my 2016 to-read list

I know we’re already two months into 2016 (WHAT) but I’ve been going through a reading slump recently, so I figured some concrete goals wouldn’t hurt.  I’m not committing myself to read a certain number of books and the books on this list aren’t all the books I’ll be reading this year – I bring home random books from the library all the time – but at least it’s a starting point.  Comment if you see any favorites OR if you have books I think I should add.

(Titles with an asterisk are re-reads.)

  • The complete Anne of Green Gables series*, the Pat books, and Magic for Marigold by Lucy Maud Montgomery.
  • Celia Garth and Jubilee Trail by Gwen Bristow.
  • Guns of the Navarone, Force 10 From Navarone, and Fear is the Key by Alistair MacLean.
  • Anne of Green Gables, My Daughter, and Me by Lorilee Craker.
  • The Brontë Plot by Katherine Reay.
  • The American Family Portrait series* and the Songs in the Night series* by Jack Cavanaugh.
  • Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy.
  • Lord of the Flies* by William Golding.
  • Gone With the Wind* by Margaret Mitchell.
  • Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein.
  • My Cousin Rachel and Jamaica Inn by Daphne du Maurier.
  • Speaker for the Dead by Orson Scott Card.
  • The Sweetest Thing by Elizabeth Musser.
  • A Tale of Two Cities* and Great Expectations* by Charles Dickens.
  • Unbroken* by Laura Hillenbrand.
  • Me Before You by JoJo Moyes.
  • Chasing Jupiter by Rachel Coker.
  • The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald.
  • True Grit* by Charles Portis.
  • The Uglies series* by Scott Westerfield.

Eva

13 thoughts on “my 2016 to-read list

  1. Ooh, Gatsby is GOOD. I read it when I was 13 and didn’t appreciate it like I should, and have been meaning to re-read it.

    I’d add The Ascendence Trilogy (seriously, it blew me away), some Robert Whitlow, and Far from the Madding Crowd.

    Like

    • Oh and if you’re looking for quick reads, just pick some random Andrew Clements books up from your library. (My favorites are The Report Card and The School Story.) Also, the Indian in the Cupboard books are great children’s lit, and so is Holes, if you haven’t read any of those.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Looks like fun! Have you ever tried “Rifles for Watie,” by Harold Keith? It’s historical fiction about the American Civil War, and it’s REALLY well-done. I think you’d enjoy it 🙂

    Like

  3. I mostly approve of this list, but a word of caution. (unless you’ve read it before and just like it) Magic for Marigold was one of the worst books I’ve ever read. Yeah. It was boring and weird and didn’t have the usual wonderful touch of L. M. M. it usually has. I had to really push myself to read it and it took way normal for me to read than any other book of that length would have. But that may just be me. Good luck L)

    Like

  4. Not sure how I managed to add that random ‘L)’ at the end and forgot a period, but I can’t figure out how to (if that’s even possible) to edit it, so, sorry! It was supposed to be a smiley face, I believe. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

