liebster award!

Hamlette tagged me with the Liebster award (thank you, Hamlette!), so here it is.

Eleven (hopefully not boring) facts about myself:

  1. My favorite flavor is lemon.
  2. I adore the Oxford comma.
  3. My new favorite actor is Glenn Ford.
  4. I share a birthday with Alan Ladd.
  5. My favorite comic strip is Calvin & Hobbes.
  6. I’m of Germanic + British + American descent.
  7. My middle name is Ruth.
  8. I currently own Lego minifigures of Mr. Incredible, Bucky, and Wyldestyle. (Wyldstyle id a key-chain minifig.)
  9. I named the horse + rider token in my family’s Monopoly game ‘Shane’.
  10. My favorite Disney song is ‘Go the Distance’.
  11. I have a hard time coming up with facts about myself.

Hamlette’s questions:

1. Is there a movie that has really yummy-looking food in it that you’d love to eat? Well, I don’t know how yummy-looking it is, but I’ve always thought that the mushroom soup in ‘Journey to the Center of the Earth’ (1959) would be delicious.  And I’m not even a soup person!

2.  What era do most of your favorite movies take place in?  My favorite movies are all over the place when it comes to a specific time era.  I do love war films and westerns, though.

3.  What two actors/actresses have you always hoped would make a movie together, but didn’t/haven’t yet?  I haven’t really thought about it that much, so I’m bypassing this question, at least for now. (If I do think of something after I publish this post, I’ll come back and add it in later.)

4.  If money and time and supplies (and crafting ability) were not considerations, what movie character would you love to cosplay or dress up like for Halloween?  Wyldstyle/Lucy.  She’s pretty awesome and her hoodie is cool and her hair would be fun to copy for once. (As long as I didn’t need to get it semi-permanently dyed or anything.)

https://i1.wp.com/humanechoes.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/09/the-lego-movie-wyldstyle.jpg

5.  Have you ever cosplayed or dressed up like a movie or TV character for Halloween?  My family doesn’t celebrate Halloween, but I have cosplayed a couple of times.  Once as Moffitt from the TV show ‘The Rat Patrol’ and once as Jed from the Night at the Museum movies (playing opposite my sister’s Octavius).

6.  What movie would your friends/family be surprised to learn you truly enjoyed?  I’m very vocal about my movie loves, so I have no idea.

7.  What’s one book you hope no one ever makes into a film?  That’s a tough one…because who doesn’t want their favorite books turned into movies?  I guess, though, that having no Jack Cavanaugh movies is better than having wretched book-to-film adaptions of his books, right? (And the same holds true for any of my beloved books that haven’t made the leap from page to screen.)

8.  Do you know the Wilhelm Scream when you hear it?  Yes!  So do all my older siblings, I think.

https://i2.wp.com/media.hamptonroads.com/cache/files/images/blogs/155431.jpg

There’s absolutely no reason to put this picture, except maybe because the Wilhelm Scream was first heard in a western and I’m crushing on Glenn Ford right now.

9.  When a character onscreen has to hold their breath, to you try to hold your breath to match theirs?  Sometimes, sometimes not.

10.  What upcoming movies (or TV series) are you excited about?  ‘Wonder’ (2017) and ‘Cars 3’ (2017).

11.  What are some of your favorite movie-oriented blogs?  (Or just blogs that post movie reviews sometimes.) I follow a lot of blogs that are movie-oriented, but most of them are not read (by me) with great regularity.  The only blogs I read a lot are those written by friends, people I know quite well – my taste for reading blog posts has dropped quite a bit in the past while.

My questions:

  1. Do you own any pets?
  2. What’s your favorite animated movie?
  3. What was the last book you read?
  4. Are you Introverted, Extroverted, or somewhere in between?
  5. Who’s one actor/actress everyone likes except you?
  6. Who’s one actor/actress nobody seems to like and/or know of except you?
  7. Can you whistle?
  8. What’s your favorite number?
  9. Do you collect fandom mugs?
  10. Louisa May Alcott or Lucy Maud Montgomery?
  11. Chocolate or cheese?

I am not tagging eleven people, so if my questions intrigue you and you want to play, go right ahead.

Eva

24 thoughts on “liebster award!

  1. I think its fun when people answer in the comments, so that’s what I’ll do.
    Do you own any pets?
    My family has four (we’ve had quite a succession our whole lives; two is usually the fewest we’ve had is two and it doesn’t last long); two dogs and two cats.

    What’s your favorite animated movie?
    Wow, um Tangled, I think.

    What was the last book you read?
    The last book I finished is a bit embarrassing, so I will prove I’m not that juvenile by adding the two before that, too. Fridays at the Castle, Pride and Prejudice (3rd or 4th re-read; haven’t read it in many years), and Israel: A History.

    Are you Introverted, Extroverted, or somewhere in between?
    I’m the inbetween, an ambivert.

    Who’s one actor/actress everyone likes except you?
    Most of them?

    Who’s one actor/actress nobody seems to like and/or know of except you?
    I cannot think of anyone. Plenty of people who prefer pop culture movies only wouldn’t know a lot of the ones I’m familiar with, but most/many of the bloggers I read would.

    Can you whistle?
    No.

    What’s your favorite number?
    ?

    Do you collect fandom mugs?
    Nope, I don’t like too much fandom stuff. Actually, that word annoys me (as does Janeite or Austenite).

    Louisa May Alcott or Lucy Maud Montgomery?
    I think LM Montgomery is definitely that better overall writer, I think, but they are so different. I love the humor in Alcott, but I am more aware and therefore more sensitive to the sanctimoniousness; if I wanted a sermon, I would read a sermon, not a novel. Plus, I want to bang my head after a certain point in Little Women (and by the end of Jo’s Boys). I think overall I would have to say Montgomery, but I love certain parts of Alcott’s books or certain books.

    Chocolate or cheese?
    Oh, that is HARD. And I cannot choose. My default bad food habits are dairy and sugar.

    Like

    • Thanks for answering the tag questions. 🙂 So much fun!

      I totally hear you in your thoughts on Alcott. Jo’s Boys makes me so mad – she sacrificed Dan just to make some sort of point and it’s AWFUL.

      Chocolate is delicious…but so is cheese. My bad food habits are baked goods and pasta. 😛

      Like

      • Yes! I LOVE Dan. And in Little Men he was on the path to reformation, but then in Jo’s Boys, she decides to make him irremediably wild and recklass and then after “repentance” kill him off. Really?!!! But the worst of it was making him love that “saintly” child of those pompous Pharisees Laurie and Amy. She wasn’t “too good” for him. She was so obnoxious; even in Little Men all the boys and Daisy and Nan had to demean themselves for the “princess.” Really? Rant over. But the thing is I really do like parts and characters of the books. Jo’s own boys and Josie. Tommy is hilarious through. Dan of course.

        Like

      • I actually liked Bess, and I don’t think that’s Dan character really changed between Little Men and Jo’s Boys – he always had a temper – but instead of turning him on a different path, Alcott ruined everything by having him kill a guy (by accident, really)…and the whole spirals out of control from there. Ugh.

        Like

  2. Fun! I’ll answer in the comments too 🙂

    1. Pets? Yep. We have a cat named Plum. She’s black with golden eyes, and she’s very beautiful.
    2. Favorite animated movie? Errrrmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm . . . I THINK it’s still “Hunchback of Notre Dame,” but I just watched “Wall-E” tonight and #aminlove; so we’ll see if the ranking changes or not. It’s very close, at any rate. They’re both masterpieces.
    3. Last book I read? Read, as in finished–that would be “Bloodlands,” by Timothy Snyder. It’s a history of Hitler and Stalin’s mass atrocities in Eastern Europe, and it’s excruciatingly painful to read. It’s worse, too, I guess, because my family is from Eastern Europe originally . . . I kept thinking about them and realizing that if they hadn’t left, THEY very likely would have been slaughtered along with all the other millions of people, and it was just very hard. But worth it.
    4. Introverted or extroverted? Classic introvert. No question there.
    5. Actor/actress everyone likes except you? CARY GRANT. I’ve tried two of his films and DNF’d both of them. Just . . . #nope.
    6. Actor/actress nobody seems to like or know about except you? Ummmmmmmm . . . Sydney Penny?
    7. Can you whistle? Yep.
    8. Favorite number? 6.
    9. Collect fandom mugs? No. Although I have a thing for fandom T-shirts . . . they’re usually too expensive, though.
    10. LM Montgomery or Louisa May Alcott? In general, I’m not really into either Montgomery or Alcott’s writing . . . BUT Montgomery wrote “Rilla of Ingleside” and so I suppose I shall have to pick her as my favorite of the two. Because “Rilla of Ingleside” is the bomb.
    11. Chocolate or cheese? Cheese. Although I’m very fond of chocolate too. But cheese will always be my first love.

    That was really neat, Eva–thanks! ❤

    Like

    • Oh, my word. I had “Bloodlands” assigned in my Stalinism (interesting, horrifying facts: my professor’s mother’s family came from an area of Ukraine that lost major amounts of people, and a classmate had a grandfather who died in the Gulag) class for college. I haven’t heard it mentioned outside that. And although I didn’t actually read the other books for the class, I started that in earnest. And then I had to stop. I couldn’t take it. I wasn’t sure I could take the class, but thankfully the prof and our discussions didn’t go into too much detail. After college I picked up where I left off (wasn’t going to re-read, not an option), but again I couldn’t take it. That class and that book puts WWII (plus some other WWII classes and books or books featuring it) in a different perspective for me. I was sick of hearing the gung-ho, we saved the world attitude. Yeah, war isn’t glorious, and um, we ALLIED with Stalin.

      Like

      • I absolutely agree. The way our popular culture (and a lot of our popular history, too) treats WW2 makes me so angry. It wasn’t a “good war.” Millions upon millions upon millions of human beings died horrible deaths–and not just soldiers, either. Men, women, children . . . Okay, I’ll stop ranting now. But I just wish people would UNDERSTAND that it wasn’t all happy and glorious and exciting.

        Like

    • Do you think you could email me a picture of your cat? She sounds gorgeous and I love cats. 🙂

      I’ve got five fandom t-shirts, I think – three Captain America ones, an Incredibles one, and a Les Mis one. They’re all pretty awesome.

      And you loved Wall-E! *high-fives*

      Speaking of DNF films…I didn’t finish Bells of St. Mary’s. I thought it was boring and my parents had just finished watching/approving a film I reeeeally wanted to watch, so…yeah. I didn’t watch the whole thing. 😛 Sorry.

      Like

      • Of course! I’d love to email you a photo! She’s a beautiful cat 🙂

        YES I DID. I adored “Wall-E.” It honestly felt like it was made just FOR ME and I love that.

        That’s okay!! I didn’t love it–I just liked it–and anyways, you and I are definitely going to have different tastes in movies 🙂 I actually *whispers* tried watching “Charade” this weekend and DNF’d it because the plot was seriously getting on my nerves. I’m not into thrillers, I’m discovering. I’m also not into Cary Grant.

        Like

      • Lookin’ forward to it. 🙂

        Aw…that’s too bad. Charade is one of my favorites. (Though I’m not really into Cary Grant either.) It is rather tense, though, in a vaguely humorous way, so I can see why it didn’t suit you.

        Like

      • I feel like there were all kinds of reasons why I didn’t like it, but I can’t quite put my finger on what they were? It did feel very . . . “frenetic,” to me, in terms of pacing and action and dialogue and everything else. I told Hamlette I wanted to give each of the characters a sedative and tell them to CHILL OUT. She thought that was funny 😛

        I’m gonna try “Ben-Hur” next . . .

        Like

  3. How fun! Lemon…. yum, lemon. One of my favorite flavors as well! You just can’t go wrong with lemon. Also, I love that you picked the mushroom soup from Journey, as that’s one of the films I grew up on! I’m not a soup person either, but since I hate mushrooms, I’m afraid that soup didn’t tempt me. I love that you dressed up as Moffitt! That’s awesome. Also, all pics of Glenn Ford are welcome. 😀

    I’ll answer the questions here too!

    Do you own any pets?
    Yes, right now two cats (Rosie and Elanor) and my Husky, Silver.

    What’s your favorite animated movie?
    How to Train Your Dragon 2

    What was the last book you read?
    Rogue One.

    Are you Introverted, Extroverted, or somewhere in between?
    Introverted. I’m an ISTP.

    Who’s one actor/actress everyone likes except you?
    Christian Bale.

    Who’s one actor/actress nobody seems to like and/or know of except you?
    Marton Csokas.

    Can you whistle?
    Yep.

    What’s your favorite number?
    7.

    Do you collect fandom mugs?
    Not really, though the mugs I do own are mostly movie or opera related. Too many mugs are clutter. I only want the ones I use regularly.

    Louisa May Alcott or Lucy Maud Montgomery?
    I guess LMA, as I’ve read Little Women, and I’ve never read anything by LMM.

    Chocolate or cheese?
    Neither.

    Like

  4. I’m still envious that you share your birthday with Alan.

    Love your answers! I’m working on teaching my kids to recognize the Wilhelm Scream too. They successfully IDed it in Star Wars!!!

    Here are my answers to your questions cuz they’re fun:

    Do you own any pets? Not right now, but we do have this sweet cat that stops by almost every day for playtime and a treat.

    What’s your favorite animated movie? Disney’s “Robin Hood.”

    What was the last book you read? The last one I finished was “Hobbits, Wizards, and Harry Potter.”

    Are you Introverted, Extroverted, or somewhere in between? Solidly introverted. And shy.

    Who’s one actor/actress everyone likes except you? Leonardo DiCaprio. I don’t avoid his movies, but I don’t really like him either.

    Who’s one actor/actress nobody seems to like and/or know of except you? Well, I hang out with other old-movie afficianados like you and DKoren, so this is really hard. I will say Yakima Canutt because I always get a kick out of seeing him, but he’s not famous.

    Can you whistle? Quite well, actually. I love to whistle!

    What’s your favorite number? 7

    Do you collect fandom mugs? Well, I’m drinking my morning coffee from a “Man from UNCLE” mug right now, and in my cupboard are mugs involving John Wayne, Jane Austen, Ernest Hemingway, the Avengers, “Rogue One,” Bard the Bowman from the Hobbit movies, Wolverine, the Lone Ranger, the Disney “Robin Hood,” “Toy Story,” and “Dr. Quinn, Medicine Woman.” So yes, yes, I do.

    Louisa May Alcott or Lucy Maud Montgomery? Montgomery.

    Chocolate or cheese? Don’t make me choose! I will say chocolate cheese, because that totally exists and is delicious.

    Like

    • And I don’t even like him as much as you do. 😛

      Have your children seen any Indiana Jones movies yet? I think there’s one WS in each.

      You have so many fandom mugs! I’ve got a Captain America one and another that features the books/names of several different classic authors, but that’s it. Thing is, I don’t have a lot of space in my room for mugs and if I put them with in the cupboard, they’ll eventually get smashed. But I’m content with the two I have. 🙂

      CHOCOLATE CHEESE??? WHAT. (I thiiiink I might have heard of it before…but still. Sounds beyond delicious.)

      Like

Leave a Reply

