five mini movie reviews

A highly eclectic mix, I know.  Anyway, I love all of these movies, but for whatever reason, I can’t see myself doing a full length review of them any time soon.  However, I still want to share my reasons for liking them with all of you, so I thought I’d jot down a few sentences about each.  I won’t be talking about the plots, really, just some random thoughts and fangirly comments, so proceed with caution.  And I’ll try to steer clear of spoilers since these reviews are so short.

~Minority Report (2002) – THIS MOVIE.  Besides jump-starting my crush on Tom Cruise, it’s probably the freakiest dystopian world I’ve ever seen…and it’s one of my favorite movies of all time.  Only seen it twice, but it’s super good and deep and interesting and weird, but in an intriguing way (as opposed to being weird in a stupid way).  John Anderton is one of those characters who I love outside of “oh, yeah, he’s played by Tom Cruise”.  He’s so great + he breaks my heart.  And I like Colin Farrell in this movie way better than in Saving Mr. Banks (I know his character is supposed to be the antagonist for a lot of Minority Report, but in the end, he isn’t all that bad – just doing his job).  Overall, this is an amazing, but still pretty disturbing film.  It gets under my skin, in a good way.

~Beezus & Ramona (2010) – Mood whiplash much? *wink*  Just watched this the other night for about the fifth time and it doesn’t get old.  The humor, the story, the adorbs…any of it.  Based on the beloved books by Beverly Cleary (which my siblings and I all love), this movie combines a lot of different episodes from several of the books (though mostly sticking with the general plot of Ramona Forever) and it works swimmingly.  None of the child actors are annoying, which is saying a lot, and there are still a few bits that make me tear up (happy tears, people).  It’s a happy, entertaining, gentle movie that’s perfect to watch with little children. (It entertains every age group among my siblings and I, from late teens to a three-year-old.)

~The Incredibles (2004) – I’ve loved nearly every Pixar movie so far (just haven’t watched A Bug’s Life, Brave, or Finding Dory) and The Incredibles is one of my absolute favorites.  It’s smart and sassy and sweet, set to my favorite Pixar soundtrack of all time, and is full of cool superhero action.  And the characters!  I dig them all (with the obvious exception of Syndrome, who is just another great Pixar villain).  My favorite is probably Bob.  Or Helen.  Or Mirage.  But they’re all so great – I really can’t decide.  Also, did anyone find it amusing that Samuel L. Jackson voices Frozone? (Because Nick Fury isn’t a superhero in the MCU, but he sort of oversees Cap and Iron Man and all the others and…oh, never mind.)  Anyway, The Incredibles is, well, incredible. (Yes, I just did that.)

~Lady and the Tramp (1995) – To be honest, when I borrowed this movie from the library, I didn’t expect much.  I just wanted to watch it to say I had, ’cause I know that it’s a Disney classic.  But I’ve seen it maybe three or four times now and I still love, love, love it.  The opening sequence, with the arrival of Lady and the Darlings’ attempts to teach her to stay in her own bed, never fails to make me laugh.  Even though I don’t like dogs much (*outraged gasps from all my readers*), Lady and the Tramp is now one of my favorite ‘old school’ Disney movies.  And the spaghetti scene? #relationshipgoals.  Seriously.

~Air Force One (1997) – I watched this movie just a few days ago, for the very first time, and it’s already one of my favorite Harrison Ford movies (and roles!) ever.  With all the news and drama and questions surrounding the recent US election, it was actually kind of relaxing to step into a movie where the bad guys are bad and the good guys are good (I know, I know there was a traitor – but still…) and there’s patriotism and a classic hero and all that while still tackling some interesting issues.   Plus, Harrison Ford is always a good idea.  I loved his iconic “Get off my plane!” line.  So awesome.  And, for some reason, I tend to enjoy stories that are tense and claustrophobic and edge-of-your-seat, so this was a perfect film for me.  Very neat.

Have you seen any of these movies?  What are some films you’ve been enjoying recently?

Eva

Save

34 thoughts on “five mini movie reviews

  1. Oh my goodness, Beezus and Romana! That brings back memories! Haha, I remember that being so cute, I’ll have to watch it again. YES! The Incredibles is, well, incredible! I haven’t seen Lady and the Tramp but, I think I need to. I LOVE Air Force One! That’s probably my favorite Harrison Ford roles and it’s a terrific movie. Yes, that line! Such a good one, I really like “I tend to enjoy stories that are tense and claustrophobic and edge-of-your-seat,”! Me too, me too!

    Like

    • Oh, wow, you’ve actually seen Beezus and Ramona? I was sure almost no one had except my siblings. 🙂 *high-five* Lady and the Tramp is adorable, very sweet and lovable. My favorite Harrison Ford role is still proooobably Indiana Jones, but I definitely loved both him and his character in AFO. ❤

      Like

      • Right?? I thouht I was the only to see it too! *high-fives back* Okay well I’ll have to see it sometime 🙂
        Yes, he’s so amazing *gushes* *sighs* Lol I actually am the only person (besides my family) who doesn’t like Indiana Jones, e only reason I watch them is because it has Harrison Ford haha.

        Like

      • The only issue I have with Minority Report is some of the content, which means that I can only watch it on a movie filtering site (VidAngel) so I can’t just see it whenever I want. *sigh* But maybe that’s for the best, considering how depressing/disturbing it can be.

        Do you not like Indiana Jones the character or Indiana Jones the franchise? (Or both.) Personally, I love almost everything about those movies. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, that makes sense, and is true with so many movies! I LOVE VidAngel, I use it all the time. It’s so great.
        Hmm, well his costume is awesome and I’ve seen some cool paraphernalia, but I just didn’t really like anything about it, except, of course, Harrison Ford. Well, I understand that 🙂

        Like

  2. Yup, I’ve seen 4 of those 5. I haven’t seen Beezus and Ramona, but I may some day, who knows.

    There is a possibility that Nick Fury is a bit super, actually. In the comics, he uses something called the Infinity Formula to halt/delay aging, so he’s almost 100 years old and still going strong. Obviously, in the films, he survives some stuff that’s fairly incredible.

    Like

    • What? Really? That’s so cool about Nick Fury! I don’t really like the comic book/graphic novel format, but I guess I’m missing out on a lot of interesting background stuff for the Avengers. 😛 (Of course, I can probably find out about it all online.)

      Like

      • Yeah, there are some good Marvel wikis online if you get all curious. I actually have read some Wolverine comics where Wolverine hung out with the Howlin’ Commandos when Nick Fury was with them, which was fun. I do quite like comic books and graphic novels, though. I’m a very visual person, so they work for me quite well.

        Like

  3. I haven’t seen any films recently . . . too busy with college. Sad :-/ But I’m REALLY excited about “Moana” and “Rogue One” next month–and I *hope* I can see “La-La Land” as well. (I have to check the rating on that one, can’t remember if it’s R or PG-13. If it’s the latter I’ll be waiting till the DVD comes out.)

    Like

    • Moana looks stupid, based on the trailers, but I’ve noticed that Disney movie trailers usually focus on a lot of dumb humor and don’t give any indication of the depths of certain films (like Tangled). But I probably won’t watch Moana anyway, ’cause there’s magic and a ‘god’ and all that. 😛

      Like

      • THE TRAILERS DO NOT LOOK STUPID. THEY LOOK FANTASTIC.

        Ahem.

        😛

        Well, I understand, and I certainly respect that . . . I don’t have any problems with watching it, myself, because the way I see it, the movie isn’t trying to get you to BELIEVE in that specific religion; they’re just introducing you to a different culture. But to each their own, of course 🙂

        (Seriously tho. Have you listened to the soundtrack? It’s beautiful.)

        Like

      • Wellll…we’ll just have to agree to disagree about that one. 😛 🙂

        Yes, I get that. But Dad and Mom don’t really like us watching that kind of stuff anyway (though I suppose it would be all right if I did – they just don’t want to confuse my younger siblings). Let me know if it’s a good movie or not – I am curious. 🙂 And, no, I haven’t listened to the soundtrack but I probably should. I do love Disney music!

        Like

      • Even if you don’t get a chance to listen to the whole soundtrack, be sure to check out Auli’i Cravalho singing “How Far I’ll Go” and “I Am Moana”–those two songs are absolutely SUPERB. I love Auli’i already and I haven’t even seen the movie yet . . . I can’t wait to see what she does in the future!

        Like

  4. Oh my goodness I love Minority Report! And I agree — I love Tom Cruise’s character way beyond him just being played by Tom Cruise too. I also adore the cinematography in this one. And Colin Farrell — this is by far my favorite role of his, and he’s totally not a bad guy! Now I want to watch it again. 😛 Nice reviews!

    Like

  5. Sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo… heh heh, um, er, uh, I may be having a change of opinion about Colin Farrell. MAYBE. He was excellent in Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. I’m going to rewatch Minority Report now to see what I think of him in it.

    Like

    • Haha! That’s happened to me before with actors and books and movies (though, of course, I can’t think of any right now). Do let me know what you think of him in Minority Report when you’re able to watch it again. 🙂

      Like

      • Oh, yes, I did dislike Tom Cruise before I watched Minority Report. Always liked Matt Damon, though, from the first movie I saw him in (The Bourne Identity). Still not convinced about Brad Pitt and Rudolph Valentino, though. 😛

        Like

      • Brad Pitt is now one of those actors I enjoy when he’s around, but don’t seek out. His presence in a movie isn’t enough to get me to see it on its own, but I no longer disdain him.

        Rudy, though… Rudy is very dear to me.

        Like

      • Welllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll… have you ever watched a silent film before? Because if not, I suggest you find some silent films online first and watch some to get used to the medium, and then try a Valentino film. And although The Sheik is what made me fall for him, I don’t think you’d like that one so much, so I think you should try Moran of the Lady Letty instead, or The Eagle. They both have nice action stuff going on, an interesting plot, good acting.

        Like

  6. Love the Incredibles! I’m nervous about the sequel coming out, hopefully it’ll be good. Really looking forward to watching the BFG. Back in the summer my siblings all went to see it but I didn’t get a chance to go because I was sick with the flu.
    I’m not sure I’ve ever commented before but I keep up with your posts and love reading your blog!

    Like

    • Oh, I hope the sequel will be good, too. And Pixar has a great track-record with its sequels for the Toy Story movies, so we can hope. (Though, admittedly, Cars 2 was blah.)

      Thanks so much! I’m glad you enjoy my blog. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

