more random life stuff

Aren’t they ADORBS?

Hello, my lovelies!

Life is crazy busy right now, what with the missionary house guests my family is entertaining for the next few days, but I thought I’d take some time out (being an introvert, time outs are especially important) to update you with some stuff that’s going on in my life.  Life update posts are always tons of fun for me (I even feel in the mood for a vlog…we’ll see) so grab some lemonade and settle in!

Well, for starters, the family who’s staying with us is great.  It’s their third time being our house guests and even though they can’t stay for very long this time, we’re all thankful for the time we can spend together.  We watched Meet the Robinsons last night – one of my favorite movies – (and stayed up ’til 11:30!) so that was seriously awesome, and we’re just generally having a good time.  The only downside is that my sisters and I have been temporarily evicted from our bedroom (as it’s ideal for people coming to stay with us) so I didn’t get much rest last night, since I don’t do well with new sleeping arrangements.  Sooooo, around 3:30 in the morning, Elisabeth and I both woke up and she played games on her iPod (it’s a very versatile device) while I watched some more Emma Approved.

Emma Approved:

Because, YES, I’m re-watching the series and it’s amazing. (In fact, I’m starting to pick up Emma’s quirks a little, so if this post seems overly enthusiastic, that’s the reason.)  All the cast is Perfect, which I love…the last episode I watched was the post-Boxx party one. *feeeels*  I can’t wait to see Emma and Alex (and Harriet and Martin) get their happy ending.  “Everyone gets a better liiiiife!”

I’ve got a couple of blog posts in drafts right now and I’m working the most on ‘my top ten favorite movies of all time’ so that should be out in the next week or two.  Can’t wait for you all to read it + share your thoughts.  On the other side of the writing spectrum, I’ve been buckling down and revising The Bounty Hunter.  It’s far (far, far, far) from perfect, but I do love the story lots, so I’m persevering. *fist-pump*

"</p

On the movie/TV show-watching front, I’ve been immersing myself in lots of Hogan’s Heroes (I never thought I’d like it as much as I do) and pining for old favorites (basically any old Hollywood movie I’ve gushed about in the past year) which I can’t really watch right now – because of our house guests – but I’m dying too.  I’m also anxious to see Captain America: Civil War, Love & Friendship, The Little Prince, and some other movies that have come out recently…curse you, dvd-release-dates-that-are-sixteen-months-away! (They’re not really that long.  But it feels like it.)

Anyway, that’s about it for news (oh, and I can ride my bike perfectly now).  What’s going on in your life?  I can’t wait to hear about it. 🙂

Eva

16 thoughts on “more random life stuff

  1. Gosh, I just love hearing about people’s lives. I’m doing a writing course, and the professor says to not shy away from what seems boring to you because “there’s no such thing as a typical setting” (meaning, somebody’s ordinary might be someone else’s extraordinary).

    I need to watch Emma Approved again. So many feels! Oh, and I hope you’re having a good time with your guests. *WINKKKKK*

    Like

    • That writing course sounds fabulous. (And I know you’ll do splendidly in it. *high-five*)

      Yes, you do! I’m considering a re-watch of Frankenstein, MD as well, but not LBD because there was too much content-y stuff in there for my taste. 😛 (Which is unfortunate, because it was super good at the same time.) And speaking of guests, I’ll have lots to tell you whenever I find time to answer your email… *winks back*

      Like

      • It IS. I’ve learned *SO* much. (And thank you for the vote of confidence. *high-five back*)

        Awesome! I haven’t seen Frankenstein, MD, but MG said it wasn’t the best so I didn’t mind. (I’ve seen the LBD, on the other hand, about four times total, with uncountable rewatches of certain episodes. I l o v e i t. And that Lizzie is ME.) (And I do agree – it’s super good but there are some parts that need skipping.) ooooOOOOOOoooooohhhhhhhh. Can’t wait, then!

        Like

      • I’m just slogging along by myself (though I have a dear friend who’s agreed to be writing buddies/writing accountability partners with me) and I think it’s great that you actually have a writing teacher. (And, by the way, all the snippets that you post on your blog are brilliant. Not kidding. Even though I don’t actually comment. :P)

        Hmmm…well, FMD is a lot more serious than EA or LBD and it’s also a little weird but it’s MILES better than the book, so I like it. It’s definitely unique.

        Like

      • I love my writer friends for that very reason – keep that friend close!!! You’re doing great. Just never stop writing. 🙂 (Aww, thank you SO MUCH. BLESS YOU.)

        Interestinggggg. I’ve never read the book, so. 😛

        Like

  2. I can’t wait to see “Civil War,” either. #TeamCapForever

    Are you excited for the new “Beauty and the Beast” movie? I loved the teaser trailer so much–I have a feeling it’s going to be REALLY GOOD, just like the “Cinderella” movie last year.

    Like

    • ALWAYS #TeamCap. And #saynotoHYDRAcap. AM I RIGHT?

      I’ve never watched the original BatB, but I watched the trailer for the live-action one and it looks creepily beautiful.

      Like

  3. Let’s see — right now my life consists of me trying to de-clutter my house because it’s a terrible shambles, figure out what curriculum I still need to order for the coming school year, catch up on laundry, stay on top of my Jane Eyre read-along, catch up on all the blog-reading I let slide for like a month, figure out what to do to celebrate my 14th wedding anniversary tomorrow, get ready for my mom’s arrival on Thursday, get a head start on planning for the high school lit course I’ll be teaching my niece long-distance this fall, figure out if I can sneak away and watch X-Men: Apocalypse again this weekend, and… that’s about it. Oh, and I’m looking forward to watching the second half of The Man from UNCLE (2015) tonight with my best friend 😀

    Like

    • Wow. You sound super busy (as usual…?). I can’t imagine what my life will be like when/if become a mom/wife. 🙂

      You know, I can’t wait for us to meet so that you can introduce me to the Man from UNCLE movie, too.

      Like

      • Yeah, that’s kind of life. Always a juggle. In the past 4 days, I’ve gotten one room de-junked, ordered all but one book of curriculum, and caught up on blog reading mostly. So I’m feeling pretty good about it all!

        I have this secret, sinister plan to kidnap you one of these days, you know. Either that, or you and your mom should road-trip down here for like a week. And then we would watch Man from UNCLE and a million other things.

        Like

      • I would LOVE to come see you (or for you to come see me) sometime…neither Mom nor I have passports, though. (YET.) My grandfather is talking about taking me to Britain (EEEEEEP) next year, so that would probably be the earliest that I’d get a passport. But one can still hope! (We should definitely watch Mag7 together, too, as you’re the only person I know who loves it as much as I do.)

        Like

      • Well, I’ve got my passport, as do two of my kids, but oddly enough, we haven’t gotten one for the youngest yet. I say “oddly” since Cowboy works for Passport Services.

        Britain!!! How thrilling!!! I want to get there one day too.

        I love The Magnificent Seven so much, I’ve watched it in five different states (North Carolina, Minnisota, Wisconsin, Connecticut, and Virginia) and in two different countries (USA and Ukraine)! It’s just that good.

        Like

      • The only person in my family who has a passport (besides my grandparents) is my brother Noah – he had to get one because some family members invited him to the States for a month-long visit (they have a son about his age). But if Grandpa is really serious about this trip, I should get my passport pretty soon.

        You’ve been to the Ukraine? Cool! I hope you’ll be able to add Canada to your list of ‘Places I’ve Watched Mag7 In’. 😉

        Like

      • Cowboy’s parents were missionaries in Ukraine when we met, so I got to spend Christmas there with his family one year. Pretty special!

        I reeeeeeally hope your England trip comes about. It would be simply amazing. Wow.

        Like

Leave a Reply

