my top fifty favorite movies

I’ve done a ‘top fifty favorite books‘ post, so I thought it was only fair to do one for movies, too.  Actually, I wanted to list one hundred at first, but there simply weren’t enough films that I love enough, so I went with fifty instead and I think that, overall, this list provides a pretty good summary of my movie loves.

It is a bit messy, because I copied down my ‘top ten favorite movies‘ list for the first ten entries, and then everything else is just there as I added, erased, re-added, rearranged…you get the picture.  And anyway, the rankings are very fluid any day, depending on my mood. (Even for the top ten.) (Though Mag7 will always be my favorite movie ever.)

_________________________________________________

  • The Magnificent Seven (1960)
  • Casablanca (1942)
  • Stalag 17 (1953)
  • Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade (1989)
  • Singin’ in the Rain (1952)

  • Laura (1944)
  • Notorious (1946)
  • State Fair (1945)
  • Saving Mr. Banks (2013)
  • Meet the Robinsons (2007)

  • Raiders of the Lost Ark (1981)
  • The Great Escape (1963)
  • Charade (1963)
  • Robin Hood (1973)
  • Minority Report (2002)

  • Friendly Persuasion (1956)
  • Cinderella (2015)
  • High Noon (1952)
  • Sense and Sensibility (1995)
  • I’m Not Ashamed (2016)

  • The Best Years of Our Lives (1946)
  • The Russians are Coming! The Russians are Coming! (1966)
  • Cars (2006)
  • Saints and Soldiers (2003)
  • The Lady Vanishes (1938)

TheOutsiders4-2ann9aq.jpg

  • The Outsiders (1983)
  • Air Bud (1997)
  • Titanic (1997)
  • Anne of Green Gables (1985)
  • Anne of Avonlea (1987)

 

  • Treasure Planet (2002)
  • Tangled (2010)
  • Enchanted (2007)
  • The Vikings (1958)
  • A Tale of Two Cities (1935)

  • Roman Holiday (1953)
  • Where Eagles Dare (1968)
  • The Day the Earth Stood Still (1951)
  • White Christmas (1954)
  • Exodus (1960)

  • Newsies (1992)
  • Back to the Future (1985)
  • The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly (1966)
  • To Kill a Mockingbird (1962)
  • Hell is for Heroes (1962)

  • The Longest Day (1962)
  • Captain America: The First Avenger (2011)
  • The Happiest Millionaire (1967)
  • Mister Roberts (1955)
  • Holes (2003)

_________________________________________________

How many of these movies have you seen?  How many of them are your favorites?

Eva

28 thoughts on “my top fifty favorite movies

  1. I’ve seen a grand total of . . . 5 . . . movies on this list.

    Er . . . yeah.

    Cars, Cinderella 2015, S&S 95, Tangled, and Meet the Robinsons. And I definitely agree with you–“Cars” is a great, great film. They really GOT what the racing business is all about, you know what I mean? (Speaking of which, my grandparents were in town this weekend! With their 3 jet cars. Good times.)

    Like

  2. I’ve seen quite a few of these movies. It looks like 16 of them. The ones I was most excited to see on your list was Newsies and Treasure Planet. I love both of those movies, and I’m not sure I think they get enough love. 🙂

    Like

  3. I think I’ve seen 26 of these, lol. And it was YOU who recommended Minority Report! I found it at my awesome used bookstore the other day and didn’t get it bc I couldn’t remember who recommended it, but I’ll get it if it’s still there when I go again on Friday. (#addicted)

    Like

    • Yep, it was me. WATCH IT AND TELL ME HOW YOU LOVE IT. One of the reasons I got so upset about VidAngel shutting down their filtering service was because I can only watch Minority Report right now with it and it’s soooooo good. I do have a two-disc DVD copy to watch when I’m older, so that’s great.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve seen a lot of these and love them! This list is why I love your blog. 🙂 I need to watch Friendly Persuasion… it’s one my sister-in-law always raves about but I haven’t gotten around to it yet.
    And I love finding another Laura lover. Such a good movie!

    Like

  5. I’ve seen 16 of these movies: Casablanca, Singin’ in the Rain, Laura, State Fair, Raiders of the Lost Ark, Friendly Persuasion, Cinderella, Sense and Sensibility, Anne of Green Gables, Anne of Avonlea, Tangled, Enchanted, Roman Holiday, White Christmas, Captain America: The First Avenger, and Holes.

    Cinderella, Tangled, Roman Holiday, White Christmas, and A Friendly Persuasion are in my top movie loves. I have or want to have several of the other movies on my to-watch list. I think that there needs to be or I need find (I would think one exists) a movie site that lets a person organize and rate movies they’ve seen. I’m not sure I could come up with top 50. Quite frankly I’m not sure how many movies I’ve even watched in my life (serious ones, not Hallmark and Veggie Tales). I know/think (I overthink favorites lists) I would add How to Steal a Million, The Apple Dumpling Gang, The Apple Dumpling Gang Rides Again, The Inheritance, Seven Brides for Seven Brothers, The Importance of Being Earnest, Ever After, Leap Year, The 100 Foot Journey.

    Like

  6. Pingback: liebster award! | coffee, classics, & craziness

  7. I’ve seen 24 of these movies, and most of the films I haven’t seen are on my “to be watched list.” It is hard for me to find classic movies because we don’t have cable (no TCM), and the library only has a limited amount of dvds. How do you watch your movies? Do you watch them through Netflix? Do you own them, or do you get dvds from the library?

    Like

    • My family doesn’t have a television and my library’s collection of classic films is limited, so I feel your pain. I get classic films from all sorts of places, though. Some I *do* borrow from the library, some my family owns already, some are given to me, some I buy, some I find on Youtube…I’ve even watched a few on TCM when I happen to be in a hotel that has it. 🙂 Youtube has TONS of old movies for free, so I highly recommend giving it a try.

      Like

      • It makes me feel kind of better that somebody else knows my pain. Thanks for telling me about YouTube! I’ll look for free movies there. In the past, I have only found out of the way foreign films. I hope I have more success finding American movies. From looking on YouTube in the past, it more difficult to find movies like “The Russians are Coming, The Russians Are Coming.” How do you go about searching for movies?

        Like

Leave a Reply

