my definitive ranking of {almost} every Pixar movie

I say ‘almost’ because I haven’t seen A Bug’s Life or Brave yet.  But I don’t feel like waiting to do this post.

Image result for pixar

Pixar is awesome.  End of story.  However, not every one of its films has reached the same level of spectacularness (sad to say) so I thought it would be fun to finally decide where each movie stands in my mind + heart.  Expect a few surprises and lots of fangirling.  And feeeeeels because it’s Pixar, for crying out loud. (Please excuse the terrible pun.)

LET’S DO THIS.

~The Good Dinosaur~

Image result for pixar the good dinosaur

Where did you go so wrong, Pixar?  The story is predictable, the characters are dull, and the mix of realistic scenery and cartoon-like dinosaurs is more than a little weird.

~Cars 2~

Image result for pixar cars 2 screenshots

Wayyyy too much focus on Mater, a story that feels more like an Illumination Entertainment Studies plot-line, and no emotional grip. (A must for Pixar, in my opinion.)

~Finding Dory~

Image result for pixar finding dory

The story is all over the place (I really dislike how the characters spend more time out of the water than in the water) and the new characters don’t really make their mark on the list of Epic Secondary Pixar Characters.  The new short film that came on the DVD, Piper,  is almost perfection, though.

~Ratatouille~

Image result for pixar ratatouille

The food looks delicious, but I don’t like rats.  And the whole rat-controlling-the-human thing (I forget names so easily) was a little odd, I thought.  Favorite part?  Peter O’Toole voicing the exacting food critic.

~Toy Story~

Image result for pixar toy story 1 screenshots

This is where the rankings get tricky.  And this is also the point where the positions on this list become more fluid, depending on my mood.  Toy Story is fresh and funny and the characters are unique and lovable (BUZZ), but it still kinda falls flat for me.

~UP~

Image result for pixar UP

Most of UP is not particularly interesting (for me, anyway).  It’s good fun, very entertaining and colorful, but when my siblings watch it, I usually just stick around for the prologue, the bit where Carl discovers the other half of Ellie’s scrapbook, and the ending.  Still, it’s a charming film.

~Monsters, Inc.~

Image result for pixar monsters inc

I know so many people go on and on about Tom Hanks and Tim Allen’s rapport in the Toy Story films, but I think John Goodman and Billy Crystal deserve to be mentioned just as often in that respect.  And the world of MI is endlessly fascinating.  (Plus, y’know, JAMES COBURN.)

~Finding Nemo~

Related image

The visuals in this film are stunning and I really like how Marlin and Nemo’s stories are given equal time/importance throughout the movie.  Pixar has a knack for creating great minor characters and I love all the fish in the tank that Nemo ends up in – they’re so funny.

~Toy Story 2~

Image result for toy story 2

I enjoy the Western element of this film.  Also, Buzz’s unfailing devotion to finding/rescuing Woody.  ALSO the whole subplot with the other Buzz and Zurg and that ridiculously funny “No, Buzz, I am your father!” scene.  I’m definitely not as attached to the Toy Story movies as some other people, but the second movie is one of Pixar’s best.

~Toy Story 3~

Image result for toy story 3

Stuff I like in this one: Ken and Barbie’s romance (I know it’s unbearably cheesy, but still…), the Very Elaborate Escape Plan, the final scene, Bonnie, and Buzz and Jessie’s relationship.  Oh, and all the end credits scenes.

~Monsters University~

Image result for pixar monsters university

Mike makes me laugh a lot, tear up a little, and cheer inwardly as he navigates the world of Monsters University, all while in the shadow of some big guy who’s inheriting good grades while Mike has to work extra hard to earn his.  Plus, I just happen to love prequels.

~WALLE~

Image result for pixar wall-e

The music in this one, guys.  You can’t beat it.  Swingin’ songs like ‘Put on Your Sunday Clothes’ and ‘La Vie en Rose’ and Thomas Newman’s delicately beautiful score. (Just listen.)  Add to that one of the tenderest love stories ever portrayed on the big screen, and you’ve got a great snapshot of what makes Pixar so amazing.

~Inside Out~

Image result for pixar inside out screenshots

Sure, a lot of the concepts are too big and complex for little kids to understand, but what makes Inside Out work so well is the colorful characters (literally), the fantastical road trip through Riley’s mind, and, let’s be honest, Bing Bong.  Definitely a winner in every way.

~The Incredibles~

Related image

Love the prologue, love the sixties spy movie-esque soundtrack, and I love the themes of family and married love and not hiding who you really are.  And the characters are golden and beautiful.

~Cars~

Image result for pixar cars screenshots

I’ll just let my review do the gushing talking when it comes to Cars. (Which a lot of people view as one of Pixar’s weakest films.  What even???)

___________________________

You’ve been a brick to read through all of this.  Thanks so much!  Now let’s discuss the wonders of Pixar in the comments, shall we?

Eva

25 thoughts on “my definitive ranking of {almost} every Pixar movie

  1. I’ve only seen 5 of these movies, which shows me that I need to watch more Pixar movies. 🙂

    Out of all these movies, which one is your favorite?

    Like

    • Cars is definitely my favorite, though I think The Incredibles is Pixar’s best, overall. (But this list was in order of liking, from least to most, instead of technical brilliance.)

      Like

  2. Pixar is amazing. The end.

    “Toy Story 3” is special to me . . . really, really special. You know how I grew up basically never watching movies; and even after I started watching them on my own (a couple of years ago), it took me a while to really get emotionally involved in them, if you know what I mean? Like, I used to never cry over any movie, and I couldn’t understand why anybody else would do the same. Well, “Toy Story 3” changed all that. As soon as I heard Andy say, “he’s been my friend for as long as I can remember,” for the first time in my life, I started crying–like, really crying. I was devastated, and yet I was so happy . . . it’s hard to explain, but it meant a LOT to me.

    Because he’s giving up his toys and they’ve been friends forever but he knows he has to move on now and they may never see him again and WHYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY.

    Basically, yeah 😉

    I agree–“Cars” is a wonderful movie.

    I should probably watch “Wall-E” . . .

    Like

  3. The Good Dinosaur is at the bottom of my list as well. Wall-E, Up, Cars, Brave, and Monsters, Inc. are my top five, in that order. And yes, The Piper short animated film is marvelous and as close to perfection as is possible! So fun to read your list and reasons.

    Like

      • I loved Brave because it was nothing like what I was expecting from the previews I had seen, and it’s probably the Pixar film that makes me cry the hardest. I can’t survive the finale of that movie without Kleenex at hand! I loved that there was no romance in it, and that it’s all about family. 😀

        Like

      • Oh, I love family-themed films. Like Big Hero 6. (Have you watched/do you like that film?) Or Finding Nemo.

        You know, I’m always saying that I like it when stories either don’t have a romance (or at least just a minimal amount) but I read a WWII book recently that had zero romance in it and I really missed that element. And I keep watching period dramas and Disney films like the newer Cinderella and the original Beauty and the Beast, so maybe I AM a romantic at heart. 🙂

        Like

      • Yes, I love Big Hero 6!! That movie had so much more depth and heart than I was expecting. Not so much a fan of Finding Nemo. It’s a very good movie, so well done, just not my personal cup of tea.

        Like

  4. I think I just not as big a Pixar fan as Disney. I think they are often too complex for my taste; I like my animated movies just a tad fluffy (I mean they are for kids). I disliked Cars and Finding Nemo overall (boring and annoying), but I grew up on Toy Story and Toy Story 2 but I haven’t watched those or kept up with that series.

    I enjoy some of the others sometimes, like Inside Out, but its SO sad and a bit scary. I’m a wimp. Like I said, I like light and fluffy for animated. I like parts of Up. The first little storyline and a few bits and pieces (lines from Russel and Doug). Interesting side fact, my sister is having and Up/Travel Themed wedding. She has little grape soda lids for the table numbers, a “Our Adventure Book” for the sign in, an up thumbprint artpiece for another sign in, and up themed gear for a photobooth.

    Like

  5. I haven’t seen soooooooooooooo many Pixar movies, but my rankings as far as favorites would be:

    1. Toy Story
    2. Cars
    3. The Incredibles
    4. Toy Story 3
    5. Toy Story 2
    6. Finding Nemo
    7. Brave
    8. Monsters, Inc.
    9. A Bug’s Life

    Like

  6. Oh, I SO agree with you about Cars 2! While I wouldn’t say that I LOVE a lot of Pixar movies, every one I’ve seen other than Cars 2 has sweet, touching moments, a scene where you’re like “awwwwww!” Such is not the case with this one. It is entirely devoid of those defining Pixar moments. MATER IS ANNOYING IN THIS ONE AND I DON’T CARE ABOUT HIM. So there, whoever wrote that story.

    The kids I babysit ALWAYS pick the sequel over Cars, and I’m like “Guys, come on! The first one is so much better.” (Seriously, it kills me.)

    (Just found your blog, btw, and it’s really fun!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

