christmas eve 2016: a few thoughts

 :

As I relax on the couch with my laptop, instrumental Christmas hymns playing in the background, my siblings watching The Russians Are Coming, The Russians Are Coming…well, I can’t think of what to say.  I’d say that this Christmas means more to me than all the others since I actually came to Christ this year, but I don’t have the Christmas spirit.  Haven’t had it this year at all so far and the holiday season is almost over.  I know it seems horribly cliched and the subject of pretty much every cheesy Christmas movie ever – “Oh no, honey!  Our angsty teenage daughter can’t find the Christmas spirit so we have to do everything possible to make her realize The True Meaning of Christmas!” – but that’s the way it is this year. (Not saying my parents are like that or anything.  Not at all.) 

The thing is, I do understand the true meaning of Christmas…

And there were in the same country shepherds abiding in the field, keeping watch over their flock by night.  And, lo, the angel of the Lord came upon them, and the glory of the Lord shone round about them: and they were sore afraid.  And the angel said unto them, Fear not: for, behold, I bring you good tidings of great joy, which shall be to all people.  For unto you is born this day in the city of David a Saviour, which is Christ the Lord.  And this shall be a sign unto you; Ye shall find the babe wrapped in swaddling clothes, lying in a manger.  And suddenly there was with the angel a multitude of the heavenly host praising God, and saying, Glory to God in the highest, and on earth peace, good will toward men. ~Luke 2:8-14

…I just don’t feel Christmas-y.  It’s really depressing.

*sigh*

Do you guys have ANY suggestions???  Have you ever lost the Christmas spirit?  And if so, were you able to regain it?  And if so, how?

And I just wanted to say MERRY CHRISTMAS to ya’ll anyway.  Because it is Christmas.

Love you all!

Eva

12 thoughts on “christmas eve 2016: a few thoughts

  1. I know how you feel–I don’t have a SUPER large amount of the “Christmas spirit” this year, and it can be tough. I think it’s at least partly because I’m still tired out from grad school . . .

    I’ve found that just sitting down and thinking about my favorite parts of this season helps–favorite Christmas carols, Christmas desserts, Christmas movies, etc. And just listening to lots of Christmas music helps, too. So does participating in family Christmas traditions; because when the little kids are all excited about the holiday, it’s hard not to get excited along with them 🙂

    Also, because I’m off of school, I’ve had more time to pray; and that helps me feel more Christmas-y, too . . .

    I hope you and your family have a WONDERFUL day tomorrow!!!!! I wish I could see you in person and wish you a merry Christmas; but since I can’t do that, I will have to improvise with a virtual hug. *hugs*

    Like

    • Thank you SO MUCH for all your tips. 🙂 I wasn’t actually able to use any of them on Christmas ’cause my family has a no-Internet-on-Sundays policy (so I didn’t even see your comment until Monday), but I still actually did some of the things you mentioned anyway – listening to Christmas music and participating in Christmas traditions (everyone was given a book on Christmas Eve and we had such fun with that). And, you know, it’s funny but true that, now that Christmas is over, I seem to have more of the Christmas spirit. Weird, huh?

      Like

  2. I get what you’re saying. It’s been a hard year for me and even though I rejoice in Christ it can be hard even during the Christmas season. My advice? Listen to Christmas music while drinking hot chocolate. Then look up a sermon/article on Christmas and read/listen while sipping. Forcibly reminds me of the amazingness of Christ while also immersing myself in the traditional Christmas spirit.

    Like

  3. I can fully imagine what that feels like… and I’m sorry.

    Singing songs and doing family games might help. Definitely read the Bible story and eat unhealthy stuff! 🙂

    Merry Christmas, Eva!! I hope you had/have a good one despite this. Don’t feel guilty about it… just try to live in the moment and make the atmosphere cheerful! 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks, lovely friend. ❤ 🙂 I did read the Christmas story and I've been eating far too much unhealthy stuff lately. 😉

      I've been feeling better lately, which is lovely. Thank God. 🙂

      Like

  4. Well, I know it’s silly for me to comment now that Christmas is OVER, but I wanted to let you know that you’re not alone in how you feel.
    My year has been great so far, to be honest, but just when Christmastime comes around, THEN things get tough. Right when I’m supposed to celebrate Christmas, I don’t feel like celebrating at all.
    I don’t feel Christmas-y this year. In fact, I feel indifferent to it all.
    I don’t want to celebrate or be happy. I want to go in a corner and think about all the bad and depressing things that are eating away at me.
    I want to turn off the radio and never hear another Christmas song again.

    I guess the thing we gotta remember is, no matter how I feel, Jesus is the same.
    The love God showed us when He sent His Son doesn’t depend on whether I feel Christmas-y or not. The peace He brought us is still here.
    He is still here, still true, constant.
    Christmas magic is still the same, whether it’s felt or not.

    Remember it’s ok to be downcast. There’s no obligation for you to be happy or upbeat just because the calendar reads “December 25th”.
    Remember that Job in the Bible cursed the very day he was born.
    I don’t know what you’ve been through, or if anything’s happened to make you feel this way, or maybe nothing’s happened and you’re just downcast (hey, we’re teenagers, it happens), but I do know the God who sent His Son loves you yesterday and today and tomorrow and ALWAYS THE SAME no matter how you feel.

    I didn’t meant to make this comment very long, especially when I’m not really a ‘commenter’ at all, but I wanted to let you know that I’m with you over here.
    God bless you, my friend.
    -Amaris

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I know this is really late, but I hope you had a really lovely Christmas. I too struggled with having the Christmas spirit. I hope it’s encouraging to hear you’re not the only one. My biggest comfort was that even when I’m not feeling happy or “Christmas-y” Jesus is still with me, and I just have to hold on to that. 🙂 Happy New Year!

    Like

Leave a Reply

