lucy maud montgomery week: my tag answers

Goodness, I can’t believe this week is almost over.  Honestly, I can’t.  I’ll save most of my thoughts for tomorrow’s wrap-up post, but let me just say that you guys have been super.  All the outpouring of love regarding LMM and her stories has been fantastic to see and it’s made me so happy. *hugs*

Anyway, here are my answers to the tag questions.

~How did you first discover LMM’s books?  When I was in seventh or eighth grade, Mom and I studied Anne of Green Gables for English Literature.  I think I might have watched the movie before then, but I don’t remember exactly, so I’m just going to say that that was my introduction.  For the longest time, AoGG was the only Montgomery book I’d read, too, until Mom persuaded me to read the other books in the series.  I’ve been reading LMM’s books ever since. (Though it hasn’t been until the last year or so that I’ve come to really love her work.)

~What’s your favorite LMM book?  I CAN’T CHOOSE.  Rilla of Ingleside and The Blue Castle are tied.  They really are.  When I’m reading one, I feel like it’s my favorite, but when I read the other, my opinion changes again.  Rilla is crammed full of some of the best literary characters ever, plus it’s set during WWI, plus it’s just the right blend of humor and heartbreak.  And Blue Castle is enchanting, in every way.  So they’re both my favorite. 

~What’s your least favorite LMM book?  The Blythes Are Quoted.  Admittedly, I only skimmed this one, but it was put together so oddly and the characterizations were horrible (except for Susan) and, if I remember correctly, LMM completely changes her opinion on what Walter’s death meant and what war means in general, so overall, it’s a very cynical, depressing book. (And not depressing in a good way, like RoI.)

~Who is your favorite character in allllll of LMM’s works?  Why did I ask this question???  I don’t even know the answer!  I relate to Rilla tons, though, so I suppose she can suffice for a proper answer.  But I also like Barney and Jane’s mother and father and Anne and Gilbert and all the Blythe and Meredith children and SO many others.  I couldn’t list them all.

~What couple is your favorite?  BARNEY AND VALANCY FOREVER AND EVER.

~What is your favorite quote from LMM (either a quote from one of her books, or from her personal life)?  I’m going to go with a well-known one that has been vastly encouraging to me on more than one occasion: “Isn’t it nice to think that tomorrow is a new day with no mistakes in it yet?”  I also regularly quote this one (in October, that is): “I’m so glad I live in a world where there are Octobers.”

~How many LMM books have you read?  The whole Anne series (including The Blythes Are Quoted), The Blue Castle, The Story Girl, The Golden Road, Kilmeny of the Orchard, Jane of Lantern Hill – fourteen books in all!  I still have a lot to read, as you can see.  Any suggestions as to where I should begin?

~Which LMM book would you most like to see made into a movie?  I’ll second everyone else’s answer to this question by saying Rilla of Ingleside and The Blue Castle.  Actually, if done right, I’d like to see the entire Anne series made into eight movies (or a miniseries), and have them build up all the way to RoI.  That would be splendid – and sad.  I’d also like to see a proper movie made of Jane of Lantern Hill.

~Have you found a kindred spirit?  YES.  My sister being at the very top of the list. 🙂

Eva

4 thoughts on “lucy maud montgomery week: my tag answers

  1. I LOVE Rilla of Ingleside. I’m so happy I know so many other people who love it, too 🙂 (And I know I’ve said this before, but I soooooooooooo want it to be made into a good movie. That would just be FANTASTIC.)

    Sisters are DA BEST. Always. 😉

    Like

  2. I love Blue Castle, but I do not think even an excellent movie could capture it right. I would like all of the Anne novels properly re-done though!

    Like

Leave a Reply

