busy, busy, busy

For the first time in my life, I understand a little of what college life is like.  Since the new school year started, my grandfather has begun three college courses with me – British Literature, The Life of Christ, and a worldview course – and I have a stack of books to read and DVDs to watch that’s about half as tall as me.  Whew.  Plus, I’m finally (for the first time in several months) getting serious about my writing, so that’s going to take up a considerable amount of my time as well.  I have four or five projects that I really want to work on right now (writing and sewing both) and there aren’t enough hours in the day. (Well, there are, but just barely.)  And I want to keep posting here, too.  Do you see my dilemma?

So.

My college work comes first.  I usually meet with my grandfather once a day (could be upped to twice a day, though) and we go over the stuff I’ve read and learned in between.  Then I have to go and read more stuff. (And we usually watch a DVD together.)  Then comes writing.  The main thing that got me serious about writing again was this: God has given me the gift of writing.  I really believe that.  And since He’s given it to me, it would be incredibly wrong to squander that gift and let it drift away for lack of actual doing.  Totally wrong.  Hence, I must write. (Anyway, I’m excited to start writing again simply because I went over several of my stories when I was organizing my documents and they aren’t actually half bad.  In fact, some of them are pretty good, in my unprofessional opinion.  WOOT.)  After college stuff and writing, I have chores and cooking meals and sewing projects and living in general.

Then, and only then, can I work on other things.  Like blogging, emailing, watching movies, and reading books that aren’t Required.  And Pinteresting.  Always Pinteresting. *wink*  Will it be hard to cram all that in?  Sure.  But I’m not worried, because I have God and an awesome family and plenty of determination. 

I’m optimistic.

Eva

8 thoughts on “busy, busy, busy

  1. I feel you, fam. I’m in the middle of three college courses right now, and that entails finishing up a 10-page research paper, taking a mid-term next week, taking a final next week, and starting another 10-page research paper. And then finishing all. three. courses. by the end of the month. *runs away weeping* But I’m nearing the end. And, hey, at least now I know that if I can make it through this, I can make it through anything.

    And I definitely agree about the writing thing. Writing is a gift from God and we can’t squander it (or bury it, lol). For me, though, that means putting my novels aside ’til I’m finished with college so that I can focus on my degree and learn how to write better in the meantime. (Obviously, I’m still perfecting my novels in my mind and plotting all the new ones. 😉 ) Can’t wait to hear more about your college life!

    Like

  2. I KNOW WHAT YOU MEAN ABOUT COLLEGE BEING A LOT OF WORK.

    *tries hard not to think about the book review that has to be finished by 11:59 pm tonight*

    But you can do this!! I have confidence in you, my friend 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

