nineteen before nineteen: a birthday bucket list

I’m eighteen today, guys.

Whaaaaaaaat.

Honestly, I’m having a hard time believing it myself – I feel the same as I did yesterday.  Eighteen is a big milestone, though, and reaching it is amazing.  So much has happened in the past year and at first I considered writing a blog post about all of that, but I finally decided to do a bucket list instead.  The New Year’s Tag usually catches everything that happens in my life (all the important stuff, at least) and I’ve seen this idea for a bucket list drifting around the blogosphere for quite some time.  Here goes!

1. Read the Bible through in one month.  I tried this one time before, but I ended up skimming far more than I read.  With my new-found faith and love for God’s Word, I can’t wait to do this in whichever month I chose.

2. Own a cat.  My grandparents have an adorable cat and I’ve recently realized that I’d love to have one of my own.  We shall see.

My grandparents' cat, Chloe.

My grandparents’ cat, Chloe.

3. Vote.  Since this is the first year I can.

4. Finish editing The Bounty Hunter This has been an on-going project for at least a year and it’s time that I got serious about it.  The characters are near and dear to my heart, though I have to admit that on paper, they don’t seem like much (just in my head).  And I know I can do it, too.

5. Participate in a walk for a charity.  I think it would be fun and, more importantly, helpful.  And in that same vein…

6. Donate blood.  Something I’ve wanted to do for a long time.

7. Meet at least one of my internet friends.  Right now, I don’t see how that could happen, but I can always hope (and pray).  I’ve made so many good friends online in the past several years and being able to meet one (or more) of them face-to-face would be fantastic.

8. Lose weight.  The on-going battle. *wink*

Basically.

9. Finish coloring my Romeo & Juliet adult coloring book.  It’s absolutely gorgeous, girls, and I know it will be even more stunning once it’s all colored in.  There are beautiful quotes from the play on each page, including my personal favorite: “…Give me my Romeo.  And when I shall die / Take him and cut him out in little stars / And he will make the face of heaven so fine / That all the world will be in love with night…”  Gahhhhh.

10. Throw someone a surprise birthday party.  Haven’t figured out who just yet, but I enjoy planning events, so that’ll be tons of fun.

11. Make a significant dent in the amount of books on my shelves that I haven’t read yet.  As in, reading them.  Not throwing them out.  Duh.  I’d say about a third of the books on my shelves have never been read. (Embarrassing, right?)

12. Comment on more blog posts.  While I think I’m pretty good about replying to just about every comment I get on my blog, I hardly ever comment on the posts of others – even best friends’ blogs. (Which is kind of stupid.)  But I know the thrill of seeing a new comment waiting to be read, so I feel like I should interact more with the blogs I follow.

13. Learn ASL (American Sign Language).  Ever since I started watching Sue Thomas F.B. Eye, I’ve been fascinated with ASL and since my family owns a couple of books on how to learn the language (and I have two sisters who are enthusiastic about it as well) I can’t wait to give it a try.

Deaf Culture<3 this sign almost has more impact to me than just SAYING the words.:

14. Spend less time online.  In the past few months I’ve started doing this more and more but I know that I could be spending even less time on my laptop and more time reading, cooking, hanging out with my family, etc., etc.

15. Cosplay.  Yesssssss.

16. Take over the cooking/baking in my home completely.  I already do a good amount work in the kitchen (creating delicious meals is one of my favorite things to do) but I think it would be a big help to Mom + great experience for me to do everything (maybe even menu planning), especially with school starting so soon.

17. Watch Captain America: Civil War.  I have waited so, so long, you guys.  Definitely needs to happen sometime SOON.

18. Host a read-along on this blog.  Hamlette, over at The Edge of the Precipice, has hosted several read-alongs and it looks like great fun.  And since I love books so much, I think a read-along would be a perfect way to get everyone reading/talking about one of my favorites.  Still haven’t made a decision about which one to read, yet, though I’m leaning toward The Outsiders (though that could just be because it’s my current book crush).  Any suggestions?

19. Spend more time focusing on the Things That Matter and less time on the things that don’t.  Pretty self-explanatory, right?

So, those are my hopes and plans for this coming year, guys.  What are your thoughts?

Eva

Save

30 thoughts on “nineteen before nineteen: a birthday bucket list

  1. Happy Birthday, Eva!! 🙂 ❤ Your goals are GREAT. I hope you get to do loads or all of them!
    BY THE WAY. YOUR LAST POST WAS SO GOOD. About the letters. Just so you know: I LOVED IT. 🙂 (Walter my dear boy.)
    And your blog look is absolutely gorgeous! Very good job! 🙂

    Happy Birthday again!!! 🙂 Love you, girl! xx

    Like

    • Thanks so much! I’ve already started on the commenting goal…after today’s revelries I’ll probably sit back and figure out just how I’m going to accomplish everything. Organization is the key. 🙂

      I’m glad you liked that post + my new header. (I’m always glad when you like my blog designs. You do such lovely ones yourself. Though your new, simple one is not to be taken lightly.)

      Like

  2. Happy 18th birthday, dear Eva!!! I hope you have a wonderful, wonderful day and an amazing year! And I’m sure you will 🙂 Your’re an awesome person and I’m so happy and grateful to be your friend ❤

    And that's a great bucket list! Don't lose faith in your story, even if it doesn't seem quite as good as you wanted it to right now–because you're the only one who can tell that story, and if you don't, nobody besides you will ever know how beautiful it was. (I have to tell myself this All. The. Time. But it's worth it, I know 😉 )

    Like

    • Aw, thanks. 🙂 *hugs* I feel blessed to have so many great friends online, honestly.

      The thing about my writing is that I’m terrible at characterization – I never sit down and actually figure out anything about my characters before I start writing, except for how they relate to the plot. Sometimes I don’t even know their last name or their hair color for weeks! 😛 If you have any tips on characterization, let me know, okay? 🙂

      Like

      • Me, too! *returns hug*

        The thing that helps me most with characterization is knowing exactly what my characters look like, before I actually write anything about them. A lot of my friends think I’m kinda nuts, because they don’t see how “knowing what they look like” is so important . . . but I literally can’t write anything without it. (And I’ve tried.)

        That means that, whenever I’m trying to pin down a new story idea, I literally spend DAYS scouring the Internet for photos of my protagonist and the other important characters . . . It’s really hard because, at that point, I don’t KNOW exactly what they look like so I’m never really sure what I’m looking for; but eventually, I always manage to stumble on some photo that “jumps out” at me and says, “Hey! Pick me! I’m the hero of your story!”

        Once I have the photos and I know exactly what everybody looks like, then I start giving them names–first and last names both–and then, I write down everything I know about their characters, backstories, personalities, etc. So by the time I’m done, I end up having a pretty good 3-d picture of each character in my mind . . . and that’s when I start ACTUALLY writing 🙂

        It’s kind of a weird process, and I don’t know if it’d work for anybody else, but I really enjoy it . . . 🙂

        Like

      • That’s interesting characterization advice…personally, I’ve drifted away from casting my characters (though sometimes I’ll build a character from one of my favorite actors or actresses) and I find that making Pinterest boards or whatever for my stories doesn’t help much, inspiration-wise, but figuring out a name/backstory is DEFINITELY something that I have to start doing. 🙂 Thanks for the tips!

        Like

  3. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!! I too turned 18 this past summer. It’s such an exciting, scary, and wonderful age. Although, in some respects ,not much changes. 😉
    Awww! I hope you can get a cat. I love cats. I used to have quite a few outdoor cats, but then we moved and had to leave them behind. 😦 Thankfully the new owners liked animals.
    Voting and finishing editing my book are two things I’m hoping to do during my eighteenth year as well. 🙂
    I’m so glad to hear I’m not the only one with an exorbitant amount of books on my shelves that have never been read! 😛
    All the best to your coming year! I hope you succeed in all your goals!

    Like

  4. Happy Birthday!
    May you have many wonderful memories in your 18th year, and I hope you can complete at least most of the items on your bucket list.

    Like

  5. Well, I didn’t see this ’til just now. WHOOPS.

    Great list, Eva! Best of luck getting them done!!! (You’ll probably have better luck than I do with my lists – LOL.)

    Happy birthday again!!!

    Like

  6. I just read the Outsiders . . . based on your indirect recommendation. I kept seeing your pins about the movie and noticed it featured a young Rob Lowe. I decided I had to watch it, but there is a wait-list at the library, so I went ahead and read the book first. Oh, my, lets tear peoples hearts out shall we?!

    Like

    • Ohhhhh, I know what you mean about the feels. Literally one of the saddest books I’ve ever read (though, thankfully, there’s hope as well). Who was your favorite character? Mine’s Darry. (Closely followed by everyone else.)

      Like

      • Well, since I knew Sodapop was played by Rob Lowe, and his character fit well, he was my favorite then his brothers. Steve was probably my least favorite, don’t really understand why Sodapop liked him, of course the narrator WAS biased . . . I knew one of the gang died, so I was convinced it was one of the brothers for awhile, so I found that part less sad than I was anticipating; I didn’t “get” Dally.

        Like

      • Sodapop is one my favorites, too. ❤ I find that each time I re-read the book, I like Steve a little better, maybe because I'm separating the narrator (Ponyboy) from the actual story and recognizing that, yes, he is biased.

        Like

  7. Having just re-read The Outsiders this month, I say… yes, please host a read-along for it! I would totally participate.

    My invitation for you and your mom to take a mother-daughter road trip down here and stay at my house is still open. To help fulfill your #7 and all. Google says it’s only like a 10-hour drive…

    My mom used to watch Sue Thomas, FB Eye, and she showed me a couple eps — it was fun!

    Like

    • Okay, well, if I can get everything organized and all that, I’ll definitely be doing that read-along. Any tips for hosting one?

      Aw…I’d love to, but Mom hates going anywhere without Dad. 🙂 (Which I can totally understand, but… *sigh*) (We are DEFINITELY watching Mag7 together, though, when we do end up meeting – as long as we have time.)

      Like

      • Tips? Um… plan on it consuming WAY more time than you expect it to. Chapter posts usually take me at least an hour. As opposed to a book review post that I can toss off in like 20 minutes.

        We’ll make it happen somehow, some day 🙂

        You do not have to twist my arm to get me to watch Mag7. I cannot overwatch that film.

        Like

  8. Pingback: nineteeen years! | coffee, classics, & craziness

Leave a Reply

