what Jesus did for me

 :

I am a Christian.

This may come as a surprise to most of you, because I have never really discussed this whole topic on my blog before…and there was a reason for that.  The reason I haven’t talked about my faith much was because, well, I didn’t really have a faith worth talking about.  Yes, I was born into a Christian home.  Yes, I had made a profession of faith when I was eight.  Yes, I read my Bible every day (usually) and attended church every Sunday and said all the right things. 

But I wasn’t really, truly saved. 

Oh, I thought I was – don’t get me wrong, I wasn’t trying to deceive anybody, at least not intentionally, by being good on Sundays and horrible the rest of the week.  Still, there were things going on in my life that should have clued me in to the fact that I wasn’t really a true Christian: apathy and indifference toward the things of God, continual resentment – sometimes even hatred – toward certain family members, and other things that I don’t want (or need) to get into.  Anyway, I was going on my merry way, content with my books and movies and TV shows and mostly happy life when, suddenly, everything changed.

A visiting pastor came to our church and preached a very strong, very pointed sermon about the dangers of indifference and apathy in the Christian life.  And it gripped me in the most powerful way possible – the Holy Spirit was moving and, looking back, I’m happy to say that I didn’t resist Him in the least, but I still thought that perhaps I was saved, but I had just fallen into indifference (as that sermon indicated).  What followed was a week of soul-searching, prayer, and Bible reading that ultimately culminated in my coming to the conclusion that I wasn’t saved…and that I needed to be saved right away.  God used II Corinthians 6:2 (“…For he saith, I have heard thee in a time accepted, and in the day of salvation have I succoured thee: behold, now is the accepted time; behold, now is the day of salvation…”) to convict me of my need for the Saviour, and I called on Jesus’ name.

Let me tell you something.  The Christian life is the only life worth living, guys.  It really is.  Even though the last couple of months have been difficult as I have studied my Bible and prayed and, yes, cried, there is nothing, absolutely nothing as sweet and perfect as being saved, trusting and following Jesus, and doing His will.  Nothing.  If you let Him work in your life, there is nothing that He cannot do.

The last thing I want to do is to sound proud or boastful of myself, because as God has reminded me over and over again in the past several weeks, I am nothing without Him, can do nothing without Him, and am hopelessly lost without Him.  But He has done so many wonderful things in my life so far that I can’t help but share them with you (not as though I’m bragging on myself, though, but only on Him, because it is by His grace and leading that I am what I am today – nothing more, nothing less).  I’m happy to say that my life has cleaned up dramatically.  Sure, I was always the ‘good preacher’s kid’, so to speak (at least from the outside) but there was plenty of stuff that I had to repent of…and now it’s all in the past, covered by Jesus’ blood and I’m truly free from sin’s stains and its grip on me.  Another amazing thing that has happened is that my resentment toward the aforementioned family members has been completely removed and it feels wonderful.  I also find that I’m less argumentative, more even-tempered, less lazy, and, I hope, generally more pleasant to be around. 🙂  Again, though, I want to stress that none of this is by my own efforts.  It is all Jesus, all the time.  I’ve tried numerous times before I was born again to ‘be better’ on my own strength, but it never worked.  And now I know why: I didn’t have Jesus in my heart, I didn’t have the Holy Spirit guiding me.  But now?  Well, I’m definitely not perfect, but I love the new me, the saved me, so much better than my old self.

Another great thing that has happened is that I find my interest in spiritual things growing more and more each day.  I eagerly look forward to Sunday and Tuesday night church services.  I pray a lot (a lot), about anything and everything.  I read my Bible every day, first thing in the morning (sometimes more than once a day), and it has become infinitely precious to me. (I use the King James Bible, by the way.)  Interesting, encouraging, my guide-book for the Christian life.  The Psalms, in particular, have been a huge help to me in these past weeks (and now, of course) because there always seems to be at least one that perfectly expresses my mood, passages that I can prayerfully go through.

And yet another thing: you would have thought that, having been part of a strong Christian family for seventeen years (and my dad a pastor, no less!), I would know pretty much everything there is to know about the Bible, God, Jesus, pretty much any topic you can think of.  Welllll…not so.  I’m discovering new things every day and coming to a deeper understanding of God, His character, and a fuller realization of everything that Jesus has done for me and so, so much more.  It’s both amazing and humbling to discover that there are so many depths that I’ve never explored, never studied, never really even thought about.

I’ve decided to put this up just as I wrote it, with no editing or tweaking (besides whatever obvious typos I find) because this all just sort of spilled from my heart and I don’t think I should change any of it.  I hope and pray that if you are a believer as well, this post will encourage you in some way.  And if you haven’t accepted Jesus into your heart yet, then please consider doing so today!  It’s the absolute best thing you can do with your life and I give you a one hundred percent guarantee that you won’t regret it.  Ever.

For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life. -John 3:16

Eva

Save

Save

19 thoughts on “what Jesus did for me

  1. This post definitely did encourage me. Thank you, my friend ❤

    "My soul doth magnify the Lord, and my spirit hath rejoiced in God my Savior; for He Who is mighty hath done great things for me, and holy is His Name."

    (We just had that reading in Mass today and I really like it, and it seemed to fit, so I thought I'd pass it on 🙂 )

    Like

    • That verse is beautiful. From the Psalms, right? And I’m glad this post encouraged you…honestly, I’m so happy to finally find peace and salvation in Jesus and Him alone. ❤

      Like

      • I know! It’s one of my favorite Bible verses ever 🙂 It’s actually from Luke’s Gospel (1:46-55); even though it sounds a lot like the Psalms do, of course.

        Like

  2. Wow, this post is beautiful! My walk in faith is SO similar – I’ve discovered and grown so much stronger in my faith this year; more than I ever have. I used to believe, but more just because that is what I had been taught; not because I necessarily believed myself. Now that I do, I can also say that it is the most wonderful thing ever. Amen, girl, I love this post – let’s praise the Lord together!!

    Like

    • Yes, I think that was part of my problem, too! I knew about Jesus and the Bible, obviously, but I didn’t have any personal beliefs to hold to. Now I do. 🙂 So, yes, I will ALWAYS praise His name for guiding me to a point where I could really believe, for myself, and not because of what I’d been taught.

      Like

  3. Well Praise God 🙂 Glad we are related more ways than one now :).
    Sadly, I don’t read blogs much anymore so I hadn’t checked yours out recently but what a pleasant read. Thanks for sharing and great you have it written down to go back to as a needed reminder of where you came from and where you are going….awesome!!
    Love you, Aunt Julie

    Like

    • Yes, I thought it would be a good record to refer back to later on. 🙂 Part of the reason I wrote this post (another part was, obviously, praising Jesus). Thanks for commenting, Aunt Julie! 🙂

      Like

  4. Eva, thank you for sharing your beautiful testimony! This post honestly brought me to tears. :’) I’m so happy for you and for what Jesus has done through you. Faith really is a journey. Over the past few years I’ve seen myself grow in so many areas, but as you said, it’s NOT me. It’s all Jesus. He’s the only one who can ever change someone from the inside out. I’m so glad we can be thankful together for His utterly amazing gift of salvation.
    Your sister in Christ, Natalie

    Like

    • Honestly, I’m overwhelmed by the amount of love Jesus has for me and I’m just happy I could share it with people like you. And all my other followers. 🙂 I will never, ever stop praising and thanking Him, that’s for sure and I’m so glad that there are girls like you who really ‘get’ it, y’know? There aren’t any girls my age in my church, so Christian internet friends are a gift from God, I believe. *hugs*

      Like

  5. Pingback: celebrating 200 followers + giveaway! | coffee, classics, & craziness

  6. Sometimes all it takes is even a brief change in your normal church life to reinvigorate your faith or put it into perspective. I went to the same church for the first 20 or so years of my life, and towards the end I was struggling with personal issues that distracted from my faith.
    There was a breaking point where I completely switched to another church for a while, and it felt like the pastoral team there, along with the College and Careers bible studies, explained what it truly meant to be a Christian in ways that I never thought of before. It helped that the C&C group accepted me.
    Even though most of that group has moved back home or moved on to other churches, I’m still very close with a few of them. And I can admit that I’m in a bit of a slump lately (a big part of that is that I’ve been scheduled for work nearly every single Sunday for the last couple of years), but I always feel welcome whenever I am able to go to that church.
    Great post by the way, and thanks for linking to it in your celebrating 200 (201) followers post.

    Like

    • My dad (who’s a pastor) says – and I agree – that being in church is one of the most important things you can do as a Christian. My church family has grown closer over the past several months because of my dad’s battle with cancer (we have to meet in our home now instead of at our church building, and I’m sure that’s helped bring us all together) and Sundays are always amazing. 🙂 I’ll pray that your work could maybe get rescheduled, if that’s all right with you. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

