the movie tag

{I ripped this tag out of a library book  took this tag from Sidewalk Crossings.  Thanks, DKoren!}

Because ‘Hugo’ (2011) is a movie about movies.

::::::::::::::

~Favourite foreign film –The Lady Vanishes’ (1938), a British film directed by Alfred Hitchcock.

~Most underrated film  So many!  There’s one gem of a WWII film, ‘Saints & Soldiers’ (2003) that I wish was better known.  There’s also Disney’s ‘Robin Hood’ (1973), ‘The Great Mouse Detective’ (1986), and ‘Meet the Robinsons’ (2007).  And the Air Bud film franchise (forget Air Buddies, though).

~A film that makes you happy – I’ve got some films I call “mac ‘n’ cheese movies” like ‘The Magnificent Seven’ (1960), both of the Anne of Green Gables movies (the Kevin Sullivan ones, of course), ‘The Happiest Millionaire’ (1967), ‘State Fair’ (1945), the second and third Night at the Museum movies, and ‘Cars’ (2006).  All of those make me enormously happy.  (By the way, I call them “mac ‘n’ cheese movies” ’cause they’re like comfort food for me.  Only movies.)  ‘The Outsiders’ (1983) also makes me happy, but in a different way.

~A film that makes you sad – Um…just one? *looks at DVD shelf for inspiration* ‘The Great Locomotive Chase’ (1956) was pretty devastating when I was younger (especially for a Disney film, of all things) and while it doesn’t hit me in the exact same way anymore (now that I’ve got movies like ‘Schindler’s List’ (1993) and ‘Titanic’ (1997) and ‘The Ox-Bow Incident’ (1943) under my belt) it still saddens me.  So I’m going to go with that.

https://i1.wp.com/www.yesterland.com/images-missouri/uptown_poster2010ww.jpg

~Favourite love story in a film – Currently?  Mr. Knightley and Emma Woodhouse from BBC’s ‘Emma’ (2009), Don and Kathy from ‘Singin’ in the Rain’ (1952), and Flynn and Rapunzel from ‘Tangled’ (2010).

~Favourite actor/actress – Favorite old Hollywood actor: Dana Andrews (with James Coburn in second place).  Favorite old Hollywood actress: Audrey Hepburn (with Ingrid Bergman in second place).  Favorite modern actor: TomCruiseandHarrisonFord.  Favorite modern actress: Cate Blanchett?  I guess?

~The best plot twist/ending  –  Ooh!  Ooh!  I have the perfect answer for this one.  Absolute favorite movie ending EVER is the ending to ‘The Bourne Ultimatum’ (2007).  When Nicky is listening to the radio (or is she watching TV?) and the newscaster says that nobody’s found Bourne’s body yet and then that delicious music starts playing and she smiles and then it cuts to him swimming away.  It’s gold, I tell you, and I can’t describe it well enough – you just have to watch it for yourself.  (The runner-up for this category would definitely be the ending of ‘The Great Escape’ (1963).)

~The best opening/closing credits – Opening credits?  ‘The Russians are Coming, The Russians are Coming’ (1966).  Always makes me grin.  As for closing credits, I’m partial to the closing credits to any Marvel movie I’ve seen, ’cause they’re so cool. (Plus, mid- and after-credits scenes for the win.)  Also, ‘WALL·E”s (2008) closing credits are simply the best.

~The best soundtrack/score to a film – HOW CAN I ANSWER THAT?  Impossible.  Hagood Hardy’s score for ‘Anne of Green Gables’ (1985) and James Powell’s score for the How to Train Your Dragon movies would definitely be near the top of the list, though.  And Elmer Bernstein’s iconic scoring for ‘The Magnificent Seven’ (1960) is awesome as well.  But, really, there are wayyyy too many for me to list here.

https://i1.wp.com/sullivanmovies.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/03/anne-of-green-gables-film-1-600x400.jpg

~Favourite classic film –  Besides ‘The Magnificent Seven’ (1960) (which I’ll be putting down as an answer to the last question) my favorite classic film would most likely be ‘Casablanca’ (1942).  There are loads of other classic films that I adore, of course, but ‘Casablanca’ has always been special to me ever since it changed my opinion of old black & white movies.

~A film that you hate – Pinocchio’ (1940). *shudders*

~A film that changed your opinion about something – Well, I wish I could say something deep and powerful in answer to this one, but the only thing I can think of is how drastically ‘Minority Report’ (2002) changed my opinion of Tom Cruise (for the better).  Oh, and of course, ‘Casablanca’ (1942) changed my opinion of old movies (again, for the better).  As did ‘A Tale of Two Cities’ (1935), come to think of it.

~A guilty pleasure  The Air Bud movies.  So much cheese, but so much nostalgia and feels and amazingness, too.

~A film that you used to love but now hate – Basically any animated movie my little brothers have watched to death.  Also, ‘Frozen’ (2013) because it’s actually pretty lame. (At least, in my opinion.)

It’s still a gorgeous movie, though.

~Favourite film sequel – ‘Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade’ (1989), ‘Catching Fire’ (2013), ‘Night at the Museum: Battle of the Smithsonian’ (2009) ‘Night at the Museum: Secret of the Tomb’ (2014), and ‘Anne of Avonlea’ (1987).  All superb sequels.

~Film character you relate to the most – I don’t really relate to fictional characters all that often.  Rilla Blythe and Darry Curtis are two with whom I feel the most connection (and they’re so different, too!) but that’s only when it comes to the book (Rilla of Ingleside and The Outsiders).  I guess Belle, from ‘Beauty and the Beast’ (1991), would be my answer.

~Favourite film quote – “I have no idea what I’m going to do tomorrow.”  “How exciting!” (Larry and Teddy from ‘Night at the Museum: Secret of the Tomb)  That one always makes me tear up just a little and it’s so inspiring.  I tend to like conversations in films better than just single quotes, though. (Mostly funny conversations, if we’re being specific.) (Mag7 does have some super-duper one-liners, though.)

~A film that you wish more people had seen – In theatres, do you mean?  I really couldn’t say, so just take a look at the films I put in the ‘most underrated film’ category.

~The most hilarious film you’ve seen – ‘Meet the Robinsons’ (2007).  There are lots of great comedies I’ve watched in my time, but that one always makes me laugh and laugh and laugh.  ‘The Russians are Coming, The Russians are Coming’ (1966) also amuses me greatly. (As well as the Night at the Museum movies and basically every animated film ever.)

 :

~A film you wish someone would make – Not counting all the book-to-film adaptions I want, I’d have to say that ‘Finding Coral’ would be my first choice.  It would be the third film in the ‘Finding Nemo’ (2003) series and would begin with Marlin (somehow) finding out that Coral didn’t actually die, but instead was seriously injured/lost and now Marlin and Nemo have to set out on an epic quest to find her.  THIS HAS TO BE A THING, AMIRIGHT? (Note: this was originally my brother Ezra’s idea, but I’ve adopted it.)

~Favourite film from your favourite actor/actress  –  Dana Andrews – ‘Laura’ (1944) // Audrey Hepburn – ‘Charade’ (1963) // Tom Cruise – ‘Minority Report’ (2002) // Harrison Ford – ‘Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade’ (1989) // Cate Blanchett – ‘Cinderella’ (2015)

~Favourite documentary – I don’t watch documentaries.

~Favourite animated film – ‘Meet the Robinsons’ (2007) and ‘Cars’ (2006).  Also, the How to Train Your Dragon movies and ‘Robin Hood’ (1973) and ‘Tangled’ (2010) and, oh, just tons and tons of others.  I guess it all depends on my mood, really.

~Favourite film based on a book/comic/etc. – ‘Captain America: The Winter Soldier’ (2014).  ‘Big Hero 6’ (2014) is great as well.

~Favourite film villain – That is such a hard one to answer, because what does it really mean?  Evilest villain? (President Snow from the Hunger Games movies)  ‘Favorite’ in the sense of one that I have a weird, unexplainable liking for/crush on? (Ben Wade from ‘3:10 to Yuma’ – 1957)  A villain that I alternately despise and understand? (Professor Callahan from ‘Big Hero 6’ – 2014)  Is it a villain that’s so suave and smart that you can’t help but be fascinated by him? (Waldo from ‘Laura’ – 1944)  Or is it a villain that isn’t really a villain at all? (The Winter Soldier from ‘Captain America: The Winter Soldier’ – 2014)  How am I supposed to answer that? 

Oh, wait.  I just did.

~A film that you love but everyone else hates – ‘Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull’ (2008) because seriously, people.  Why all the hate???  It’s a clever, interesting film that, while it doesn’t feel the same as the first three, still delivers fast-paced adventure and enough nostalgia to tug at your heartstrings and, admit it, Mutt isn’t all that bad.  And neither is the movie as a whole.

 :

~A film you wish you had seen in theatres – *shrugs* (This post is so long already and I’ve only seen a movie in a movie theatre once.)

~Favourite film from your favourite director  – Alfred Hitchcock’s ‘Notorious’ (1946), William Wyler’s ‘The Best Years of Our Lives’ (1946), and Steven Spielberg’s ‘Minority Report’ (2002).

~Favourite film from your childhood – That would be Disney’s ‘Robin Hood’ (1973).  I’ve got it memorized.

~Your favourite film of all time – ‘The Magnificent Seven’ (1960).  And if you didn’t know that, you’ve obviously just stumbled across my blog, ’cause I’ve talked about my love for this film in at least three posts.  It’s a gloriously amazing movie with The Best Cast of All Time and The Best Soundtrack of all Time and The Best Quotable Lines of all time.  If you haven’t seen it, what on earth are you waiting for? 🙂

Steve McQueen and Yul Brynner in The Magnificent Seven (1960):

Wow.  That was a looooong post.  Congratulations for making it all the way down here!  Now let’s talk about all these movies (and more) in the comments, ‘kay?

Eva

10 thoughts on “the movie tag

  1. Amen to Frozen. I watched it in theatres and was like, “oh, okay.” I had expected too much. But the BAM Frozen nuttiness everywhere. AAHHHH so annoying.

    P.S. I think I’m going to steal this tag.

    Like

  2. I quite like Crystal Skull too. I was absurdly excited to get to see it in the theater — and my brother happened to be in town, so we got to see it together, which was fab.

    I quite like Frozen, but mostly for writery reasons about them messing with expectations and so on.

    Lotsa good answers! This was fun to read 🙂

    Like

  3. Maaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaan . . . you’ve watched a lot of movies 😉 Way more than I’ve watched, that’s for sure.

    Audrey Hepburn was a gift. That’s what she was–a gift. No two ways about it.

    She’s really the only actor/actress I have any real attachment to, apart from the characters she plays (usually I just think of characters as characters and kind of ignore who plays them). But Audrey’s special. “Breakfast at Tiffany’s” is one of my top favorite movies now. It’s pure gold. (In my opinion, anyhow.)

    I adore Frozen and probably always will. It was the first Disney movie I ever watched . . . plus, I relate to Elsa on a deeply personal level and I can’t NOT love her. She means a lot to me.

    I’m on spring break this week and I’m planning to watch “Lilo and Stitch” and “Chariots of Fire.” So that should be fun 🙂

    Like

    • Yep, I have seen quite a few. Next to books, they’re one of my favorite things everrrr.

      AGREED about Audrey Hepburn. ❤

      Oh, I like Elsa a lot as well. Just not the movie as a whole.

      Chariots of Fire is splendidness. I love Eric.

      Like

  4. I love how you mentioned the Magnificent 7 often! I rewatched that movie a month or two ago. I love that movie! I forget how many times I’ve seen it. It also has an incredible soundtrack, which describes the movie perfectly.

    I’ve heard The Russians are Coming, The Russian are Coming is a really good film. Compared to other classic films, what did you think of it?

    I’ve never seen The Lady Vanishes, but it sounds extremely intriguing! I need to watch more Hitchcock movies. The latest one I’ve seen was Vertigo, and all I can say after that movie is, “Wow!”

    Like

    • Yup. Mag7 is my movie, forever and ever.

      TRAC, TRAC is hilarious, of course. Compared to other old comedies I’ve seen, I’d say it’s one of the funniest (if not THE most funny). It took me a couple of viewings to fully appreciate it, though, so you might want to keep that in mind if/when you watch it yourself.

      Vertigo is weird and rather amazing at the same time.

      Like

  5. Aw, what fun to read your answers! You don’t like Magnificent Seven, not at all! 😀 I loved your villains answer in particular, and all of those nicely fit the category you selected.

    Like

Leave a Reply

