the Alfred Hitchcock Blogathon 2016: my tag answers


~What was the first Hitchcock film you ever watched?
  I can’t be sure, but I believe it was The Lady Vanishes.  And I watched it when I was very, very young – too young to understand anything about the plot and too young to appreciate black & white movies, so I didn’t like TLV much.  Since then, I’ve changed my tune. (Pun totally intended.  Because, you know, that tune is the film’s MacGuffin.)

~What’s your favorite Hitchcock film?  NOTORIOUS.  Forever and always.

~What’s your least favorite Hitchcock film?  Um…probably The Birds.  It was kind of freaky, but also pretty boring in parts.  And I couldn’t get behind any of the characters.  I also didn’t much fancy Vertigo or The 39 Steps.  Or North by Northwest.

~What’s your favorite Hitchcock cameo?  I always grin when I spot Hitchcock, but I believe my favorite cameo of his is the one in Dial M For Murder.  It’s so clever and unique!  The one in To Catch a Thief is also great.

https://classicsandcraziness.files.wordpress.com/2016/08/8fb6b-hitchcockcameo.jpg?w=640

~Who’s your favorite Hitchcock villain?  Man, that is a tough one.  There are so many great villains peppering Hitchcock’s body of work – Robert Walker as Bruno in Strangers on a Train, Joseph Cotten as Uncle Charlie in Shadow of a Doubt, Ray Milland as Tony in Dial M For Murder…the list goes on and on.  I do like James Mason’s villain in North by Northwest (simply because I like James Mason).  But the prize for favorite villain would have to go to all the spies on the train in The Lady Vanishes because they are genuinely frightening and not really theatrical and, yeah.  I’m going with them.

~Hero?  Michael Redgrave as Gilbert Redman in The Lady Vanishes.  Adorableness, ingenuity, and bravery all rolled into one.

~Heroine?  Ingrid Bergman as Alicia Huberman in Notorious.  She’s so courageous.  Grace Kelly as Lisa Fremont in Rear Window would be a close second.

~What’s your favorite Hitchcock quote?  Hitchcock said some awesomely funny things, but one of my absolute favorite quotes is this one: “I am a typed director. If I made Cinderella, the audience would immediately be looking for a body in the coach.”  It’s so true!

~And, finally, how many Hitchcock films have you watched?  Fourteen.

Eva

P.S. Don’t forget to drop the link to your blogathon entry in the comments section of THIS POST if you haven’t already!  I’ll be posting the list of links to participants’ blog posts later on today.

Save

4 thoughts on “the Alfred Hitchcock Blogathon 2016: my tag answers

  1. Very interesting answers! (and I LOVE The Lady Vanishes). If The Birds is your least favourite, it’s probably because you haven’t watch enough of his films. 😉 (I mean, the Hitchcock’s films I don’t like are rare but there are some exceptions. For example, I don’t think “The Skin Game” is a favourite for many..)

    Like

Leave a Reply

