valentine’s day 2016: fifteen favorite OTPs

It’s Valentine’s Day! *flings heart-shaped candies and white chocolate bars at my readers*  In honor of the holiday, I’ll be focusing on fifteen of my favorite fictional OTPs (One True Pairings) or ‘ships’, if you will.  This list by no means covers every single couple I ship (now that would be an undertaking) but I’ve tried to include the ones I love most.  I’ll be dividing the fifteen couples into five different categories (three couples for each category) and…well, you’ll see how it works faster then it would take me to explain it. 

// Mr. Knightley + Emma Woodhouse – Emma //

“I cannot make speeches, Emma…If I loved you less, I might be able to talk about it more. But you know what I am. You hear nothing but truth from me. I have blamed you, and lectured you, and you have borne it as no other woman in England would have borne it.”  

I think friendship-turned-romance relationships are awesome (it’s what I want to have) and this couple is my favorite example of that trope.  Emma can be so flighty at times and I think Mr. Knightley provides a great balance to that.  He tells her when she’s wrong, but he also teases her and laughs with her and talks with her as an old friend – which, of course, he is.  One of my favorite moments for this OTP is when they’re both admiring little Emma and they make up about the whole Harriet/Robert Martin incident.  So sweet.

// Gilbert Blythe + Anne Shirley – the Anne of Green Gables series //

“I’ve loved you ever since that day you broke your slate over my head in school.”  

Yes, they start out hating each other (well, at least on Anne’s side).  But oh, how I love their friendship and romance and engagement and married life in the later books.  How the first book ends?  Love it!  They’ve buried the hatchet and I always grin because I know what’s going to happen in the next few books.  Anne of the Island is my favorite book for shipping the two of them, though Anne balks at the thought for so long.  And even though I didn’t really cry over Gilbert’s first proposal and Gilbert almost dying in the first book, I always tear up over both in the movie.

// Gregor + Luxa – The Underland Chronicles //

“I’ll never get rid of you, no matter how hard I try.” It was no longer an effort to say the words. “I love you.”
“I love you, too,” said Luxa.
After that there was nothing left to say.

And this is another couple that started out disliking each other.  Plus, they’re both only twelve.  And they only share one kiss and the series ends with them being separated (though I don’t know if it’ll be for good) so Gregor and Luxa aren’t the most ideal ship.  But I like them better than Percy and Annabeth (from the Percy Jackson series) and they are incredibly sweet together in Code of Claw.  Besides the incident in Curse of the Warmbloods when Luxa tries to kill Gregor, they remain remarkably good friends and that’s what gives strength to the slightly deeper romance in the last book.

// Bill + Rachel Peabody – Eloise At Christmastime {2003} //

“Is he really what you wanted?  Or is he what your father wanted for you?  Just tell me it’s for real and I swear I’ll never say another word.”

They are SO. CUTE. TOGETHER.  That’s all.  Well, actually it’s not because there is more I want to say, but Bill and Rachel are basically cuteness personified when they’re together.  Whenever Elisabeth and I watched this movie we can’t help but fangirl and squeal and shed a few happy tears at the ending.  Bill and Rachel were separated several years before the movie starts and with her return to the Plaza, there’s romance in the air.  But she’s engaged.  To a creep.  BUT.  Eloise has a plan and Bill and Rachel are still in love and I really enjoy watching the progression of their tentative romance.

// Colonel Brandon + Marianne Dashwood – Sense & Sensibility //

“He opened his whole heart to me yesterday as we travelled. It came out quite unawares, quite undesignedly. I, you may well believe, could talk of nothing but my child;—he could not conceal his distress; I saw that it equalled my own, and he perhaps, thinking that mere friendship, as the world now goes, would not justify so warm a sympathy—or rather, not thinking at all, I suppose—giving way to irresistible feelings, made me acquainted with his earnest, tender, constant, affection for Marianne. He has loved her, my Elinor, ever since the first moment of seeing her.”

I know, I know.  All you Janeites are probably keeling over right now because I didn’t put Captain Wentworth and Anne Elliot on this list.  But that would kind of be the expected thing and I don’t like doing expected things and I think that Colonel Brandon and Marianne have just as beautiful a second chance as Frederick and Anne.  Don’t you?  Colonel Brandon was in love with Eliza, but he lost her and she died. (I highly recommend Colonel Brandon’s Diary by Amanda Grange for some heartbreaking backstory.)  He thought he’d never love again but then Marianne came along.  And when Willoughby dumped her, he was right there to pick up the broken pieces of her heart and help her recover.  I love Colonel Brandon and I will defend this ship to my dying day. (I don’t care what so many people say about Marianne not really loving him and just settling for second best.)

// Friedrich Bhaer + Jo March – Little Women //

“Ah! Thou gifest me such hope and courage, and I haf nothing to gif back but a full heart and these empty hands,” cried the Professor, quite overcome.  Jo never, never would learn to be proper, for when he said that as they stood upon the steps, she just put both hands into his, whispering tenderly, “Not empty now,” and stooping down, kissed her Friedrich under the umbrella.

After Laurie, I’m pretty sure Jo swore off guys forever.  And Professor Bhaer thought that no one would marry him because he was German and he was older than most eligible women.  Even after he met Jo, he didn’t think he’d have a chance of winning her hand.  AND THEN. *happy sigh* I know not everyone ships Jo and Professor Bhaer, but I do.  Wholeheartedly.  ‘Under The Umbrella’ is one of the best chapters in the Little Women trilogy.

// Peeta Mellark + Katniss Everdeen – The Hunger Games trilogy //

“You’re still trying to protect me. Real or not real?” he whispers.
“Real,” I answer. “Because that’s what you and I do, protect each other.”

Oh my word, what this couple goes through…I can’t.  First of all, Katniss didn’t return Peeta’s love and she played up the romance for the cameras and, yes, they had a shaky friendship but it wasn’t much more than that on Katniss’ part.  And then she finally fell in love with Peeta, only to have President Snow wrench him away, torture him, taunt her with him.  And THEN when he finally gets rescued, he tries to strangle her and hates her and thinks she’s a mutt.  I know that, in the end, Peeta and Katniss find happiness and peace and have children but the amount of tears I shed over their story officially puts them in the heartbreaking category.

// Jason Bourne + Marie Kreutz – The Bourne Identity {2002} + The Bourne Supremacy {2004} //

“How could I forget about you?  You’re the only person I know.”

Two words: ‘underwater kiss’.  No, no, no, no, no.  AND THE LOOK ON HIS FACE.  I’m sure the books bring a lot more depth to Jason and Marie’s characters, but what I saw in Identity and Supremacy was enough to put them on my favorite OTPs list.  I love how *SPOILERS* Marie isn’t forgotten after her death, but instead her memory governs Jason’s actions (in part).  Like when he didn’t kill what’s-his-name. *END SPOILERS*  I will go down with this ship.  Which…is kind of what happened to them in Supremacy. (SORRY.)

// Steve Rogers + Peggy Carter – Captain America: The First Avenger {2011} + Captain America: The Winter Soldier {2014} //

“Well, I couldn’t leave my best girl. Not when she owes me a dance. “

The most heartbreaking fictional romance ever.  Hands down.  Honestly, I just have to think about Steve and Peggy and that dance at the Stork Club – basically anything about them – and I find myself in tears in no time.  Everything about them hurts, like Steve and Bucky, but in a different way.  That scene in TWS when he goes to visit her- Not even going to go there.  And I don’t want to watch Agent Carter anytime soon because I’ve seen enough gutwrenching clips in the fanvideos.  If Peggy dies in Civil War, I won’t survive either. (I HAVE SO MANY FEELS, GUYS.  I CAN’T HANDLE THEM.)

// Dan Kean + Bess Lawrence – Jo’s Boys //

“Don’t take it away! It’s only a fancy, but a man must love something.”  

Don’t get me started.  Do. Not. Get. Me. Started.  Jo’s Boys is a travesty – even LMA said that she didn’t like how she ended Certain Character’s Stories; she was dealing with some personal tragedies at the time – and I will never read it again unless absolutely necessary.  I just- I’m not- I’m not qualified to talk about this couple because it will turn into a rant the length of Les Misérables.  Just open the ‘spoiler’ section near the end of this Goodreads review and read it because it sums up my thoughts perfectly.

Moving on before my unintelligible ramblings get even more unintelligible…

// Will Benteen + Carreen O’Hara – Gone With The Wind //

She was silent a moment, trying to accustom herself to the idea of Carreen as a nun.
“Promise you won’t fuss at her.”
“Oh, well, I promise,” and then she looked at him with a new understanding and some amazement.  Will had loved Carreen, loved her now enough to take her part and make her retreat easy.

Will is my favorite minor-ish character in GWTW, and Carreen is one of my favorites as well, so when I saw that Margaret Mitchell was doing a romantic subplot between them, I was thrilled.  This will be great, I thought.  But…no.  I think my reaction when Will said he and Suellen were getting married was about the same as all the neighbours: disbelief and a healthy dash of disgust.  Suellen is Rather Awful.  And Will and Carreen would have been adorable together! *sigh* (Note: In my last read-through of GWTW, I came across a passage in the early part of the book where Carreen is a reading a tragic novel about a girl who becomes a nun after her lover is killed in battle.  Hmmmm…)

// Walter Blythe + Una Meredith – Rilla of Ingleside //

Una shook hands quietly, looking at him with wistful, sorrowful, dark-blue eyes. But then Una’s eyes had always been wistful. Walter bent his handsome black head in its khaki cap and kissed her with the warm, comradely kiss of a brother. He had never kissed her before, and for a fleeting moment Una’s face betrayed her, if anyone had noticed. But nobody did; the conductor was shouting “all aboard”; everybody was trying to look very cheerful.

*cries*  So, so, SO tragic.  The kiss at the railway station, Walter’s death, his mention of Una in his letter, the look in her eyes when Rilla gives her the letter…  I’m inconsolable about this OTP.

// Finnick Odair + Annie Cresta – Mockingjay //

“Did you love Annie right away, Finnick?” I ask.
“No.”
A long time passes before he adds, “She crept up on me.”

The wedding is one of the scenes I’m most eager to see in MJ2.  Finnick and Annie’s marriage is my favorite part in the book, with its beauty, simplicity, and triumph over Snow’s evil schemes – at least for the moment.  Finnick takes such good care of Annie, never letting her out of his sight (and almost never letting her hand leave his) and the fact that they were separated for so long makes them want to spend every minute together.  I’m trying to focus on the good things here, because I’m reasonably sure we all know how this ends.  IT’S NOT FAIR, SUZANNE COLLINS.  NOT FAIR.  Finnick and Annie deserved every bit of happiness that ever was.

// Sir Percy Blakeney + Marguerite St. Just – the Scarlet Pimpernel series //

She would keep him, keep his love, deserve it and cherish it, for this much was certain, that there was no longer any happiness possible for her without that one man’s love.

In the first book, Percy and Marguerite’s relationship is strained at best (even though he worships the very ground she walks on) which makes their reconciliation at the end all the more wonderful.  But it isn’t until the next few books, especially El Dorado, that you really see how strong and mature and exquisitely perfect their marriage is.  He loves her with everything in him and she supports him and encourages him in everything he does, every danger he faces, every responsibility he takes upon himself.  Just…amazing.

// Barney Snaith + Valancy Stirling – The Blue Castle //

“Love you! Girl, you’re in the very core of my heart. I hold you there like a jewel. Didn’t I promise you I’d never tell you a lie? Love you! I love you with all there is of me to love. Heart, soul, brain. Every fibre of body and spirit thrilling to the sweetness of you. There’s nobody in the world for me but you, Valancy.”  

Words cannot express my love for this couple.  They could very well be my favorite fictional couple ever, though it would be quite hard to narrow it down.  Barney is always a gentleman, always kind and thoughtful, and he loves Valancy so much.  AND the way he so casually agrees to her proposal always makes me smile.  And how Valancy runs away when she thinks Barney’s ‘stuck’ with her forever – that’s an admirable sacrifice right there since she loves him so much herself.  Their reunion gives me all the feels.  Happy feels, mind you. (What a pleasant change from the sad/tragic romances in the past couple of categories.)

BONUS OTP: (Because I watched Back To The Future after I put this list together and I wanted to include them.)

// George McFly + Lorraine Baines – Back To The Future {1985} //

“I’m your density.”

George is a dorky nerd and he’s more than a little strange (Exhibit A) but I like him anyway, and Lorraine is boy crazy in the extreme but they still fit together, in a way. (And the above quote – best pick-up line ever, right?)  They’re pretty cute together, for the few minutes that you actually see them together (at the dance, and then when Marty goes back to the ‘present’) and George was quite heroic when he punched Biff and rescued Lorraine.  And I love how he works up the courage to get her back after that guy cuts in at the dance! ❤

________________________________

Well, there you have it.  Fifteen Sixteen of my favorite fictional couples.  Do you see any favorites on this list?  Let me know if you do and we can fangirl about them. 🙂

Eva

22 thoughts on “valentine’s day 2016: fifteen favorite OTPs

  1. Oh my goodness this post makes me so happy!

    Favorites: Mr. Knightley and Emma. Anne and Gilbert. Steve and Peggy (THE FEELINGS. It’s been about five years now and I’m still not over them. Agh. You should really try Agent Carter, though; tis a wonderful show. :)). Walter and Una (MORE FEELINGS. Why can’t my World War OTP’s ever be happy?). Barney and Valancey (the Train Scene was when I realized just how invested in them I had gotten– SO good!). Jo and Fritz (I’m right with you there– so many people prefer her and Laurie, but I loved her relationship with Fritz, especially in the latter books.). Dan and Bess (Absolutely should have been a thing!). Percy and Marguerite.

    Another one that should have been (despite the fact that they never once interacted in the Brick): Enjolras and Eponine. I love them.

    Happy Valentine’s Day, Eva!
    -Emily

    Like

    • Oh, if I get a chance I’m sure I’ll watch Agent Carter. But I’m not looking forward to all the emotional turmoil. 😦

      I used to write (rather awful) fanfiction that shipped Enjolras and Eponine, and I still have a lingering fondness for that ship.

      Like

  2. Ohhhhhhh . . . Your OTPs post!!!!! I was so looking forward to this–and I kind of hoped you would do it on Valentine’s Day 🙂 And here it is!!

    COLONEL BRANDON AND MARIANNNNNNNNNNE. I love them. To pieces. The end.

    Seriously, they have SUCH a beautiful “second-chances” story and I’m soooooooooooooooo glad you included them. S&S 08 is one of my favorite movies of all time, in large part due to the gorgeous adorable-ness between Brandon and Marianne. It’s so sad and yet so sweet at the same time. (David Morrissey’s Brandon may or may not be one of my biggest fictional crushes ever. I leave that to you to figure out 😉 )

    Did I ever tell you about this fanvideo I made of them? If I didn’t, and if you’d like to watch it, here’s the link:

    Like

  3. I loved this post, Eva! ALL THE PINK PATTERNS = Gorgeousness.

    1. Anne and Gilbert are pricelessness. They’re just no FUN without each other.
    2. I don’t ship Jo and the Professor. Jo and Laurie were always ‘the thing’ in my brain, as a little girl and always. 😛
    3. UNA AND WALTER. It WOULD have been. It COULD have been a THING. *Sobs*
    4. BARNEY AND VALANCY. THE TWO DARLINGS. (Isn’t Valancy written without an E? Don’t tell me I’ve been misspelling it all these years!!)
    5. And yessss. Will and Carreen were MEANT to be. That is just heartbreaking, that romance. WELL IT’S NOT EVEN A ROMANCE. Which is soooo heartbreaking. (Let’s weep together.)

    ~ Naomi

    Like

    • Thanks! I think it’s one of my best posts to date. (And one of the prettiest.)

      I double-checked and…oops, Valancy is spelled without an E. 😛 Must go and change that right away…

      Let’s both cry over All The Ships That Never Were. *tears*

      Like

  4. HEY, GREAT MINDS ETC ETC!!!! XD I would’ve gone with Feelsiest Couples Of All Time as my Val’s Day theme, but I couldn’t (you’d be reading my post ’til the cows come home).

    I TOTALLY AGREE WITH ALL OF YOUR COUPLES. And seriously? Jason and Maria? DON’T PUT ME THROUGH THIS KIND OF TRAUMA AGAIN, EVA.

    And that last one – “I’m your density.” LOL.

    Like

  5. I 100% agree with all of these… the ones I know of at least, which was most of them. I kind of disagree with Dan and Bess though. I like them together but the way Alcott ended up setting it up I kind of agreed with Jo. Jo’s Boys though is just not one of my favorites. 😦

    Like

  6. Just so you know, Jason and Marie in the books have a completely different relationship because Marie is a completely different character. Bears zero resemblance to the movie character. (And doesn’t die.) I don’t think I could choose one version of them over the other, really — I love book Jason-and-Marie AND movie Jason-and-Marie.

    Like

      • (SPOILERS for anyone intending to read “The Bourne Identity” by Robert Ludlum)

        In the book, Jason takes Marie hostage to get himself out of a trap, then releases her when he thinks they’re safe. She gets captured by the bad guys instead — they send her off with one gunman to kill her, and Jason realizes this and goes after her. He stops the bad guy from raping her, and kills him, but he’s been badly shot up himself in the process of rescuing her. He knows he’s dying, but tells her to run, tells her it’s a fair trade: her innocent life saved for his presumably not so innocent one lost. She then saves his life in return by bandaging him up, hiding him, and going on the run with him.

        Marie in the books is a strong, determined, loving, resourceful, intelligent woman. She’s nothing at all like the footloose gypsy Marie in the movies. I don’t mind that they changed the character, because I like Movie Marie too, but they are not at all the same person.

        Like

      • (Well, I would like to read TBI someday, but I’ll take the spoilers.)

        Mom said that the Bourne movie from the 80s (I believe it came out in the 80s, anyway) follows the original plot much more than the 2002 movie so now I’d kind of like to see that one. I think it would be interesting to see a different take on the character of Bourne + the story.

        Like

      • YES! The 80s made-for-TV version stars Richard Chamberlain, and it follows the book very closely. I liked it a LOT. I saw it for the first time only a couple months ago, and was so very impressed by it — that’s what prompted me to reread the book. It does have one love scene, but it’s easy to skip.

        Like

  7. Pingback: celebrating 200 followers + giveaway! | coffee, classics, & craziness

Leave a Reply

