on writing, creative juices, and NaNoWriMo

Artists.

We draw.  We paint.  We write.  We make fan-videos and cards and covers of our favorite songs.  We bind books.  We upload every type of fan-art possible.  We compose songs and poetry.  We sew and knit and crochet and embroider.  We design things.  We take photographs, all the time.  We play the piano, the violin, the cello, the flute, the harmonica.  We laugh at our mistakes and shiver with delight when that sentence, that shade of color, that lyric, that scarf we’ve been knitting for two months finally becomes perfect.

We create.  Over and over and over again.  Sometimes (more often than not) what we create isn’t perfect.  It’s messy and full of blunders and sometimes we might worry and fret that nothing will ever come of it.  But it does.  And even if it didn’t, I have a feeling we’d still keep trying.  Endlessly.

Something that’s been on my heart lately is how we, all of us, have the impulse to do things, to make things.  Even the most creatively challenged person in the world must have that desire in his or her heart to create, to craft, to form, to produce something that is unique, something that maybe no-one has ever thought of before.  And you know why?  The answer is both the simplest and the most incredible reason ever: each and every person on this planet has been created in the image of God, the master Creator.  He has placed His image, His imprint in our lives and souls.  That’s an inescapable fact.  We yearn to create, to take the picture in our head and turn it into something real, because that’s how we ourselves have been made.  The same God who shaped the stars, the earth, the leaves on the trees also formed you and me.  And that is why we do what we do.  That’s why we write and paint and play musical instruments.  Because we want to, because that’s the way God has designed us, with an impulse that is an innate part of who we are.

And, to me, that’s is utterly, astoundingly amazing.

Eva

P.S. On the day before NaNoWriMo, I decide to take the plunge and do it again.  HELP.

Save

Save

Save

18 thoughts on “on writing, creative juices, and NaNoWriMo

  1. GUUUUUUURRRLLL. 🙂

    You know I’m all about livin’ the creative life. 😉 And yes, of course it all goes back to the source of everything – God! Wonderful post. ❤

    PS GOOD LUCK WITH NANO.

    Like

    • I’m so glad you liked this! 🙂

      And THANK YOU for the good luck wishes. My story is going swimmingly, but I’m so busy that I’m finding it hard to get time to write each day. 😛 I’m all caught up with my word count right now and I hope it stays that way. (I wrote for a couple of hours in the wee hours of this morning. I’m sure all this staying up late/early is going to catch up with me, especially since I’m in charge of all my little siblings right now, too.)

      Like

  2. Oh, Eva, you ought to read The Mind of the Maker by Dorothy Sayers. It’s an entire book dealing with this very idea: that man, being made in the image of God, partakes of his nature as Creator. I found it quite fascinating (especially since she uses writing in most of her examples when discussing the creative life!).

    Like

  3. I love you. I know that can seem simplistic and overdone, but it is true none the less. You inspire me to seek out once more my creative side. Thank you for the reminder and for pointing us all once more to the Creator who gave us such marvelous gifts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

