five male characters tag

I’ve done this tag for fictional female characters and for fictional couples.  So, I thought it’d be only right that I do it for fictional guys next.  This tag has floated around the blogging world for a while now and I wasn’t tagged with it (or maybe I was and just forgot), but I’m cheating and doing it anyway. (I’m starting to like tags – they’re so fun and easy.)

Rules:

1.) List 5 of your favorite male characters (book or screen)

2.) Tagging other people is optional

3.) If you are tagged link back to the person that tagged you

4.) Link back to Revealed In Time

Categories:

1.) Hero

2.) Villain

3.) Anti-hero

4.) Best book-to-screen adaption

5.) Best character perception

// Hero – Indiana Jones {the Indiana Jones franchise} //

Cue the theme music, guys. (Reports have actually shown that this paragraph will be 100% more awesome if you listen to this while you read it.)  What can I say about Indy that hasn’t already been said?  He’s a rover, he’s a loner (some of the time), he’s an adventurer, he’s flawed, he’s brave, he’s heroic, he cares very deeply about the important people in his life though he usually tries to bury those feelings under layers of wit, sarcasm, and banter. (And sometimes anger.)  He has the coolest outfit ensemble and probably the most recognizable silhouette in the history of film.  He’s awesome.  He’s played by Harrison Ford. (See previous sentence.)  And even though he’s tough and impossibly epic and courageous most of the time, it’s the rare moments of emotion and vulnerability that make him one of my favorite fictional heroes of all time. (Like when his dad gets shot?  Still makes me tear up.  Or when I thinks he’s lost Marian in Raiders.)

// Villain – Ratigan {The Great Mouse Detective} //

There are so many great cinematic villains out there, but I chose Ratigan because he was one of the first villains that really, truly freaked me out.  I was quite young when I first watched TGMD and Ratigan transforms into a madman (mad-rat?) near the end in a pretty creepy way and it left an impression on me.  For most of the film, however, he’s a suave, gentleman’s villain with one of the greatest Disney villain songs of all timeTwo, actually!  And he’s voiced by the indomitable Vincent Price, one of the most iconic players-of-villainous-characters to ever grace the silver screen.  I’d have to say it’s one of the best voice casting decisions ever.  Ratigan is evil to the core (he tosses his henchmice to a cat whenever they displease him), but he’s so clever and debonair about it that only he could be a worthy opponent for Basil, TGMD’s mouse version of Sherlock Holmes.  Forget Moriarty.  Ratigan is one of the most evil Sherlock villains of them all.

// Anti-hero – Rick Blaine {Casablanca} //

I hate love triangles, usually for one of two reasons: either said triangle is written/scripted so poorly that I want to pull my hair out over the stupidity of it all, or it’s well-written and super feelsy and I end up heartbroken over one (or more) of the characters involved.  The love triangle in Casablanca is the latter and Rick is my favorite character of the three (Rick, Ilsa, and Laszlo).  Rick’s life is just fine since he runs the finest establishment in Casablanca and is a sort of friendly dictator over the patrons and staff alike.  And then Ilsa walks in with Victor Laszlo and nothing is ever the same in Rick’s life.  Just like he was never the same after meeting Ilsa for the first time.  The plot is rubbish, mostly, but it’s the characters that draw you into the movie and Rick is one of my favorites.  He’s taciturn and bitter and downright horrible to Ilsa at times, but in the end, his true character shines through the moment he pulls that gun on Renault.  Casablanca is a wonderful movie and so much of that wonderfulness takes place in the last fifteen minutes or so.  And most of that is because of Rick.

// Best book-to-screen adaption – Ralph Macchio as Johnny Cade {The Outsiders} //

There are so many people I could have picked for this category (Gregory Peck as Atticus Finch, Josh Hutcherson as Peeta Mellark…), but I decided on Ralph as Johnny because I watched The Outsiders semi-recently and Ralph Macchio loved playing Johnny and he did an awesome job of it.  When I talk about how actors and actresses portray fictional characters, one of the most important things in my mind is how well they matched the book’s description of said character.  And, well, they couldn’t have chosen a better person to play Johnny.  And besides that, the movie is marvelously accurate to the book, so a lot of his lines were kept intact, and all the emotions and such came across very well, thanks to Ralph Macchio’s great acting abilities.  I loved book Johnny a lot, but after seeing the movie, I love both portrayals about equally. (There’s just so many FEELS.) (Also, it’s so sweet to see how RM still loves the Johnny legacy.)

// Best character perception – Garrett Hedlund as John Fitzgerald {Unbroken} //

Okay, to be honest I haven’t seen Unbroken for a long, long time, but Fitzgerald was always one of my favorite minor people (I hesitate to say ‘character’ because Unbroken is a true life story) and I loved, loved, loved Garrett Hedlund’s performance as the incredibly brave Lieutenant Commander John Fitzgerald.  He got to read Fitzgerald’s unpublished diaries, so he had an excellent grasp on who the man was.  Even though Fitzgerald has a relatively minor role in the movie, I think that Garrett Hedlund did an amazing job of bringing such a heroic, kind commander to life.

______________________________________

Do you spot any of your favorite male characters in this tag?  If so, you’re tagged!

Eva

Save

Save

10 thoughts on “five male characters tag

  1. Pingback: NEW brain cramps from the Five Male Characters Tag | Explore Newness

Leave a Reply

