my shiny, brand-new copy of…

*squeals*

Isn’t it beautiful???  And when I say shiny, I really do mean shiny, because the title is in metallic gold and so is the quote on the back.  I’m sure you can all guess what quote it is, too.

Nope.  Not crying.  I just have a story about greasers and friendship and loyalty and AWESOMENESS in my eye.

So, in case you’re interested, the bonus features are super.  There are letters from S.E. Hinton to her agent and publisher (and from them to her) and I found it very interesting how they hashed out certain details of the story, especially the title.  They had several different titles in mind, from The Greasers to The Switchblade Boys.  I’d have to say that, even looking at things as objectively as I can, The Outsiders was far and away the best choice.

There was also a nice surprise when I first opened the book.

Picture taken from the back of the book because it was easier. But it’s the exact same thing at the front.

Oh, look at that.  It’s all my favorite quotes in one place.

EPIC.

Anyway, to return to the bonus content, there’s also some reviews of the book from various newspapers and websites and several different covers, most of them foreign.  Some are beautiful and very relevant to the story (France, Germany, Vietnam, Sweden), some are weird (Italy, Romania, Spain, Korea), but they’re all unique and wonderful in their own way.

And THEN there’s my favorite part of the bonus material: special messages from Francis Ford Coppola, Ralph Macchio, C. Thomas Howell, Matt Dillon, Rob Lowe, Emilio Estevez, and Darren Dalton (who plays Randy).  Each one is amusing and/or heartwarming.  My favorite bit is probably from C. Thomas Howell’s reflections: “I speak in classrooms every year to seventh and eight graders who literally sob because Ponyboy is there.  I’m sure a few are crying from the horrific discovery that Pony is now a fifty-year-old man, but I digress.”  Or Rob Lowe’s comment: “To have a gaggle of bright-eyed, excitable thirteen-year-olds scream ‘Sodapop!’ to a fifty-two-year-old man is pretty cool indeed, and I’m very grateful.” (That would be me.  Only, I’m eighteen. *blushes*)

Honestly, if you’re a fan of The Outsiders, you pretty much NEED this edition.  It’s new and bright and bursting with awesome extras.

Eva

P.S. I know I still have to answer some questions from the Ask Me Anything post.  And I have a pretty amazing tag about fictional male characters in my drafts that’s begging to be finished, but I’m juggling school and NaNoWriMo and this blog and answering emails and blog comments.  So, I just thought I’d write this little post today and worry about the deeper ones tomorrow.

Save

Save

12 thoughts on “my shiny, brand-new copy of…

  1. “I lie to myself all the time. But I never believe me.” Gosh, that’s . . . that’s relatable. Painfully so.

    Your new book is so beautiful 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: the New Year’s tag {2016-2017} | coffee, classics, & craziness

Leave a Reply

