ask me anything! {answers – part 1}

Here are my responses to your delightful questions!  I had fun answering each one (and was surprised by how many I received) – you guys are awesome. 🙂  Anyway, because there were so many and because I tend to be wordy with my answers, I’m splitting this into two parts.  Enjoy!

Katie asked…

~Favorite Disney classic? Robin Hood (1973).  Admittedly, I haven’t watched very many classic Disney films (in some ways, I prefer their modern stuff) but I adored Robin Hood (character and movie both) as a child and I must say that I still do.  The Great Mouse Detective is another little-known favorite.

~Favorite pop song? I don’t listen to popular music.  Ever.  So I’m afraid I don’t have an answer for this one.

~Have you ever met anyone famous?  Nope.  I did have a chance to meet Ramin Karimloo once, but wasn’t able to. *sad face*

jessica prescott asked…

~What’s your favorite flower?  Lilacs.  My favorite color is purple, you see, and lilacs come in all different shades of that so I love them.  (I just wish they’d stay around for more than a couple weeks.)  When my family lived on a farm for three years there was a thicket of wild lilac bushes on our property and it was gorgeous in the summer.

~What’s your favorite food?  Pizza!  I could eat it every day.  Home-made vanilla cake (with NO frosting) is a close second.

~What’s the #1 movie you have not seen yet but are Really Really Dying To See right now?  MOCKINGJAY PART 2.  The DVD release date has just been announced – March 22nd – and I’m on pins and needles waiting.  I’ve hardly seen any clips because of Youtube’s strict copyright policy, so I have no idea what it’s going to be like. (Besides epic, of course.)  I also can’t wait to see Captain America: Civil War and When The Game Stands Tall (happening this week).

~Favorite Austen novel?  Emma.  Mr Knightley is great (though he isn’t my favorite Austen hero – Colonel Brandon is) and the other characters are, too.  Plus, it’s such a fun, flirtatious, comic novel AND it has one of the best proposals in literary history.  All the others are close seconds, especially Mansfield Park. *gasps from all the Janeites*

~If you’re sad and you need some music to cheer you up, what do you listen to?  Frank Sinatra and Disney songs. 🙂

~Did you like Frozen or Tangled better? (You can say “both” if you want to.)  As it turns out, I don’t have to say ‘both’ because Tangled is the better movie, in my opinion.  Maybe it’s all the hype and practically being force-fed the movie for close to three years, but I can’t seem to warm up to Frozen (pun totally intended).  Tangled has a better heroine, better hero, a prettier color palette (purple!), and a more touching/serious story.  I did enjoy Frozen, but Tangled is still my favorite, by far.

~What does your Dream Wedding Gown look like? (If you don’t know, you can say “I don’t know.” I was just wondering.) *heads over to my Pinterest wedding board*  Something like this.  Only the top wouldn’t be lace, as I don’t care for lace, and the skirt would probably be satin or silk instead of tulle, and there wouldn’t be those lacy bits at the hem.  But that general shape/style is what I want.  Or something like this. (Again, minus the lace, but I do love the three-quarter sleeves.)

~Next time Prince Will and Duchess Kate have a baby, what do you want them to name him/her?  Boy: Alfred or Harold.  Girl: Victoria or Sophie.

~Do you mind if I ask whether you know your Myers-Briggs type, and if you do, what it is?  I hope that’s not a nosy question–and you certainly don’t have to answer if you don’t want to! I’m just . . . slightly obsessed with Myers-Briggs right now.  I don’t mind at all – I’m an ISTJ, through and through.  And now you can tell me all about myself. 😉

~Have you ever been to Prince Edward Island? (Y’know . . . because of Lucy Maud.)  Sadly, no.  The closest I’ve ever been to PEI is when my family went to Nova Scotia.  I do want to visit the Island someday, though, for obvious reasons, but meanwhile, I’ll have to make do with the fantastic LMM museum that’s about an hour’s drive from my house. (It’s set up in the house where she lived – I love the authenticity.)

Naomi asked…

~Do you watch Blimey Cow? Any favourite Messy Mondays?  I do indeed watch Blimey Cow, though I find that their newer videos aren’t half as good as the ones they put out in their earlier years.  And I have several favorites: “Seven Lies About Homeschoolers” (first one I ever saw, by the way), “The Problem With Christian Bands”, “Books vs. Movies”, “Seven Problems With Modern Music”, “How To Write A Worship Song (in five minutes or less)” (can you tell I like the music-themed ones?), “The Top 15 Christian Clichés”, “The 24 Hour Internet Cycle”, and “Saying ‘Happy Holidays’ Is A Micro-Persecution”.  And that’s just a select few.

~Do you play any musical instruments?  No.  But I love watching other people play.

~Ideally, how many kids would you want to have, if you could choose?  While I’ll be happy with any number of children, I think five would be a great number.  But I’d definitely welcome number six and seven and eight and…you get the idea.

Hamlette asked…

~What’s the funniest movie you’ve ever seen?  Tough one!  There are numerous animated movies that make me laugh LOTS, along with several live-action films (mostly older movies, ’cause most humor these days is just plain stupid), so it’s hard to narrow it down.  But I’d have to go with Robin Hood (1973) because Prince John’s interactions with Sir Hiss leave me in stitches every single time.

~What’s the saddest movie you’ve ever seen?  This one’s even tougher because I’ve seen tons and tons of sad movies.  However, I think Les Miserables (2012) takes the prize: there’s pretty much no let-up when it comes to depressing/heartbreaking scenes and my stomach twists up whenever I think about how hard it made me cry the first time.  Saving Mr. Banks would be a close second, though – still can’t think about that one without tearing up.

~What’s your favorite role from your favorite actor?  Favorite actor: James Coburn.  Favorite role of his: Britt, because of the awesomeness and coolness factor.

~From your favorite actress?  Favorite actress: Audrey Hepburn. (I’m sure everyone knows that, right?)  Favorite role of hers: Princess Ann, because I’ve only seen four films of Audrey’s and also because Ann is lovely anyway.

~Have you read any really great books about writing that have helped you a lot, or changed how you write?  Angela Hunt’s series, Writing Lessons From the Front, always challenges me and makes me ask all the good, hard questions about whatever story I’m working on – plot, characters, dialogue, everything.  Each book came up free on Kindle at different times and I was able to get almost all of them, which was great.

~Have you decorated your laptop with any decals or stickers?  No.  I prefer to keep my laptop ‘clean’.

~Are there any instances where you prefer the movie version of a story over the book version?  Only two, that I can think of at the moment.  Little Dorrit (the 2008 miniseries) is vastly superior to the book, in my opinion, particularly in its portrayal of John Chivery (and it’s easier to understand, naturally).  And Divergent (2014).  The book was a ‘meh’ read for me, but the movie brought all the best parts of it to life and I love every moment of it.

Eva

12 thoughts on “ask me anything! {answers – part 1}

  1. I don’t listen to pop either – not often at all, anyway – but I’m trying to prejudge them less than I used to. There are some good ones. But my heart lies in soundtracks, musical songs and the 40’s tunes. 😀

    “7 lies about Homeschoolers” was my introduction to Blimey Cow as well. It’s so accurate. 😀

    I want five kids too. (Just as long as it’s not one or two. 😀 I want at least three if I do have kids.)

    I agree on Little Dorrit – the book didn’t capture my attention at all (it was also far too long. :-P)

    ~ Naomi

    Like

  2. Ohhhhhh . . . lilacs . . . Yes, those are some of my favorite flowers, too! They’re just so delicate and sweet-looking, and they’re PURPLE–what’s not to like? 😉

    Colonel Brandon IS the best Austen hero. Period. I wish he got more “good press” in the fandom–I feel like he’s ignored a bit too much, you know what I mean?

    Mansfield Park!! I love that one too 🙂 It’s got my favorite Austen heroine EVER (Fanny Price), so obviously I’m pretty attached to it . . . On the other hand, I don’t read it terribly often because it’s too painful for me, feeling everything that Fanny has to go through.

    Interesting! See, I actually loved Frozen better than Tangled (even though I really liked Tangled and thought it was a beautiful movie). I think it’s because the story is more appealing for me, personally . . . I like Kristoff much better than Flynn (sorry!) and I’m also really drawn to the whole Anna/Elsa story because I find I can relate to it extremely well. I do love Rapunzel, but I find it a bit harder to relate to her, for some reason . . .

    Oh, and another big reason why I didn’t enjoy Tangled quite so much was Mother Gothel. MOTHER GOTHEL DRIVES ME ABSOLUTELY INSANE. Next time I watch it, I’m going to skip all her scenes. I AM NOT KIDDING. I just cannot watch/listen to her. It’s too painful. (Note: This is not because Disney did a bad job with her character, because they didn’t–she’s quite well-drawn and realistic. It’s BECAUSE she’s so realistic that she plays havoc with my personal feelings. Literally, ever time she comes onscreen, I want to strangle her. And it’s not a fun feeling.)

    ISTJ–oh, cool! That makes perfect sense 🙂 I figured you probably used Si and Fi, but I wasn’t sure what order they were in . . . I’m an INFJ myself, and Rosie’s an INTJ.

    Like

    • Mother Gothel is the worst. I hate her. There’s tons of debate over whether or not she really loved Rapunzel, but I’m sure that she didn’t. She used her hair, emotionally abused and manipulated her…UGH.

      Like

      • No. She did NOT love Rapunzel. At all. That is completely obvious and should never be a subject of debate. *glares fiercely at World In General*

        Like

  3. I like Robin Hood too 🙂

    Oh, those wedding gowns are pretty! I like three-quarter length sleeves too 🙂 I think right now my favorite sort of wedding dress is the one in Cinderella 2015, which may or may not have something to do with the fact that I just watched it. 😛 (And loved it to PIECES!!)

    I got Tangled for Christmas and watched it and it was SO AMAZING!!! But I haven’t watched Frozen, so I can’t compare. 😛

    Like

  4. I TOTALLY AGREE with your comment about Tangled being better than Frozen and one of the possible reasons. Except that you enjoyed Frozen. I didn’t… hardly at all. Loved the costumes (besides Elsa’s ice dress), though.

    Like

  5. Ooooh, I’ve never heard of Angela Hunt’s books, but they do look interesting — I’ll have to see if the library has any! Or if I can get one on my Kindle app…

    I asked about laptop decals cuz I have the silhouettes of the Fellowship of the Ring on mine, but alas, some of the tiny parts are starting to wear off, so eventually I’ll have to replace it, and was curious as to what other people have 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

