the five favorite couples tag

I ship fictional characters like crazy.  Hence, I’m totally doing this tag.

(Taken from Hamlette’s blog post.  I’m also borrowing her idea of using not-featured-in-the-tag couples for the above collage.  ‘Cause that’s a brilliant idea, and it allowed me to sneak in a few more favorite ships because, as it turned out, it was nearly impossible to narrow them down.  So I’m adding a runner-up couple for each category, too.)

EDIT: (There will be spoilers.  Just so you know.)

Rules

1.) Pick one couple from each category
2.) Tagging is optional
3.) Link back to Meanwhile, In Rivendell

Categories

1.) Period Drama Couple
2.) Sci-Fi/Fantasy Couple
3.) Superhero Couple
4.) Preferred Couple (from a love triangle)
5.) Couple Ended Too Soon

// Period Drama Couple – Robin & Marian {BBC Robin Hood} //

When my siblings and I binge-watched BBCRH several months ago, I fell in love with this ship all over again.  To be honest, I don’t really like Robin and Marian’s relationship much in Season 1 – Marian flirts with Guy and keeps Robin at a frosty distance (most of the time) and Robin tends to angst about that quite a bit.  They have good chemistry, just not a good relationship.  But after Marian almost dies in the Season 1 finale, she and Robin realize that they’ve been idiots to drag things out and Marian warms quite a bit.  There’s still lots of complications in Season 2, but relationship-wise, they’re in a happier place.  My favorite thing about this couple is their steadfastness.  Especially Robin’s. (Too. Many. Feels.)

Runner-up: Percy & Marguerite {The Scarlet Pimpernel}

// Sci-Fi/Fantasy Couple – Frank & Athena {Tomorrowland} //

You’ve probably never heard of this ship because Tomorrowland wasn’t well received when it came out and, from what I gather, it’s sort of dropped out of sight now among Disney fans.  I do love it a lot, though.  This ship is a little weird, because Athena is a cyborg and even though Frank’s about her ‘age’ when they first meet, he grows up and she’s still the same.  BUT I WILL STILL GO DOWN WITH THIS SHIP.  Athena’s programming gets messed up some time after she first meets Frank and she begins to fall in love with him, but of course it would never, ever work out in a million years.  And then he thinks that she betrayed him later on and it’s hugely complicated and  heartbreaking near the end. (Ugh.  All my ships seem to be heartbreaking.)

Runner-up: George & Lorraine {Back To The Future}

// Superhero Couple – Mr. Incredible & Elastigirl {The Incredibles} //

http://vignette1.wikia.nocookie.net/disney/images/f/fa/Incredibles-disneyscreencaps.com-572.jpg/revision/latest?cb=20140613025241

“What?!” you exclaim.  “No Steve Rogers and Peggy Carter???”  Don’t worry.  They’re the runner-up couple.  But I’ve talked about them before and you all know how much I love them and will ship them forever and, well, I recently grew to appreciate just how awesome The Incredibles is, so I wanted to talk about Mr. Incredible and Elastigirl.  Because they’re pretty epic.  I love how they get married, I love how Helen (honestly, I just refer to them by their ‘undercover names’ in my head) goes after Bob, making her way through Syndrome’s base and being generally awesome, and I love how they love each other.  Plus, there’s all that playful banter.  They’re a couple that genuinely cares for each other and strives to protect/make the other one happy at every turn.  Going from being a superhero to always being in hiding (so to speak) and on the run, kind of, couldn’t have been easy, but they have a strong marriage.  Their relationship is one of my favorite things about the movie.

Runner-up: Steve & Peggy {Captain America movies}

// Preferred Couple – Mark & Laura {Laura} //

https://i2.wp.com/imgc.allpostersimages.com/images/P-473-488-90/67/6722/8FNA100Z/posters/laura-gene-tierney-dana-andrews-1944.jpg

More like ‘preferred couple from a love scribble’ because you’ve got Shelby interested in Laura, sure, but then Waldo also has a creepy obsession with her and there’s all those other guys who Laura was interested in until Waldo destroyed their reputation in his column.  And all that’s enough to make any girl’s head spin, which is why I think Laura liked Mark so much.  He came from outside her circle of society friends, he was different, and he was solid.  Someone she could hold onto and depend on in the middle of the whole mess she found herself in when she got back, even if it didn’t always seem like Mark understood her or even liked her back.  And as for Mark, it’s not every day that you fall in love with a dead woman only to find out that she’s not dead after all.  My sister and I always laugh over some of the questions he asks Laura in the police interrogating room, because it always sounds like he’s trying to find out more about her feelings for Shelby than about the murder.  Anyway, Mark and Laura are great and Dana Andrews and Gene Tierney have stunning chemistry. (All told, they did five films together.)  Love them!

Runner-up: Peeta & Katniss {The Hunger Games series}

// Couple Ended Too Soon – Jack & Rose {Titanic} //

I’m still not over these two.  Even though I definitely don’t agree with some of the choices they made, Jack and Rose were such a bright, sparkling, adorable couple and I think they would’ve grown to love each other even more if they’d actually more a couple of days together. (*feels a rant building up*)  Honestly.  Jack gave Rose something to live for when she was on the brink of suicide.  Rose gave Jack someone to love (and I think he matured some, too, being in love with her, because he wasn’t just thinking about himself then).  I was expecting to find Titanic cheesy, mostly because Rose and Jack’s love story has been mocked and parodied so many times, but their relationship was beautiful and strong and then, BAM, tragedy struck.  So, yes, they are most definitely a couple that ended too soon.

Runner-up: EVERY COUPLE EVERY. (Am I right?)

Do you spot any of your favorite couples in this post? (College, main picks, runners-up, whatever.)  If you do, you’re tagged!

Eva

Save

Save

14 thoughts on “the five favorite couples tag

  1. I ALMOST picked Mark and Laura for the “preferred couple” question! Actually started putting together a collage for them, but then I worried that people who hadn’t seen the movie would read it and be spoiled and and and and… thank you for choosing them 🙂 They are wonderful, and I couldn’t agree more with what Laura seems to see in Mark.

    Like

    • Oops! I forgot to tell people that there’d be spoilers. *goes back and adds in an alert*

      And I’m glad you agree with my thoughts on why Laura likes Mark because it literally just came to me as I was writing about them and I was worried that it wasn’t all that great of a theory. 😛 I really need to watch that movie again now…

      Like

  2. Awesome post! I completely agree with your feelings towards The Incredibles – such a great movie (and BBCRH is a great TV show as well.) I might do this tag at some point in the future, and I certainly see at least 3 of my favorite couples in this post, so thank you so much.

    Like

  3. Ahh, I too love Robin+Marian and Mark+Laura, but I wanted to comment on Bob+Helen. I love them so much! Honestly, it astounds me every time how intense the jet-blowing-up-and-Bob-thinks-they-died scene is. It brings me to tears more often than not by the strong emotions and realism exhibited by the characters! Especially Bob…..*sobs.*

    Thank goodness they didn’t actually die. :’) (We’re dead! We’re dead! We survived but we’re dead!)

    Like

  4. I’m going to do this tag too, I think 🙂 (I saw some of my favorite couples in the collage . . . so I think that means I’m tagged . . . )

    1. Mmmmmmmmmmmm. Too many. Can I just pick Liesel and Rudy from “The Book Thief”? That’s a period drama, right? Cuz I LOVE THEM AND I SHIP THEM SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO HARD.
    2. Definitely Rey and Finn from “Star Wars” 🙂
    3. Dunno. Peter Parker and Gwen Stacy, maybe? Maybe?
    4. Eliot and Parker from “Leverage.” *glares hard at screenwriters*
    5. Shawn Hunter and Angela from “Boy Meets World” . . . *sniffles*

    Like

    • I only know Liesel and Rudy out of all those ships (though I’ve heard of most of the others) and I do have to say that I ship Max and Liesel more than her and Rudy. That’s just my opinion. 🙂

      Like

      • Haha . . . I ship them both. 😉 Like, if Rudy hadn’t died I definitely wanted him to end up with Liesel; and I think Max wanted them to be together, too. But since Rudy doesn’t survive and Max does, I really want Liesel to marry Max because he’s so sweet, and I also think he’s the person who can best help her rebuild her life. (And vice versa.)

        Like

      • Yes, I guess I have the same opinion toward both ships – I just think that Rudy is still so much of a little boy and Liesel seems much more mature than him. I dunno. I need to read the book again + re-watch the movie.

        Like

  5. Pingback: five male characters tag | coffee, classics, & craziness

Leave a Reply

