tag – I’m it!

What a lovely bookish tag!  Kara at Flowers of Quiet Happiness tagged everyone, so I’m joining in the fun.

Rules

You must be honest.
You must answer all the questions.
You must tag at least 4 people.

1. What book has been on your shelf the longest?

Probably the five Jack Cavanaugh books that my grandpa gave me several years ago. (The Songs in the Night series, Glimpses of Truth, and Beyond the Sacred Page.)  Those seem to have been a part of my book collection for forever.

2. What is your current read, your last read, and the book you’ll read next?

Currently, I’m reading The Alpine Path by L.M. Montgomery.  It’s a fascinating look at her life.  The last book I read was Rilla of Ingleside, as a finale to reading through the entire Anne series (besides The Blythes Are Quoted).  And I have no idea what book I’ll tackle next – whatever suits my fancy, I guess. (I’m also working through my college reading list, but that doesn’t really count for this tag, in my opinion.)

https://i0.wp.com/d28hgpri8am2if.cloudfront.net/book_images/onix/cvr9781442490208/rilla-of-ingleside-9781442490208_hr.jpg

3. What book did everyone like, but you hated?

There’s been several YA books I haven’t enjoyed as much as other people have.  I hate Matched and really don’t ‘get’ The Fault in our Stars.  Oh, and I don’t like Daddy Long Legs, though everyone else seems to think it’s the greatest thing since Little Women.

4. What book do you keep telling yourself you’ll read, but you probably won’t?

I’ve got a ginormous edition of David Copperfield on my shelf that I keep moving around whenever I organize my books, but I’ll probably never get to it.

5. What book are you saving for retirement?

READ ALL THE BOOKS.  RIGHT NOW.

 :

6. Last page: read it first, or wait ’til the end?

Wait ’til the end.  I have a feeling that I’ve skipped to the end one or two times, but I don’t remember specifics.  Mayyyyybe an Alistair MacLean book because those get so tense that I can hardly stand it sometimes.

7. Acknowledgement: waste of paper and ink, or interesting aside?

I might skim through the acknowledgements if there aren’t too many of them, but otherwise…nah.  I do read prefaces, prologues, introductions, and author’s notes, though.

8. Which book character would you switch places with?

Rilla Blythe.  So, so quickly.  And pretty much any Jane Austen heroine.

9. Do you have a book that reminds you of something specific in your life? (Place, time, person?)

Um…I can’t think of anything right now.  Might think of a thrift store where I purchased a certain book or how I first found such-and-such a book at the library.  Or if someone gave/recommended a book to me, I might think of them, but nothing really specific that I can think of right now.

.:

10. Name a book that you acquired in an interesting way.

Jane Austen Made Me Do It.  I won that in a giveaway and it’s so rare that I win giveaways.  If I remember correctly, there was a huuuuge blog party thing for its release and I entered a bunch of giveaways for the book and ended up winning one.  It’s a lovely book, too, which is a nice plus.

11. Have you ever given a book away for a special reason to a special person?

My books are My Books and I love all of them dearly (whether I’ve read them or not), so I don’t give them away at the drop of a hat.  I did have a darling, tiny, leather-bound copy of Hamlet that I sent to Hamlette because I hadn’t read the play (yet) and didn’t have the kind of connection to it that she did/does.

12. Which book has been with you most places?

My Bible.  Not an ordinary book, I know, but still.

13. Any “required reading” you hated in high school that wasn’t so bad two years later?

Nope.  I mean, I didn’t like Silas Marner all that much, but I didn’t hate it.  I even grew to love epic poetry because of school (college work, that is) – stuff like the Iliad and Beowulf and Paradise Lost.

..:

14. Used or brand new?

Used.  Fits perfectly with my budget and there’s just so much more with a used book than there is with something brand new. (Though if I get a book from a library and love it, I do like getting a fresh, shiny copy.  Like While We’re Far Apart or Violins of Autumn.)

15. Have you ever read a Dan Brown book?

Nope.

16. Have you ever seen a movie you liked more than the book?

Little Dorrit (2008), Anne of Green Gables (1985), and Anne of Avonlea (1987).

17. Have you ever read a book that’s made you hungry, cookbooks included?

Books don’t make me hungry, but The Candymakers has some mouth-watering descriptions of candy, chocolate, and other foods.

18. Who is the person whose book advice you’ll always take?

Hamlette.  Whether she recommends a book to me specifically or writes a glowing review on her blog, I keep an eye out for it.  I’ve discovered several gems through her recommendations, like Shane, The Blue Castle, and Where Eagles DareNaomi and Jessica (Prescott) also give great recommendations – Echo, Eve’s Daughters, Gone With the Wind, To Tame a Land

 :

19. Is there a book out of your comfort zone (e.g., outside your usual reading genre) that you ended up loving?

The Outsiders was definitely not the kind of book I usually read, but I adore it now (as y’all probably know).  Holes was another odd-ish one, but I enjoyed it, too.  And I recently discovered a great love and admiration for the Tintin books, which are really graphic novels, which are not something I usually enjoy.  There was also Ender’s Game – sci-fi used to be So Not My Thing (I think; it was so long ago I don’t quite remember), but I think it’s awesome now.

___________________________________________

I hereby tag…

Naomi – Wonderland Creek

Ashley – inklings press

Maribeth – Trekking Through Hobbit Holes

DKoren – Sidewalk Crossings

Have fun! (And don’t feel pressured to participate if you don’t want to.  This is strictly voluntary.)

Eva

24 thoughts on “tag – I’m it!

  1. First off: YOUR BLOG LOOK. ❤

    I love your book recommendations too – you have such a good style. (Except that you don't like Daddy Long Legs! *gasp* What on earth?!)
    Same about New vs Old books. I like old ones but ones I REALLY love I like to have new. (Although I generally end up buying them secondhand on amazon. :-P)
    Don't really like A fault in our stars either, btw. Also it has way to many swear words.
    (The pictures in this post are gorgeous.)

    I might fill this in – even if I don't, thanks for tagging me. 🙂 It was lovely to read this post – for some reason it seems awhile since I 'heard' your voice. Hope all is well (especially with your dad)!

    Like

    • Aw, I’m glad you like it. I’m not entirely happy with it, but it’s probably not the worst look I’ve ever done. 🙂

      I don’t know why I don’t like DLL – I just don’t. I do love Dear Mr. Knightley, though. ❤ And you're so right about TFIOS having too much language. Ugh.

      (I got almost all the pictures in my post from your bookish Pinterest board. So they should be gorgeous, right? ;))

      Dad's doing pretty good, all things considered. He's not feeling too great today, but overall I think he's making progress.

      Like

  2. Thanks for the tag! I’m working on my answers. I quite love epic poetry, particularly the Iliad and the Odyssey, but read a whole bunch in college that I loved. And I do love that you’re enjoying Alistair MacLean!

    Like

  3. I love reading these tags.

    I greatly enjoyed Daddy-Long-Legs (not the sequel, is weird, and has issues; disturbing hints I might add), but I wouldn’t call it the next best rival to LM Montgomery (I don’t whole-heartedly enjoy all of Little Women, so I cannot make that comparison).

    I loved Little Dorrit both movie and book although I think the movie cut the agonizing Pet story down or downplayed it (I couldn’t stand that Arthur could love anyone but Amy).

    I try to avoid preface, editors notes, etc. to fiction because I feel that they bias my perception of the story.

    Like

  4. Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww . . . I give great recommendations?? Thanks! ❤

    (Speaking of which–ever read any Ann Rinaldi? I've only just gotten into her books and they're GREAT.)

    I love epic poetry too. It's so beautiful.

    Like

      • Historical fiction–especially about early America and also the American South. The two books I’ve read by her so far are “In My Father’s House” (about a teenage girl in Virginia during the Civil War) and “Wolf by the Ears” (about Thomas Jefferson’s illegitimate daughter Harriet). They’re both wonderful, wonderful books. You’d love them, I’m almost positive.

        Like

  5. Pingback: the book tag. | inklings press

Leave a Reply

