my top ten favorite animated movies

Animated movies.  I love ’em.  They’re colorful, funny, full of heart and happiness – basically, they’re like a big hug from a friend, a bowl of warm soup, or your favorite sweater.  Because my love for these movies is so deep, I had a hard time narrowing my favorites down to ten, so I’ve also included a list of ten runners-up.  And I’ve also managed to get this list into the order I actually like/love these movies, not just some random order (the way I usually do things).  Yay!

// Robin Hood – 1973 //

The cover art on my grandparents’ VHS. Brings back memories…

Ohhhh, the memories.  My grandparents owned a VHS of this movie and I watched it innumerable times during my little-kid years.  And then the VHS got lost and I moved on to Jane Austen films and I didn’t see RH again for years until some kind person put it on Youtube.  So I watched it and it turned out that every song, every bit of incidental music, every sound effect, and every line of dialogue was stamped in my brain.  Permanently.  Which was a little weird at first but I soon got used to it.  Anyway, I don’t know why this movie isn’t better known because it’s practically perfect.  Robin Hood is awesome and I tear up (every. single. time.) when he sacrifices himself to make sure everyone else gets away safely. (Of course, it turns out all right in the end, but things are still tense for a bit.)

// Meet The Robinsons – 2007 //

Next to Robin Hood, there isn’t an animated movie that’s more special to me than this one.  I laugh hard and cry hard and I’m pretty much a mess by the end.  It’s so, SO good – another Disney movie that isn’t well-known but totally should be.  There isn’t any mushy romance or characters rebelling against their parents (’cause Lewis doesn’t have any – *snifffff*) or scary stuff (honestly, Bowler Hat Guy is more pathetic than anything else).  I love the themes of friendship and belonging and just-WATCH IT.  You’ll love it.

// Big Hero 6 – 2014 //

Newest favorite animated film.  I reviewed it here so I’m not going to re-hash all my fangirling right now.

// How To Train Your Dragon – 2010 //

GAH.  This movie.  Makes me cry.  A lot.  (I’m sensing a theme here, people…)  Although usually it’s not because of Sad Stuff (that comes more in the second one) – it’s more about Hiccup and Toothless’ friendship (the ‘Forbidden Friendship’ scene ALWAYS gets to me) and how Stoick finally accepts Hiccup and, okay, the whole ‘he’s dead/he’s not dead’ thing always brings on the waterworks because Stoick looks SO heart-broken. (Ugh, just wait until it’s HICCUP KNEELING OVER STOICK’S BODY.  I CAN’T, GUYS.)  But don’t get me wrong!  This is a fun, smart, adventurous movie.  It just tends to have more depth than a lot of animated (not to mention live-action) films.

// Tangled – 2010 //

I believe I watched this about six times in the first few weeks after I discovered it.  My love for Tangled has toned down (slightly) since then, but it never fails to move me, make me smile, and give me the warm fuzzies.  Besides the lovely friendship/romance between Rapunzel and Flynn, Tangled also has an incredibly well-rounded villainess in Mother Gothel, and a touching parents-daughter relationship between Rapunzel and the King and Queen.  Plus, all those great songs.  What’s not to love?

// The Great Mouse Detective – 1986 //

Another little-known Disney movie.  It’s quite short (only an hour and fifteen minutes) and there is a song that we skip (the one in the tavern), but other than that, it’s great.  Basil is one of my favorite Disney characters ever, Ratigan is one of my favorite Disney villains ever (if not the top favorite) and Dawson is one of my favorite Disney sidekicks ever. (You can see that I love the characters a lot.)  Even if I do end up watching Sherlock sometime, I’m sure that this movie and Basil himself will remain my favorite incarnation of Sherlock Holmes.

// The Lego Movie – 2014 //

Wasn’t expecting to like this in the least (the trailer looked extremely dumb – that was before I realized that the whole movie is a parody of ‘the chosen one/hero’s quest’ trope) but my brothers love anything that’s related to Lego, so I saw this more times than I care to count.  And it kinda crept up on my until I liked it enough to include on this list.  Again, I love the characters and I enjoy the humor (my siblings and I quote from this movie pretty much all the time).  Overall, it’s a neat film – the only part I didn’t like was the ‘real-life’ sequences.  Meh.

// Inside Out – 2015 //

Now this was one movie I had verrry high expectations for, and it’s one of the few that actually delivered on every level.  The clever world-building, the characters, the emotional punch in the gut (GUYSSSS…I still can’t deal with You Know What Happening), the satisfying ending…it all added up to a sensational bit of movie-making.  The only reason it’s not higher up on this list is because my siblings have watched it to death and I’ve gotten a wee bit tired of it.  Still, it’s a great movie. (Also, I relate to Sadness so much it’s not even funny.  Which it wouldn’t be anyway, but- you get what I mean.)

// How To Train Your Dragon 2 – 2014 //

You know the sequel’s good if I have it on here along with the first one.  Hiccup and Astrid have matured (their relationship is the cutest thing, I’m telling you), Toothless is the same as ever, there’s a larger scope to the story, the music is even more epic – everything is bigger, in the best possible way. (I still like the first movie better, though.)  And can you spell ’emotional turmoil’?  Almost everything from when Hiccup meets You Know Who to the end has me emotional in one degree or another. (Honestly, I should do a post all about emotional moments in my favorite animated movies – good or bad idea?)  I can’t wait to see what they do with the trequel.

// Up – 2009 //

FEELS.  FEELS EVERYWHERE.  I CAN’T HANDLE IT.  Leave me to wallow in these feels forever and ever.  To be honest, I’m tearing up just thinking about the ‘married life’ montage. *cries* (May I just add that the soundtrack for this movie is one of the best I’ve ever heard?  It even won an Oscar.)  And again, the only reason it’s not higher on this list is because I’ve seen it one too many times.  But I still think it’s a masterpiece.

// Honourable Mentions //

  1. Frozen – 2013
  2. Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs – 2009
  3. Wreck-It Ralph – 2012
  4. Despicable Me – 2010
  5. The Lorax – 2012
  6. The Prince of Egypt – 1998
  7. Kung Fu Panda – 2008 EDIT: Epic – 2013
  8. Aladdin – 1992
  9. Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs 2 – 2013 EDIT: Monsters, Inc. – 2001
  10. WALL-E – 2008

Do you spot any favorites on this list?  What movies would be your top ten picks?

Eva

26 thoughts on “my top ten favorite animated movies

  1. My top ten would be pretty similar. Big Hero 6 was the first movie to ever make me actually cry (I don’t normally cry at movies, so that was a big accomplishment), so it takes first place.
    2, How To Train Your Dragon 1&2. They share 2nd place because they’re amazing.
    3, BEAUTY AND THE BEAST!!!!!!!!!!!!! (this could almost take 1st place, really.)
    4, Ratatouille
    5, Wreck-It Ralph
    6, THE INCREDIBLES!!!!!
    7, Frozen/Tangled also tie for a spot.
    8, Inside Out. *sigh*
    9, Monsters University
    10, Emperor’s New Groove. Pretty much the only purposefully-stupid movie I like.

    Like

  2. Yes yes YESSSSSS. I’ve seen and love all of these (except for the HTTYD movies, which I never really loved – and I thought the second one was boring, but that’s just me). Your list probably mirrors mine in a lot of ways, so I won’t go into my list. (Although Treasure Planet and El Dorado would be on there, too {have you seen those?}, plus all of the old Disney movies. It’d be a Top Fifty Favorites list, lol.) Have you seen Despicable Me 2?

    Like

    • I reeeeally want to watch Treasure Planet ’cause it looks insanely cool and the music is AMAZING but I haven’t gotten around to doing so. Yet. (Haven’t seen/heard of El Dorado.) I’ve watched Despicable Me 2 – actually paid my own money for it because I liked the first movie so much, but I didn’t think it was all that great. Although the final scene made me feel all the things. ❤

      Like

  3. Girl, you need some OLD-school Disney on this here list here. 🙂 I admit I haven’t seen some of the ones on yours, but mine would definitely have to include Bambi, The Jungle Book, and The Aristocats. Phil Harris FTW. Among PIXAR movies, Inside Out and The Incredibles would be musts. UP was great, just for those first 10 minutes if nothing else, but I feel like those 10 minutes are what I remember most about it.

    Like

    • I know, right? My parents don’t like a lot of the themes that Disney promotes + the scariness of some of its villains, so I didn’t really grow up with The Little Mermaid and Aladdin and all those other classic Disney films. But now that I’m a lot older, I’m starting to branch out and get as many classics under my belt as possible.

      Like

  4. What a cool list! I hear you on some of those feels! I have not seen some of those, but some of those do make my own favorite animated list! The HTTYD movies are way up nearly at the top, particularly the second one. I love those two films soooo much. Also love Up, Big Hero 6, and Tangled. And from your Honorable Mention list, Wreck-It Ralph (we just watched that again for the umpteenth time last night!), Kung Fu Panda, Wall-E, and The Lorax are all family favorites that we watch over and over. Of movies not on your list, Fantasia, Rango, and Epic are among my personal top 10.

    Like

    • Oh, yes, Epic! I knew I was forgetting a favorite animated film in my list of honorable mentions, so I’ve edited the post and put it in Kung Fu Panda’s place (which I do like, but not as much as the others on that list, truth be told). So thanks for reminding me of it. 🙂 (I remember reading a mini-review of it on your blog and I believe you said that Ronin is your favorite character – he’s mine too, and was since the first time I saw Epic.)

      Like

  5. Do you know what I just realized?

    THE ONLY TWO MOVIES I’VE SEEN ON THIS LIST ARE FROZEN AND TANGLED.

    Clearly, I need more Disney in my life 🙂

    I do really love both Tangled and Frozen, though–although Frozen is my favorite of the two. (It’s not too surprising, I guess, given that practically all my favorite stories are about snow in some way 🙂 )

    Like

  6. ROBIN HOOD IS THE BESTEST!!! Yes! I love it so much and the songs get stuck in your head and it’s cute and funny and FOXES and Marian and yesssss!!!
    I also love Meet The Robinsons. I need to rewatch that actually!
    And I love Tangled so much. Especially the music!
    *gasp* you took Kung Fu Panda out?!?
    Some on my list would be Monsters Inc., Ratatouille, and A Bug’s Life and PETER PAN!!!
    (I also need to watch the Great Mouse Detective soon)
    Loved your list!

    Like

  7. So, I’m replying down here because it won’t let me add another comment to the “chain” 🙂

    You know, now that you ask me, I’m not really sure! I don’t think of myself as somebody who doesn’t like princess movies–but, on the other hand, I don’t think of myself as somebody who DOES like princess movies, either. I really, really enjoyed both Frozen and Tangled, but I’ve never had any real desire to see the old Disney versions of “Cinderella” or “Beauty and the Beast” or “Sleeping Beauty” . . . I did love the new live-action Cinderella very, very much; but I think that’s because the filmmakers tried so hard to make it like a real-life love story, with solid characterization and interesting personal dilemmas and all that. I think I’d have to say that, yeah, I do like SOME princess movies, but they have to be more than just “a movie about a princess” for me to enjoy them. There’s got to be something else there . . . awesome music or fascinating characters or cool historical references or SOMETHING.

    (Of course, this is just me talking–I’m not saying other people shouldn’t like princess movies for their own sake. That’s totally fine. 🙂 )

    Like

    • I think I’m pretty much the same way. As long as a movie has strong characters and an interesting plot I don’t care if the main character is a princess, but if the story revolves around ‘This girl is a princess’, it’s not really for me. (Does that make sense?) Probably part of the reason I didn’t enjoy reading The Princess Diaries. 😛

      Like

      • That makes perfect sense, yes! I think we both feel that the “princess” element ALONE is not enough to interest us in the story–we want something more than that. I never even read The Princess Diaries, actually; I’ve never seen/read Ella Enchanted; and the only time I tried watching “Beauty and the Beast” it freaked me out and I didn’t enjoy it at all. (I was about five at the time.) So . . . yeah.

        But I HAVE read practically every single Hardy Boy mystery ever written, and I’ve got a fair knowledge of Matt Christopher books, too. Weird, huh? 😉

        Like

      • I quite enjoy the Hardy Boy mysteries – much better than the Nancy Drew books, that’s for sure – but my personal favorite middle-grade mystery series (from The Olden Days) is the Trixie Belden books. Have you ever read any of those?

        Like

  8. I love Aladdin!! And Tangled. I really want to see Frozen. Oh, and I must watch How To Train Your Dragon. It looks really cute! 🙂

    Like

  9. No, I’ve never read the Trixie Belden books! Are they good?

    Nancy Drew is . . . disturbing. Too much psychic phenomena and too little actual straight-up mystery. Not my idea of a good time.

    Like

  10. Pingback: january, february, march: what I’ve been reading & watching | coffee, classics, & craziness

Leave a Reply

