ask me anything! {answers – part 2}

Sorry about the lateness of this post, guys, but it was unavoidable.  My parents went away for the weekend and left me in charge which meant that there wasn’t a lot of time for writing blog posts.  But they’re back now and I’m back, ready to answer the rest of your questions.  LET’S DO THIS.

Rosie McCann asked…

~If you could spend the day with any three fictional persons, who would they be, and what sort of things would you do with them?  That’s both an great question and a tough one.  Do you know how many fictional characters I want to meet just so I can hug them and/or tell them how much they’ve impacted my life?  Sooooo many.  However, I’m not going to mention any of them because I’d probably be incapable of carrying on any kind of coherent conversation with said characters and it would get super awkward.  After a lot of deep thought (seriously, I spent way too much time thinking about this), I’ve decided on Combeferre from Les Miserables (preferably Killian Donelly’s portrayal from the 2012 movie), Melanie from Gone With the Wind, and Jo from Little Women.  Because we’re all bookworms (and Jo’s a writer as well) so we’d have tons of fun talking about books and popping into the numerous bookstores scattered around near where I live and it would be amazing.

~Are you afraid of heights at all?  Nope.  At least, I don’t think so.  I’ve never really been on a bridge or building that was fantastically high, but I don’t think I’d be the kind of person to faint or throw up if I was on, say, a suspension bridge.

~Are you a morning person, or a night owl?  Night owl, all the way.  I hate getting up in the morning but I can stay up ’til past midnight without it bothering me at all the next day. *fist-pump*

~Do you make picture collages and/or song playlists for your stories/characters?  Do Pinterest boards count as ‘picture collages’?  I’ve gotten back to doing story boards, though I keep them all private (sorry).  Occasionally, I’ll do collages for a story but I’ve never done one for a character.  And I don’t do playlists – lately, however, I’ve taken to picking a specific soundtrack for each story (for instance, my current WIP was inspired by the soundtrack for True Grit – 2010 version).

~If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would you go and why?  Ireland.  Because it’s gorgeous and it will always have a special place in my heart (for various reasons).  I’d also like to visit every US state just to say that I have.

~Favorite Broadway musical?  LES MISÉRABLES.  Greatest musical ever, in my opinion.  The epic sweep of the story, all the fantastic characters, the rich orchestrations, amazing lyrics…it all comes together to create an unforgettable experience.  First exposure to it was the 10th Anniversary Concert and I’ve never looked back.

~What would you say was your best moment in your whole life, up to now?  That day in early September of 2006 when I gave my heart and life to Jesus Christ.  Best day of my life. (Unfortunately, I neglected to record the exact date, but at least I know the approximate time frame.)  Also, the day I saw Les Misérables live (October 23rd, 2013) was pretty awesome.

Eowyn/Ashley asked…

~Have you ever seen any of the Winnie the Pooh movies (specifically the newest one that came out in 2011) and what are your thoughts on them? Favorite character?  I’ve seen almost every Winnie the Pooh movie ever – The Many Adventures of Winnie the Pooh, Piglet’s Big Movie, The Tigger Movie, Pooh’s Grand Adventure: The Search for Christopher Robin, Pooh’s Heffalump Movie, and the 2011 Winnie the Pooh.  I love them all LOTS, though I haven’t seen any of them recently.  My favorite movie is definitely the original and my favorite character would either be Eeyore (*gives him alllll the hugs*) or Piglet (I love how he’s such a loyal friend to Pooh).

~What are three good books you’ve read lately?  Shane by Jack Schaefer (in prep for Hamlette’s read-along), Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein, and The Patriots by Jack Cavanaugh.

~Do you have any post-high school plans now that you’ve graduated?  Write.  Write all the time, hone and refine my craft, do the best I can for as long as I can.  Gain more homemaking skills along the lines of cooking and baking and sewing.  LIVE.  Read bunches of new books.  Write some more.  And see Mockingjay Part 2. 😉

~What’s your opinion on getting married young? Think people should wait til their mid-20’s?  I think getting married young is great (and I’m not just saying that because I’m young myself).  I hope to be married before I’m thirty, but I’ll just have to wait and see, right?

~What are three of your favorite songs?  I don’t really listen to a lot of songs; epic movie soundtracks are more my thing.  But I’ll share three songs I’ve had on repeat lately.  ‘Go The Distance’ from Hercules (just discovered this one and I LOVE it), ‘One Day More’  from the 10th, and this, which is more of a video/medley thing than a song but it’s music, so it counts.  Right?

~List four movies that you’ve seen that you mindlessly hate and explain why. (S’il vous plait.)  Most movies I watch have at least one redeeming factor (for instance, The Maze Runner, which I really don’t like but it has The Epicness That Is Newt, so I’ll still watch it now and then), but there are a few that I’ll probably hate for all eternity. *thinks*  Got it: The Ox-Bow Incident (I hate it so much), Left Behind (2014 version – it was mind-numbing), Do You Believe? (don’t even get me started), annnnd…goodness, I can’t think of a third one.  Oh!  I know.  Disney’s Pinocchio.  Uggggh.  So, so boring.  And Pinocchio is one of the brattiest children (puppets?) ever, and when I can’t root for the main character, I generally don’t like the movie.

~(I think I already know this but…) What’s your favorite era of history and what region specifically? (I.e. 50’s America, 20’s Japan, etc)  40’s America.  Surprised? (I think not.)

~If you had a time machine and could fix any of the mistakes you’ve ever made in your entire life (with no bad consequences because of the change), what would you fix? (Feel free to go into as much or as little detail as you’d like.)  This is going to sound stupid, but I honestly can’t think of a thing.  I don’t think I’ve made any major mistakes in my life so far (a statement which looks incredibly prideful when I write it out) though I’m sure I will eventually.  Sooner rather than later, I’m betting.  But for right now, I can’t think of anything.

~What version of the Bible is your favorite/the one you use most regularly? (New NIV, old NIV, KJV, Greek, etc)  The original King James.  Not only do I think it’s the only true/accurate Bible text, I’ve also found that none of the other versions match the beauty, majesty, and rhythmic quality of the language.  It’s awe-inspiring, to say the least.

~What’s one thing your followers would be surprised to hear about you?  I’m pretty open about my life here on this blog, sooooo…  Maybe how I almost died just before I was born?  True story.  My heart-rate dropped dramatically and it was a tense few minutes for everyone before it came up again. (You can read the full story here on my mom’s blog if you’re interested.)  Or there was that time when I was seven or so and I got to hold an albino python.  My family was at a zoo that was doing an animal show and the zoo people asked for volunteers from the audience (they didn’t say why) and because I was sitting in the front row with my hand sticking straight up, I got picked (along with three other kids).  They brought the python outside and dropped it into our hands and that thing was heavy.  Even with three other kids and two adult zoo workers holding it.  And it was white all over, which was weird but cool.  Neat, huh? (By the way, snakes aren’t slimy at all – they’re very dry and scaly.)

Oh, and I did go to jail once…

…but I was playing Monopoly at the time.

Elisabeth Grace Foley asked…

~Favorite animal?  I like horses and dolphins and cats but, overall, I’m not a big animal lover.

~Favorite season of the year?  Winter!  Christmas and snow and swiftly darkening evenings and frosty air and warm cookies and hot chocolate.  LOVE.

~Do you have any hobbies or favorite crafts (knit, crochet, drawing, etc)?  Not really.  I do sketch off and on but it’s not one of my passions, and I do knit sometimes, but not often enough for it to be a hobby.  One thing I enjoy doing (though I don’t know if it’s a hobby, per se) is organizing meals, cooking and baking everything from scratch, and making it all look as nice as possible.  I love food and I love preparing it.

~Have you seen the Cranford or Martin Chuzzlewit miniseries? What’s your favorite miniseries based on a book?  I’ve seen both Cranford and Return to Cranford (loved both of them), but not Martin Chuzzlewit.  Is it any good?  Little Dorrit is definitely my favorite literary miniseries, with Bleak House a close second.

~Have you done much traveling? If so, how many countries/states/provinces have you visited?  No, I don’t travel much, but I’ve been to Manitoba, Quebec, and Nova Scotia (all Canadian provinces), and I’ve visited several US states, though I forget the exact ones, unfortunately.  And I’ve been to Venezuela when my mom was pregnant with me, but I don’t think that counts. 🙂

~Would you call yourself shy, outgoing, or something in between?  Shy with people I don’t know, extremely outgoing with friends.  So…in between?

Thanks so much for all your questions, dear readers!  I loved answering each and every one.

Eva

P.S. What do you think of my new header/background?  Since February is Valentine’s Month, I went with a romantic theme this time, showcasing a few of my favorite fictional couples in the header. (Of course, there are several I left out, but I couldn’t get everyone in there.)  Thoughts?

18 thoughts on “ask me anything! {answers – part 2}

  1. AHHHH. MY STARS. THE HEADER. You are SO good at headers, Eva. The rosy tints are to diiiieee for. I love it.

    Ah, the 40’s looks divine. I’d so love to dive back in time sometimes. 😀

    I can’t really think of any HUGE mistakes I ever made – although there are looooads of little ones. But I’d love to go back in time and tell myself not to jump from my bunkbed and break my teeth. Heh. Heh.

    Martin Chuzzlewit is very good – not AS good as Little Dorrit – and the beginning is a little slow; but I really recommend it. The best thing about it is that it has Julia Sawalha in it – and she plays a very similar character to Lydia and it’s hilarious. 😀

    ~ Naomi

    Like

  2. I WANT TO GO TO IRELAND TOOOOOOOOOOOOOO. TAKE ME WITH YOU. PLEASE.

    I love “Go the Distance.” AND “One Day More.” All the Les Mis songs are just phenomenal. Really.

    (By the way, I juuuuuuuuuuuuussst got a really, really awesome idea for a new story involving the Les Mis musical, which is still shaping up but which I’m pretty sure is going to turn out great. Maybe you can be one of my test readers for it someday 🙂 )

    Like

    • OKAY. We’re on for a trip to Ireland…sometime. 😉 You and me and Rosie.

      Yep, I love alllll the Les Mis songs except ‘Lovely Ladies’ and ‘Master of the House’ and ‘Dog Eats Dog’. 😛 But all the others are superb.

      (I’d love to read your fanfiction sometime!)

      Like

      • Sounds awesome! “If you ever go across the sea to Ireland . . .” Okay, I’ll stop now. :p

        Thanks so much–I’d love to have you read it! Actually, I should’ve explained this better–it isn’t really fanfiction, in that it isn’t about the Les Mis characters, but about the musical itself. The main character is a musical theater student who gets to be in a Les Mis production, and it’s kind of a big deal for her, and . . . Various Things Happen. Yeah. Basically. 😉

        It’s nothing like anything I’ve ever tried to write before (especially since it’s set in the present day and I usually do historical fiction), but I still think it’ll be a lot of fun 🙂

        Like

  3. I LOVE the header. I can say in all literal-ness (not a word, btw) that I DID really freak out when I clicked on this post. It’s beautiful. 😉

    Martin Chuzzlewit is SO good! If you like Dickens you should watch it. It’s classic. (Tom Wilkinson is epicly disgusting and hysterical.)

    Like

  4. IRELAND?!!!! TAKE ME WITH YOU!! PLEASE!!!!! (Basically the one place in the world that I long to go. 🙂

    Oooh Combeferre!! And Melanie and Jo – good choices! OF COURSE. Bookstores are the best. 😀

    Sure, Pinterest boards count! I’m not on Pinterest, so I make collages in Paint on my computer. But it amounts to the same thing. 🙂 Soundtracks are very inspiring!! I don’t exactly know WHY, they just are. 😛

    Les Mis!! Yes – I’d really like to see that . . . I like Newsies best, personally. 😀

    I’ve been to jail too. 🙂 Playing Monopoly. That is the bestest answer! 😀

    P.S. Your header is STUNNING!! 🙂

    Like

  5. I found this post fun and interesting to read, but I have to say my main purpose in commenting was to compliment you on your lovely Valentine’s Day scheme!! That header is gorgeous! And it has Bill and Rachel in it! 😀 -happy sigh-

    Like

  6. Pingback: ask me anything! {again} | coffee, classics, & craziness

Leave a Reply

