christmas at stalag 17: inklings exploration link-up {december 2015}

Interested in joining in? Go here for more details!

Not only is Stalag 17 one of my favorite movies EVER, but it also happens to be one of my favorite Christmas movies – I watch it every December.  It may not look like an obvious candidate for the title of ‘Christmas movie’, but the story takes place around Christmas time, there are several Christmas-y scenes, and if I’m not mistaken, the thrilling conclusion takes place on Christmas Day. (Everything from when the POWs jump the Germans and get Dunbar to the final, whistled notes of ‘When Johnny Comes Marching Home Again’, I believe.)  So, in my opinion, it’s a Christmas movie.

There are a few other scenes I could’ve chosen to focus on, but the one that always comes immediately to mind whenever I think of Stalag 17, the one that always moves me to tears, is the scene where all the POWs sing ‘Oh Come, All Ye Faithful’, ringed around the tiny Christmas tree that they decorated with their dog-tags and a few candle stubs, and ‘the gang’ gives Joey a new ocarina.  I love, love, love that part.

Now to illustrate the scene with some screenshots…

Duke leaves Sefton after making off with all the wine he’d stockpiled. Poor Sefton – not really because of his locker being ransacked, but because I don’t believe that anyone should be left alone and friendless during Christmas. (On a side note, the thing he’s looking at is The Lightbulb.  Already starting to put everything together. Clever, clever…)

You’ll notice that I love this group shot so much that I have a similar one on my blog header. Yes, some of them are jerks and one of them is a traitor, but for the most part, I like these guys a lot.

“Here’s a present for you, Joey…” (Gotta smile at how all those guys in the background are so eager/happy to see Joey get a present. *happy tears*)

''Merry Christmas to Joey from the Gang.''

“Merry Christmas
to Joey from the Gang.” (Ugh, I have soooo many feels about Joey.  It hurts.)

I love how they’re so excited about getting him to play it AND the fact that music is one thing that Joey can really hold on to. (Also, Mom and I have a theory that Joey knew who the traitor was, but was unable to tell anyone.  Thoughts?)

AWWWWWWWW. Happy (and sad) feels all around. (And then that stupid fake air raid had to come along and ruin everything. Grrrrr.)

This is such a little scene, but also a powerful one that illustrates the spirit of Christmas.  Which is why I love it – and why it’s my favorite moment in the entire film.

Eva

10 thoughts on “christmas at stalag 17: inklings exploration link-up {december 2015}

  1. I hadn’t heard of this movie, but your highlighted scene’s fascinating (I can feel the emotion just looking at the screenshots) and now I’m off to go look it up. Thanks and I’m so glad you were able to join in! 🙂

    Like

    • I hope you get a chance to watch it sometime soon (and that you enjoy it) – there’s plenty of good twists and turns, which make the film endlessly entertaining. 🙂 Thanks for hosting Inklings Exploration in the first place. It was my first time joining in, and I’m sure I’ll be participating in months to come. 🙂

      Like

  2. I just watched this movie recently for the first time and oohhh mmyy, it became a new instant favorite. Yes–Joey!!!! -sniff- I totally concur on that theory about him knowing who the traitor was. Poor Joey. 😦 But they gave him a new instrument and that made me so happy! 😀

    Like

  3. Pingback: a very merry tag | coffee, classics, & craziness

Leave a Reply

