my top fifty favorite books

{The idea for this post was taken from Hamlette’s book blog, The Edge of the Precipice.  I’m leaving out the Bible because it’s a collection of sixty-six books + it’s far and above any book on this list in my estimation.}

These books have made me laugh, cry, and feel a zillion other emotions.  They’ve moved me.  Plus, I’ve probably read most of them more than once and they’re great stories and, personally, I’d recommend any them to you. (Some of these books do have Language + Other Content.  Feel free to ask me about any of them.)

(These aren’t really in order, except for [maybe] the first two.  I didn’t have the time or patience to figure out exactly how much I loved each book.)

________________________________

  • The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton
  • Gone With The Wind by Margaret Mitchell
  • Great Expectations by Charles Dickens
  • Johnny Tremain by Esther Forbes
  • Gregor and the Curse of the Warmbloods by Suzanne Collins

https://i0.wp.com/www.hannahandhusband.com/site/wp-content/uploads/2012/11/clark-gable-gone-with-the-wind-secretsofabelle.jpg

  • Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins
  • Emma by Jane Austen
  • The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
  • Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein
  • Violins of Autumn by Amy McAuley

https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/65/8a/e1/658ae1de83314df1725e60b64d506f9f.jpg

  • Rilla of Ingleside by L.M. Montgomery
  • Little Men by Louisa May Alcott
  • The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery
  • Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card
  • El Dorado by Baroness Orczy

https://i2.wp.com/static.theglobeandmail.ca/a42/incoming/article850319.ece/ALTERNATES/w620/WEB-myplace-sergio11bk1.JPG

  • A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens
  • Lord of the Flies by William Golding
  • The Victors by Jack Cavanaugh
  • His Watchful Eye by Jack Cavanaugh
  • Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brönte

https://i1.wp.com/www.cinemagraphe.com/_imagery/barbara-stanwyck/barbara-stanwyck-reading-1940s.jpg

  • My Utmost for His Highest by Oswald Chambers
  • Les Misérables by Victor Hugo
  • To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
  • Glimpses of Truth by Jack Cavanaugh
  • The Longest Day by Cornelius Ryan

https://i2.wp.com/www.bestmoviesbyfarr.com/static-assets/images/articles/2015/02/gregorypeckreading.jpeg

  • Mrs. Kennedy and Me by Clint Hill
  • A Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett
  • The Story Girl by L.M. Montgomery
  • The Penderwicks in Spring by Jeanne Birdsall
  • Ender’s Shadow by Orson Scott Card

https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/564x/74/c3/fd/74c3fd11e22eafc51fe5ad99290678a0.jpg

  • Four by Veronica Roth
  • The Giver by Lois Lowry
  • The Adversaries by Jack Cavanaugh
  • The Pioneers by Jack Cavanaugh
  • Dear Mr. Knightley by Katherine Reay

https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/564x/5e/16/77/5e1677d2b887171154e633d9dde5c750.jpg

  • Wonder by R.J. Palacio
  • Gregor and the Code of Claw by Suzanne Collins
  • While We’re Far Apart by Lynn Austin
  • Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand
  • Nick of Time by Ted Bell

https://classicsandcraziness.files.wordpress.com/2017/01/713da-gracekelly_dog.jpg?w=640

  • The Little Women Letters by Gabrielle Donnelly
  • The Scarlet Pimpernel by Baroness Orczy
  • Shane by Jack Schaefer
  • Rise Up, My Love by Phyllis Speshock
  • Last Stand at Papago Wells by Louis L’Amour

https://i1.wp.com/i.imgur.com/PVyzvDa.jpg

  • Mansfield Park by Jane Austen
  • To Tame a Land by Louis L’Amour
  • Laura by Vera Caspary
  • Holes by Louis Sachar
  • Sense & Sensibility by Jane Austen

How many of these books have you read?

Eva

27 thoughts on “my top fifty favorite books

  1. Hahahahaha, I just came from Hamlette’s post too! 🙂 I’ve read 10 of these (I’d only read 15 of hers).

    I definitely spot some favorites on here!! The Book Thief, Rilla of Ingleside, To Kill a Mockingbird, To Tame a Land (*fist-pump*), Emma . . .

    The Book Thief and TKAM are actually at roughly #3 and #4 on my own list of all-time favorites because I love them very very very much 🙂

    I seriously need to read The Outsiders.

    Like

  2. I love that you did this too!!!!

    Let’s see… I’ve read 22 of these. And I dearly love many of them. Johnny Tremain!!!! One of the best books ever. You know my thoughts on so many of the others. Ooooh, Katherine Reay! Have you read A Portrait of Emily Price yet?

    Like

  3. Pingback: my top fifty favorite movies | coffee, classics, & craziness

  4. I enjoyed reading this post! But say, I was thinking of reading a Jack Cavanaugh book, and I’ve never read him before. Do you have a suggestion of one of his books for me to start with? Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

