the liebster tag

Unique, cute…and kind of an inside joke, too.

I’ve been tagged!  Yay!  Well, Ashley kinda sorta tagged me when she said anyone reading her post could participate in the tag and since  I loved her questions, I decided to join in the fun. (I don’t often do tags…but when I do, I usually end up writing ridiculously long answers to all the questions.  So this may not be the quick blog post idea I thought it’d be.  Still fun, though.)

Rules:

1. Link back to the person who tagged you.
2. Answer the eleven questions.
3. Tag eleven bloggers, and let them know you’ve done so.
4. Ask your tagged bloggers eleven questions.

Here we go!

1.  What’s your Pinterest account link?  (I love following new people!)

Eva Schon – https://www.pinterest.com/evaschon/. (And is it just me, or does anyone else hate Pinterest’s new design?)

2.  What are your thoughts on classic novels versus contemporary novels?

Oh, goodness, that’s tough.  I like both kinds of novels and I think that both have their good and bad points: classic novels are often really interesting from a history buff’s point of view, long enough to be satisfying, and clean (for the most part).  But they can also be long-winded and hard to get into.  Contemporary novels, on the other hand, are usually fast-paced, more accessible and understandable to 21st century readers (obviously), and easy to fall in love with right from the first page.  But they can have lots of language and inappropriate content and I also find that a lot of contemporary novels I’ve read haven’t been as deep and thoughtful and lovable as so many of the classics are.  However, I still think I like both classic and contemporary novels about equally.

Classic and contemporary alike.

As a bonus, I just want to quickly list five favorite classics and five favorite contemporaries (these are just off the top of my head, so I’ll probably end up leaving out some of my very favorites).  Classics: Emma by Jane Austen, Les Misérables by Victor Hugo, A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens, Gone With The Wind by Margaret Mitchell, and The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton.  Contemporaries: The Book Thief by Markus Zusak, Dear Enemy by Jack Cavanaugh, The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, Wonder by R.J Palacio, and Echo by Pam Muñoz Ryan. (Yes, they’re pretty much all YA.  Your point?)

3.  Quick!  Name the three most recent movies you’ve watched and what you’ve thought of each of them.

I’m going to go with new-to-me movies (not rewatches) because those are far more interesting to talk about, in my opinion. (In case you’re wondering, though, the last three movies I really did watch, which all happen to be rewatches, are the two Anne of Green Gables movies and the 1994 version of Little Women.  And I like all three tremendously.) 

First on the list is The Long, Gray Line which is a movie that Elisabeth and I saw bits and pieces of on TCM and then discovered that our grandfather owned on DVD.  Basically, it’s the true life story of a man named Marty Maher and his fifty-some years with West Point.  It spans the two world wars and has lots of tragedy and triumph.  Very interesting, though not as interesting as the snippets Elisabeth and I saw led me to believe.  I think The Long, Gray Line was the first Tyrone Power I saw all the way through and I really liked him.  He put on a lovely Irish accent.  Incidentally, I’ve now watched all four movies (only four!) that Robert Francis starred in. *sigh*  I really like him as an actor and it’s such a shame that he died so young.

Next up is The Polar Express.  Weird, creepy, boring, and it sent a very wrong message, in my opinion. (Believe in Santa Claus with all your heart and if you don’t, you’re a horrible person.  Ugh.)  That’s all I’ve got to say about it.

THESE GUYS. With their grins and their tuff hair.

And then, thirdly…THE OUTSIDERS!  So, so good.  Casting was perfect and the film was spot-on when it came to book-accuracy (pretty much all the dialogue was taken straight from the book).  It was utterly amazing and heartbreaking all at the same time.  I know that not all the cast members matched their book descriptions, but I can’t imagine the characters any other way and everyone did such a great acting job.  If I had any complaint it would be that the characters got a little lost in the story and I didn’t see as much of them as I would’ve liked (does that make any sense to anyone but me?).  But, overall, it was super because I have a whole lot of feels about the story and the characters and the movie captured it all perfectly.  Definitely one of the best films I’ve seen this year. (Also, Ralph Macchio/Johnny is the most adorable ray of sunshine ever. <3)

4.  What grade are you in school (or how many years have you been done, you lucky duck) and what do you think of it?

I’ve been finished with school for a whole year, though I’ve been doing a couple of college-level courses with my grandfather in that year. (And will be continuing my studies with him for the foreseeable future.)  I find that I have more free time, of course, now that I’ve graduated from high school, and it’s a bit of a challenge to make sure that I don’t fritter away that extra time unimportant stuff.  So, it’s fun to be out of school but it’s also challenging.

5.  Speaking of school, what are your four best pieces of advice for everyone going in the grade below you?

After trying to come up with four pieces of advice, I’ve decided that it’s impossible, so I’ll leave ya’ll with just one: If you have to study something that you don’t like, for goodness’ sake, don’t waste all your time and energy grousing about having to study whatever it is – focus on getting as much good out of it as you can.  Trust me, it’s a far better alternative to having a bad attitude for days or weeks. (Something I know from personal experience.)

Google Image Result for http://shopruche.com/wp/wp-content/uploads/2012/09/audrey_hepburn_quote.jpg:

6.  Who are some of your favorite bloggers?  (I also love finding new blogs to stalk!)

I don’t read too many blogs these days (for sake of time), but there are a few I really enjoy: inklings press, Hamlette’s Soliloquy, The Edge of the Precipice, Wonderland Creek, A Lantern in Her Hand, Sidewalk Crossings, and The Second Sentence.

7.  Have you ever been to a concert?  If so, who did you see?  If not, do you ever want to go to one?

Nope, never been.  There was a Glenn Miller concert happening near(ish) me last year, but I didn’t get to go.  I’m not into rock concerts (Christian or otherwise), though, so I doubt I’ll ever go to one (since those seem to be the only concerts around, ever).

8.  Does your family have any interesting back-to-school/fall traditions?

Yep!  We always go to the Mandarin, which is an awesome Chinese/Canadian buffet, and sometimes have a party for the little kids in our family and the little kids whose family is friends with ours.  Not sure if we’ll do that this year but we actually went to the Mandarin just today (the days leading up the first day of school are going to be too busy, I think, to fit in a trip then).

9.  Who are five of your literary heroines?

Liesel (Sophie Nélisse) rescues a book from a bonfire to pursue her love of reading.:

Um…Katniss from The Hunger Games, Elinor from Sense & Sensibility, Adele from Violins of Autumn, Liesel from The Book Thief, and Rilla from Rilla of Ingleside.  There are loads more who I love and admire, too, like Jo from Little Women and Valancy from The Blue Castle and Maddie from Code Name Verity.  And the list goes on…

10. What’s a random thing you have in your room that you maybe can’t remember how it got there but know it’d be weird if it left?  (Awkward way of phrasing that, but you know what I mean.)

Well, there’s a stuffed rabbit I’ve had since I was a toddler but I don’t remember who gave it to me or how old I was, exactly, when I got it.  But that rabbit (whose name is Cream, because that’s what color she is…or, at least, what color she used to be – she’s sort of grey now) was my constant companion during my growing up years and she’s now installed in a place of honor on my top shelf and I’d feel lost without her in the room.  It may sound silly, but that’s how I feel.

11. Shameless selfish blog thing: What’s something you’d like to see more of on my blog?

Hmmm.  You do plenty of movie reviews and personal posts and all your book reviews are on Goodreads, so I really can’t think of anything.  I do like posts that are lists, though.  Like that one about Stanley Tucci or your favorite childhood movies.  So maybe more ‘list posts’ would be good.  I’d love that.

I hate tagging a bajillion people and then going through all the hassle of notifying them that they’ve been tagged, so if I mentioned your blog in question #6, consider yourself tagged. 🙂 And here are my eleven questions!

1. What was the last book you read and what did you think of it?

2. Who are five of your favorite literary heroes?

3. What is the most prominent color in your wardrobe?

4. Have you ever traveled outside your country of residence?

5. Do you write? (As in fiction – short stories, novellas, novels, etc.)

6. Coffee, tea, or hot chocolate?

7. What is your favorite boy’s name?

8. What is your favorite girl’s name?

9. Do you/have you ever owned a pet?

11. What’s your favorite movies of ALL TIME?

11. Have you ever been on a roller-coaster?

Have fun!

Eva

Save

Save

13 thoughts on “the liebster tag

  1. “Echo” and “The Book Thief.” YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS. (Seriously, I’m so happy you loved “Echo” as much as I did–I rather thought it’d be your cup of tea, with the WW2 setting and all.)

    Huh. I loved the book “The Polar Express” as a kid, but I’ve never seen the movie so I can’t comment on it really . . .

    I seriously need to read/watch “The Outsiders.” Except I just started grad school today and probably won’t be reading or watching anything non-school-related for quite a while . . . *sighs* But I’m enjoying school so far, so that’s a plus.

    Like

    • I got my sister, Elisabeth, to check Echo out from the library and she’s reading it right now – and liking it, so far. 🙂 It’s a great book.

      Oooh, YES. You must read/watch The Outsiders! (Read the book first, then watch the Complete Novel DVD Edition of the movie. It’s basically the director’s cut, and it’s so much better – I’ve heard – than the theatrical cut.)

      Like

  2. YAYYYYYY. I didn’t think anybody would actually do the tag. XD And because you did, *cracks knuckles* I’m gonna reply to all of it. Because I’m supposed to be doing school but I don’t like the book I’m reading and I already blew through all the Hamilton songs I know on the piano and I need one more thing to do before I go back to it. 😛

    1) *shoots hand up* ME ME ME I HATE PINTEREST’S NEW DESIGN. ugh. like seriously???

    2) Thank you, yes, this is everything I’ve ever felt about the subject. *leads rousing applause*

    3) Polar Express – thank you. I thought I was the only one. I’ve seen most of it, but the parts I saw didn’t entice me – not even Josh Hutcherson’s or Tom Hanks’ lovely voices could’ve made me watch the whole thing. I’m forever indebted to you for recommending that book to me. (And the movie JUST came in at my library and I’m gonna get it tomorrow and I’m SO EXCITED!)

    4) Good for you! I’m so ready to be done, lol. Frittering away my extra time is something I’m worried about, too. Not looking forward to having deadlines every week! The self-imposed ones will still be there, though, and I can finally get back to serious work on my novels!

    5) Great advice!

    6) Aww. 🙂 I love your blog (and you) too. I know that you know that, but I haven’t said it recently. ❤

    7) I've only been to one – Hunter Hayes, back in '14 – and I'd like to go to a twenty one pilots concert at some point, but I'm not huge on concerts, either. They're so expensive! Plus, I don't like going by myself. 😛

    8) Ooh cool!

    9) Great list! I share most of those. 🙂 (And I swear I look for Violins of Autumn every time I go to my used bookstore – or any bookstore, for that matter. Guess I'll just have to splurge sometime in the future and get it online!)

    10) I know EXACTLY how you feel. I have a neon-colored stuffed dinosaur whose name is Pullah for reasons I won't go into, and he's still on my bookshelf (right beside my Bitty Twin doll and my American Girl books and my writing books – no shame).

    11) Thanks for the suggestions! I love those blog posts too. 🙂

    ❤ ❤ ❤

    Like

    • Thanks for you lovely, looooong comment! 🙂 I’m about to go watch Psych with Noah and Ezra so I can’t reply in kind, but I just want to say that I love this comment + your blog + you. *hugs* And if I ever find a copy of VoA at a used bookstore, I’ll buy it and send it to you ASAP. And then you have to read it right away. Deal? 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh, thanks for the blog shout-out! I’ve kind of given up doing general blog tags, at least for the present, but these questions are fun so I’ll do them here:

    1. Escape the Night by Mignon Eberhart, a murder-mystery set in California in the early 1940s—not my favorite of the three Eberhart novels I’ve read (that would be my first, Postmark Murder), but still enjoyable.

    2. You know, I honestly don’t know. I’ve seen this question before and could never answer it. I’ve got to think about this.

    3. I don’t think there’s one color that’s most prominent in quantity, but my favorite colors to wear are light green for spring/summer and deep purple and/or burgundy for fall and winter.

    4. No. As a matter of fact I’ve only visited three states, but I’d like to travel more!

    5. Yes. 🙂

    6. Peppermint tea (with hot chocolate a close second).

    7. Philip

    8. Charlotte

    9. Yes—counting our current one, a three-year-old German Shepherd, I’ve had four dogs in my lifetime.

    11. Top four: The Sound of Music, Sense and Sensibility (’95), The Treasure of the Sierra Madre, Rio Grande (’50).

    12. Yes—a pretty small one at a local amusement park (now gone, sadly!)

    Like

    • I’ve seen all four of your favorite movies except for Rio Grande. Does that have John Wayne in it? (I’m always interested in seeing more John Wayne movies because I don’t like him much as an actor yet…but I really want to ‘get’ what everyone else likes about him so much. :)) And thanks for taking the time to answer this!

      Like

  4. Oh, I DESPISE the new Pinterest design. I especially don’t like that you can’t unfold the bigger images without fullscreening them.

    Yes, my goodness Polar Express is weird!!!

    Like

  5. 1. Letters of a Woman Homesteader. I love the earthy, raw sense of humor in the letters, and the optimism, and the descriptions of the canyon and red skies.
    2. Scarlett O’Hara, Jane Eyre, Elizabeth Bennet, Elinor Dashwood, Jo March
    3. Tan!! 😆
    4. Nope.
    5. Novels, short stories, poetry.
    6. Tea!
    7. Oh, see, I can’t share this. Then I’d have to get a new one.
    8. Likewise.
    9. Always! Poodles and kitties.
    11. All time? Gone with the Wind. Followed shortly by Little Women (1994) and Sense and Sensibility (1995.) Often Little Women is the most favorite. So cozy.
    11. Yes. I disliked it so much it made me laugh, because I was tricked into riding on it. By my sister.

    Like

  6. I’m going to answer your questions here cuz I juuuuuust did a Liebster. But thanks for the nom! (And YES! I hate the new Pinterest look. Blech.)

    1. Just finished re-reading “The Witch of Blackbird Pond” by Elizabeth George Speare and was pleasantly surprised to discover that it’s even better than I’d remembered!

    2. Boromir from “The Lord of the Rings,”
    Sherlock Holmes,
    Captain Wentworth from “Persuasion” by Jane Austen,
    Philip Marlowe from Raymond Chandler’s novels
    Shane from “Shane” by Jack Schaefer

    3. Black. It’s just that a lot of t-shirts I want to own for fandom reasons are on black shirts. And I have several black skirts.

    4. Indeed. I’ve been to Canada many times, and also to Mexico and Poland and Ukraine and some little Caribbean islands.

    5. I do write. Not as often as I’d like, right now, but fall approacheth, and my creative hibernation is drawing to an end. Whew.

    6. Hmmm. I drink coffee every day, but I think I love hot chocolate more.

    7. James

    8. Anne

    9. Yup. Lots of cats when I was a kid, and three dogs.

    11. “The Man from Snowy River.” Always.

    11. LOTS of them! I really love roller coasters. But, alas, I’ve never ridden one with Dana Andrews. Sniff.

    Like

    • Loved your answers! (I wasn’t really expecting you to do this tag because, like you said, you just did it on your blog…so thanks for surprising me. :))

      I saw a VHS of The Man From Snowy River at a thrift store and was tempted to get it because my grandparents have a VHS player. But I wasn’t sure if it was clean or not. 😛 Soooo…is it?

      Like

Leave a Reply

