my top thirty favorite movies

Wow.  I can’t believe I’m actually doing this list, because I have tons and tons and TONS of favorite movies, so narrowing them down to a relative few always seemed like The Impossible Chore.  But then I saw this post on The Second Sentence and it inspired me to do a list of my own – as it turned out, thirty movies was pretty much the perfect number: not too few, not too many.  For the sake of time, I’ll just be doing a bare list without any commentary whatsoever, but I hope my choices will spark discussions (and fangirling) in the comments.  And now for the list!

(Literally in no order.)

// Stalag 17 //

// The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly //

// State Fair //

// The Magnificent Seven //

// Singin’ In The Rain //

// Laura //

// Saving Mr. Banks //

// Saints & Soldiers //

// Robin Hood (Disney version) //

// Meet The Robinsons //

// Gone With The Wind //

// True Grit //

// The Best Years of Our Lives //

// Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade //

// Captain America: The First Avenger //

// The Tin Star //

// The Great Escape //

// Friendly Persuasion //

// Strangers on a Train //

// Roman Holiday //

// High Noon //

// Casablanca //

// Mister Roberts //

// The Longest Day //

// The Glenn Miller Story //

// 12 Angry Men //

// White Christmas //

// Ocean’s 11 //

// To Kill A Mockingbird //

// Little Women //

Do you spot any of your favorites on this list?

Eva

16 thoughts on “my top thirty favorite movies

  1. I love White Christmas and was just wondering about watching A Friendly Persuasion. I have a hard time picking favorites overall though. I could pick favorites in a genre. I need to watch Singing in the Rain again; I have not seen in over half a decade.

    Like

    • Well, there should be a lot of Dana – I’ve watched about twenty of his movies this year, so at least a few of them had to make the top thirty. 😉

      Yes, yes, and YES. You totally should. Our whole family loves it (with the exception of Dad, who hasn’t seen it – yet), and Mom isn’t usually all that impressed with animated movies, so that says a lot. I’m sure your kids would enjoy it, too.

      Like

  2. CAPTAIN AMERICA THE FIRST AVENGER!!!

    Okay, okay, I’ll calm down . . . I just love Cap, though. He’s possibly my favorite male movie character ever–certainly one of my top three. (The other two are David Morrissey’s Colonel Brandon, and Finn from “Star Wars: The Force Awakens.” And yes, I know I only juuuuuuussst saw Finn for the first time two weeks ago, but he’s still made my top three. The dude is Seriously Awesome.)

    But getting back to Cap . . . he’s my baby, pretty much, and I am NOT looking forward to “Civil War” next spring. No. I am not. I’ll probably go see it anyway, just ’cause, but it will not be fun.

    Like

  3. These look cool! I’ve actually NEVER SEEN ANY OF THEM. No, I’m not kidding. But I’ve seen clips of some of them, I have. 🙂

    Oh, by the way, have you seen Emma 2009? If you have, I think you’d really like the fanvideo I made for it the other day 🙂

    Like

    • Wow, I can’t believe you haven’t seen any of these. 🙂 Hope you get a chance to sometime soon! And, yes, I’ve seen Emma 2009 – I’ll check out your fanvid the next time I get a minute. 🙂

      Like

  4. Alrighty, be prepared for a list from me…
    Stalag 17 — I want to see it, after reading your previous post on it. I’ve seen parts of “The Magnificent Seven” while my brother was watching it. “Singin’ in the Rain” looks so deliciously charming! And I now want to see “Saints & Soldiers” and “Gone With the Wind”. I’ve saw “True Grit”, but the older version with John Wayne.
    “The Best Years of our Lives” is great!! Homer and Wilma get me every. single. time. That scene in the bedroom…oh, my heart! ❤ Love these two. 🙂
    "Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade" would have to count as a favorite of mine. Indy and his Dad can have me in hysterical fits of laughter within seconds!
    "Friendly Persuasion" looks sweet and I want to see "White Christmas." I've seen "The Longest Day" with my little brother as well. And "Little Women" is so darling. 😉

    ~ Faith, one of those creepy blog stalkers who's been following your delightful blog since LMM week, but has just now commented. 🙂

    Like

  5. Pingback: thirty more favorite movies | coffee, classics, & craziness

Leave a Reply

