announcing the Alfred Hitchcock Blogathon 2016!

For the past couple of months, I’ve been racking my brain for a blogathon/blog party idea and I wasn’t coming up with anything.  Then, on a hunch, I checked when Hitchcock’s birthday was and then I knew.  August 13th.  A little over a month away.  I considered doing an entire week centered around him, but that would take tons of organization and a whole week out of a month when my family is expecting some relatives for a visit.  So, I thought, why not a blogathon?  Perfect!

In case you didn’t know, a blogathon works like this: if you want to participate, leave a comment with a link to your blog and what you’ll be writing about (review of a Hitchcock film, something about Hitchcock’s life…basically anything, as long as it’s Hitchcock-related).  I’ll add you to this post’s roster (down below the event buttons/posters/whatever you want to call them) and on August 11th, 12th, or 13th, you’ll publish your post and leave a link to it in the comments on a blog post I’ll set up for that purpose.  I’ll be publishing a post of my own for each day but you only have to write one (and publish it on whichever of the three days you like) unless you want to do more.  I don’t know if there will be a giveaway yet, but I’m looking into it.

Anyway, here are some event banners that you can put on your blog’s sidebar to advertise the blogathon. (I tried to come up with a good selection.)


Blogathon Participants:

Hope to see you there!

Eva

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

54 thoughts on “announcing the Alfred Hitchcock Blogathon 2016!

  1. Oh help AND bother! That’s the exact same time as the Film Noir blogathon I’m participating in. And yet, I’m strangely tempted to enter this too. It’s Hitch AND you. How can I resist? Put me down for a list of my top 10 favorite Hitchcock films. If I manage to get my film noir posts written early like I intend to, then I’ll possibly also review a film, but I’ll figure out what later, depending on what’s still available.

    Obviously, I’d be posting this on Hamlette’s Soliloquy.

    LOVE the buttons, btw!

    Like

      • Well, if it had been just one of those two, I probably would have skipped. Hitchcock shindig hosted by someone else? I’m really so busy right now. Eva hosting a blogathon about something I have no interest in, like cheesy ’60s sci-fi movies? I’m really so busy right now. But the combo — I can’t miss it!

        Like

      • Well, I told Mom I knew you would join in the blogathon (long before you commented) and I knew my faith wouldn’t go unrewarded. 🙂

        (By the way, cheesy 60’s sci-fi movies are probably my least favorite things to watch. Just saying. 😉 I know you only used it as an example though.)

        Like

      • Oho! So certain are you? Think you can just predict my behavior like that, huh?

        Just kidding!

        And yeeeeeeeeeah, I only know two people who actually, truly dig cheesy ’60s sci-fi movies. They are not at all my thing either. (Unless they’re getting the MST3K treatment.)

        Like

  2. Oh my gosh! What a fun one. I really need to catch up on posting on my blog (I only ever did the one post) so maybe I’ll do this after I post a few other posts. Not sure what exactly I would do, but I’ll let you know! (Am I supposed to only put up the button if I’m participating?)

    Like

    • Nope, you can put up a button even if you aren’t joining in! (Though I got your last comment, so it looks as though you are. :)) I’ll just need a link to your blog.

      Like

  3. What a fantastic blogathon idea! I’d like to do an overview of the 5 films in which he was Oscar-nominated for Best Director: Rebecca, Lifeboat, Spellbound, Rear Window, and Psycho. 🙂

    Like

  4. Pingback: The Alfred Hitchcock Blogathon 2016: My Analysis of Marnie (1964) | Musings of a Classic Film Addict

  5. Pingback: Foreign Correspondent (1940) | Christina Wehner

  6. Pingback: I Confess : Hitchcock in Quebec | The Wonderful World of Cinema

Leave a Reply

