random life stuff

 :

Life has been interesting lately, with my computer broken (I should be getting it back today, though – huzzah!), exams coming up that I’m procrastinating on to the fullest extent, and a major loss of confidence in my writing. (MAJOR, I’m telling you.)  Things haven’t been all that great so far this year, but I thought I’d write this blog post and try to focus on some of good things that have happened – I’m sure that’ll cheer me up greatly. (Though encouraging comments are more than welcome.)

~

One of the posters on the restaurant wall.

For starters, my whole family went out to a super-duper restaurant because today’s my mom’s birthday, and it’s now officially my favorite restaurant.  Not because the food is great (though it is) and not because the service is excellent (though it is), but because of the way the owners chose to decorate the place: old Hollywood style, FOR THE WIN.  They’ve got movie stills and photos of Steve McQueen, Audrey Hepburn, Clint Eastwood, Vivien Leigh and Clark Gable in Gone With The Wind, Rick and Ilsa in Casablanca, Frank Sinatra, James Cagney…it’s unbelievably awesome.  If any of you come up to visit me some time, we’re totally going there.  Just so you know.

~

Millie is hosting a fantastic giveaway over on her blog, and I urge you to check it out.  I’m not entering because I either own or am not all that interested in the prizes, but you should probably enter.  I mean, Wanted: Dead or Alive (Season 1)???  That’s an amazing TV show, folks.

~

Another event I’m promoting in this post is A Shroud of Thoughts’ 2nd Annual Favorite TV Show Episode Blogathon.  I had lots of fun with the blogathon last year, so I was pretty excited when the second one was announced.  Though there are lots of great episodes I could have featured from any number of favorite TV shows, I decided to go with Combat! again (big surprise, eh?) and talk about the episode “The Hostages”.  One of the best episodes IMO and it’s a Doc-focus.  So, yay!  It’ll be awesome.

~

Actual photo of our place. (Well, part of it.)

We’ve had lots and lots of snow over the past week (this being Canada and all) and yesterday I had a big snowball fight with most of my siblings.  Only it turned into more of a snow-shovel fight, since everyone picked up shovels and dumped all the snow they collected on whichever unlucky person got in their way.  So much fun.

~

A big part of my time lately has been spent in waiting for the mail to arrive since Elisabeth and I spent our $50 Amazon gift card quite quickly (Edith Head book for her, Jack Cavanaugh books for me) and I’m planning to do a book haul vlog (or post, if the vlog doesn’t work out) as soon as the last couple of things arrive.  I’ve also bought books at thrift stores and other bookstores (pretty much any money I get goes into books), so those’ll be included as well.  I LOVE BOOKS SO MUCH.

~

What would your thoughts be if I did one of those ‘ask me anything’ challenges?  Good idea?  Bad idea?

~

 :

One movie I really enjoyed recently that I didn’t think I would was Cinderella (2015).  I’m not the type of girl who obsesses over how she looks, swoons over beautiful gowns (though I can appreciate them), loves wearing makeup, etc.  And though I was sure I’d like Cinderella, I didn’t think it would become a favorite movie.  Well, it did.  Probably not in the top thirty, but pretty close.  Everything was gorgeous and richer and deeper than the original animated film and overall, I LOVED it. *happy sigh*

~

That’s pretty much it, guys.  I’m finding that life can be both amazing and tough at the same time, and in some ways I don’t mind it (though in some ways I do – I’ve spent a good amount of my time in tears these past few days).  I’ve got God, a family that loves me, and almost my whole life in front of me.

I’m optimistic.

Eva

18 thoughts on “random life stuff

  1. Awww, I’m sorry this has been a tough time for you! I know how you feel–Rosie and I were really sick with the flu for most of this break (juuuuuuusssst got over it, basically) and we were pretty down by the end of it. We got to watch “Tangled” a few days ago, though, and that was awesome. Also I got myself a gorgeous new music CD and that was also awesome. And my grandparents gave me Celtic Thunder’s latest album for Christmas, and that was ALSO awesome. So . . . life is good. 🙂

    I’m sure things will get better for you! I’ll try and remember to say a prayer for you 🙂 I can’t wait to hear more about your new Christmas books!

    Ohhhhhhh, yes, PLEASE do an ask-me-anything post. Those are always SUCH fun!!

    Like

    • At least I haven’t been sick – that’s something to be thankful for. 🙂 And I’m glad you and Rosie are feeling better now! Isn’t Tangled amazing??? One of my favorite animated movies ever.

      Prayers would be appreciated. 🙂 I’ve definitely been drawn closer to God through all the messy stuff that’s been going on lately, so the good outweighs the bad in a LOT of ways.

      Like

      • YES. Tangled is awesome. It’s such a feast for the eyes–all that spring-time-ish color and the gorgeous animation and RAPUNZEL’S HAIR and everything. I loved it. 🙂

        I remembered to pray for you yesterday in church–I do hope it helps 🙂

        Like

  2. That restaurant sounds GORGEOUS. I generally dislike going out to eat, but I love the sound of that one.
    THE SNOW I’M SO JEALOUS.
    Ohhhh, enjoy the books!!! I’d love another book haul vlog. 🙂 And yes – an ‘Ask me Anything’ session sounds so much fun!
    AND YES. CINDERELLAAAA. ❤

    ~ Naomi

    Like

      • Well. The reason for it are these:
        1. Waiting to get served. Like, my level of patience is terrible anyway, but it’s worse when I’m hungry.
        2. With a big family, eating out means
        a) getting stares (I don’t like that. :-D)
        b) Having to take care no-one gets lost, that no-one is too loud (because people want to eat calmly.)
        c) that everyone wants to eat something different and everyone shouts for what they want, and it’s just… annoying, sometimes. 😛
        3. It’s expensive (often.) I’m a nightmare about ‘oh, is this worth the money.’ My parents always tell me to stop thinking about money. 😛

        So yeah. There you go.
        But there have been times when I’ve really enjoyed it. And good food is my one weakness, so there definitely are CONS. That list up there sounded really negative. 😛

        ~ Naomi

        Like

      • Now that you talk about eating out that way, I can see why you don’t like it. 😛 My family doesn’t eat out all that often, so it’s a pretty unique treat for us when we do – which is probably why we all like it so much.

        Like

  3. The 2015 Cinderella surprised me too! I’m also not a “girly” girl, but wow, that movie is some kind of wonderful. Good story, well told. Mmmmmmmmm.

    A writing crisis! Oh no! Anything I can do to help? Feel free to email me if you want to unload/cry on my shoulder/seek help/vent/rant/whine/snivel. Okay, actually, no, please don’t snivel — I really don’t like sniveling. The rest, though — have at it.

    Restaurant sounds great! I love places with good decor. There was this restaurant when I was a teen that was alllll western movies, lots and lots of John Wayne. I have no idea what that place was even called because we just referred to it as “the John Wayne restaurant.” I miss that place.

    Thanks for the heads-up on the fave-TV-ep blogathon! I need to do that again too. Now to figure out what episode! Hmmm. I did C! last year, and C! is my dearest love, but this is the 50th anniversary year for the original Star Trek and I juuuuuust might have to write about it instead.

    Like

    • I just might take you up on that offer one day, but for right now I’m okay with working out my writing problems in private. But thanks! Most of them stem from the fact that everything I write seems to be flat/clichéd, and while I know that there’s no such thing as completely new ideas anymore, it would nice to feel like I’ve come up with something new-ish. Know what I mean? *sigh* Anyway, I have a few ideas for battling my lack of confidence, so I hold out hope for getting out of this slump. It’s just that the slump isn’t a lot of fun when you’re IN it. 😛

      Was the John Wayne restaurant closed down, or do you just live too far away from it now to visit?

      Just out of curiosity, if you were going to do a C! episode this year, which one would you pick?

      Like

      • I hear you there. I tend to keep my writing freak-outs pretty interior too. Pretty much any time I finish a story or novel and don’t have a new one to start right away, I am convinced I will never have a new idea worth pursuing again, or that I’ll forget how. Yeesh. I had about three weeks of that recently, after I finished RCC, just having this absolute freeze going on where I knew I wasn’t ready to start any of my next things yet, but I had no story to write, and I was convinced I had just finished off being a writer. I hate slumps like that — sometimes they go for months. It’s awful.

        As for the restaurant, both. It closed down after I went to college, so even if I lived in NC still, I couldn’t go to it anymore 😦

        If I were doing C!, I would do “The Long Way Home,” cuz it’s my 2nd-fave 🙂

        Like

  4. I’m so sorry you’ve had a rough few days, Eva! I definitely know how you feel – the end of 2015 was pretty sucky for me. (Although this week hasn’t been too great, either, especially since Alan Rickman died. : /) Hugs hugs hugs!!! I’m always here if you want to talk about anything. : )

    -Ashley-

    Like

    • *hugs back* Whenever I ever feel like I need someone to talk to you, you’re always the first person I think of, but usually I prefer not to email people when I’m reeeally down in the dumps because most of the time I end saying stuff I wish I hadn’t later on. 😛 But I’ll definitely keep you updated on how things are going in my life.

      Like

      • Aww, good! I’m so glad we have that level of friendship. : ) Hahaha, I totally understand. I’ve done that before and it’s no fun regretting stuff later! ❤

        Like

  5. That restaurant sounds GORGEOUS!! I would love to go there 😉

    I’m sorry you’ve been having a writing crisis! I know ALL ABOUT THOSE. They really are horrible. But don’t worry, it doesn’t last forever! Even though it seems like it will, you know 🙂 One thing that helps me is good music. Do you know about the singer Marlisa Punzalan? I discovered her recently and I love her music, it’s awesome when you feel down. My favorite song of her is “Stand By You.”

    I’ve had the ‘flu for basically my whole Christmas break, so I couldn’t do nearly as much as I would’ve liked to. But we watched Tangled the other day, which was amazing. And I’m entering a poster contest at our zoo, which is also fun 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

