the Alfred Hitchcock Blogathon 2016 tag

What’s a blog event without a tag?  I had lots of fun thinking up of these questions…and hopefully you’ll have lots of fun answering them.  Even if you didn’t find time to participate in the actual blogathon, I’d love reading your answers, either in the comments or in a blog post of your own. (And if you do write a blog post, please share the link in the comments if you get a minute – I’ll be sure to check it out.)  I’ll be answering these later on as well, but in the meantime, let’s celebrate Hitchcock and his films even more!

  • What was the first Hitchcock film you ever watched?
  • What’s your favorite Hitchcock film?
  • What’s your least favorite Hitchcock film?
  • What’s your favorite Hitchcock cameo?
  • Who’s your favorite Hitchcock villain?
  • Hero?
  • Heroine?
  • What’s your favorite Hitchcock quote?
  • And, finally, how many Hitchcock films have you watched?

Can’t wait to read your answers, guys!

Eva

P.S. Don’t forget to drop the link to your blogathon entry in the comments section of THIS POST if you haven’t already!

16 thoughts on “the Alfred Hitchcock Blogathon 2016 tag

  1. What with the film noir blogathon starting tomorrow and me also trying to post write-ups on the convention, I KNOW I won’t have time to answer this on my blog, so here are my answers!

    What was the first Hitchcock film you ever watched? I think it was Rebecca, but it might have been North by Northwest.

    What’s your favorite Hitchcock film? Shadow of a Doubt.

    What’s your least favorite Hitchcock film? Of the ones I’ve seen, I think The Birds and Vertigo tie for my least-favorites.

    What’s your favorite Hitchcock cameo? I don’t think I have one. They always crack me up, but not sure I have a favorite. The one in North by Northwest is fun.

    Who’s your favorite Hitchcock villain? Joseph Cotten in Shadow of a Doubt.

    Hero? I suppose it’s John Robie (Cary Grant) in To Catch a Thief.

    Heroine? Charlie (Teresa Wright) in Shadow of a Doubt.

    What’s your favorite Hitchcock quote? I love that he wanted his tombstone to read, “This is what happens to bad little boys.”

    And, finally, how many Hitchcock films have you watched? I think 21. I may have missed a few, though — back in college, AMC ran a Hitchcock movie every Sunday evening, and we tried to watch them as often as we could, so there may be a couple I’ve seen that I don’t remember just by the title.

    Great questions!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I enjoyed Shadow of a Doubt, but not as much as I thought I would. But I think I should re-watch it for three reasons: 1) I find that I always like Hitchcock’s films better the second time around because I can focus on the story/characters more once I know all the twists. 2) You like it so much. 3) After watching Citizen Kane, I like Joseph Cotten TONS more. 🙂

      Like

      • Most of Hitch’s movies take me at least 2 viewings to decide if I like them or not. Some, I keep trying to like (especially Vertigo), and others, I do enjoy, but can’t love (like Psycho). But like you said, that second viewing is especially needed for his films cuz the first time you’re just trying to wrap your head around what in the world is going on.

        Joseph Cotten’s pretty lovable in it, even though he is a horrible, evil bad guy. I always forget how funny Hume Cronyn is in it, too.

        Funny, but I saw Citizen Kane shortly before I became a Cotten fan, and I’ve been meaning to see it again ever since, but haven’t managed to yet. Buuuuuut now that I know a certain Alan Ladd has a teensy, weensy walk-on (non-speaking) role in it, I suspect I’ll be giving it another watch sometime this fall.

        Like

  2. What a fun blogathon! I look forward to reading everyone’s posts for it. Sorry I’m unable to contribute at this time. I’ll answer your tag questions here:

    What was the first Hitchcock film you ever watched? Absolutely no idea. That was too long ago, and they’re all sort of blurred into the “always been there” mode. To Catch a Thief or The Birds would be my best guess.

    What’s your favorite Hitchcock film? Either “To Catch a Thief” or “Rear Window” or “Psycho” or “The Birds”… Hm, I don’t really have a certain favorite. Kind of depends on my mood.

    What’s your least favorite Hitchcock film? “Torn Curtain”

    What’s your favorite Hitchcock cameo? None in particular, they’re all amusing.

    Who’s your favorite Hitchcock villain? Norman Bates, all the way.

    Hero? Either Joel McCrea in Foreign Correspondent or Rod Taylor in The Birds

    Heroine? Grace Kelly in Rear Window or Tippi Hendren in Marnie

    What’s your favorite Hitchcock quote? I’m afraid I don’t know any quotes from Hitchcock.

    And, finally, how many Hitchcock films have you watched? 18 for sure.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I should watch “Foreign Correspondent” again. I only remember the windmill scene, anymore. I did like it bunches — if i watched it another couple times, I would probably love it and let it boot “Stage Fright” off my top 10 list. Joel McCrea was so darling in it.

      Like

    • I know for a positive fact that if/when I ever watch Psycho, Norman Bates will instantly become my favorite Hitchcock villain. Because Anthony Perkins. And, also, I’ve read enough about the plot and about Norman to make me feel sympathetic toward him. But mostly Anthony Perkins. 😉

      Like

  3. Pingback: My answers to The Alfred Hitchcock Blogathon 2016 tag | The Wonderful World of Cinema

  4. Pingback: The Alfred Hitchcock Blog Tag – The Flapper Dame

Leave a Reply

