she’s also imaginative and she has backbone. I love when she finds a place for Jody in Prince Edwards Island; when she learns to cook; when she discovers that the Bible is an amazing book; when she overcomes her fear of cows; etc. I love Jane.

  1. I love it when Jane looks after her father. It’s so adorable and cute.  “Jane dropped asleep again and had a terrible dream that she couldn’t find the onions and dad’s socks with the blue toes that needed mending.”

  1. I looooove Jane and Jody’s friendship. DID YOU KNOW. Lucy Maud Montgomery started to write a sequel called ‘Jane and Jody’, but she never completed it. I want to read what she wrote! I insist upon reading her unfinished manuscript. Because Jane and Jody are basically the most adorable bosom friends ever; I love them almost as much as Anne and Diana. (*Sobs over unfinished manuscript*)

  1. Another thing I love about this book is, of course, the setting. Prince Edwards Island. The Lantern Hill. The fields. I WANT TO GO THERE. As usual, Lucy Maud Montgomery puts the most thrilling descriptions everywhere.

There is a movie of this book, but I think it looks, frankly, terrible. Spooky. This book is NOT spooky. The book is cosy. I really want a movie. Isabella Allen, I think, would make a fantastic Jane, Keely Hawes just IS Robin, the mum, and I think Matthew Goode would make an amazing dad. 🙂

Thank you for allowing me to guest post, Eva! I really enjoyed it. People, have you read Jane of Lantern Hill?

12 thoughts on “guest post: ‘seven things I love about Jane of Lantern Hill’

  1. Noooooo . . . I haven’t read this. But it’s almost as good as Rilla of Ingleside? Then I do believe I must try it. Jane sounds like a darling girl.

    Like

  2. Hi fellow book lover! I just wanted to say that I really enjoyed reading your post! To say it is great (not just this post, all of yours!) is an understatement. You are really talented (:
    Because of how much I loved this post I had to check out your blog and I couldn’t help but follow you because your blog is both amazing and beautiful! I am so happy I came across your blog and I can’t wait to read more from you, keep it up (:
    By the way this comment is towards all of your blog posts because they are all equally amazing and incredible (:

    Like

Leave a Reply

