high noon VS. 3:10 to yuma

A while back, I compared The Magnificent Seven to The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly but they weren’t really alike.  At least, not when compared to how similar High Noon and 3:10 to Yuma (1957 version, of course) are.  I love both these movies, I think they’re both great westerns (two of the greatest ever made), and today I’ll be comparing and contrasting different elements of both films.  Let’s have fun with this, shall we?

-Story-

storycollege

High Noon: On the day of his wedding, Marshall Will Kane receives news that Frank Miller, a man he sent to prison, has been released and is coming to take his revenge on Kane.  Kane elects to stick around and wait for Miller.  One by one, the townspeople desert him (including his wife) and he must face Miller alone.

3:10 to Yuma: Dan Evans, a rancher whose cattle are dying from a long drought, witnesses a stagecoach robbery and murder carried out by notorious outlaw, Ben Wade, and his gang.  Through a series of unfortunate events, Dan ends up with the job of getting Wade on the 3:10 train to Yuma, having been deserted by almost everyone else.

-Characters-

characterscollege

High Noon: Will Kane is a reluctant hero (played with quiet, tired desperation by Gary Cooper) and almost the only truly likable character in the entire film (Helen Ramírez could be another).  The townspeople, almost to a man, are cowardly and fearful.  Harvey is weak.  There aren’t a whole lot of great characters in High Noon, truth be told, but they are real.

3:10 to Yuma: Dan Evans is another reluctant hero, a family man who would only risk his life to such an extent because he needs the money to keep his ranch running/provide for his family. (Well, at first it’s about the money, but later on it’s much more complicated.)  While lots of people run out on Dan in the end, his wife and Alex Potter (the town drunk) stick with him and are good, solid people.  Emmy (played by the intriguing Felicia Farr) is an interesting character as well.

-Villains-

villainscollege

Because, yes, the villains in both films need their own category.

High Noon: Lee Van Cleef!  The ultimate western bad guy after playing, y’know, The Bad.  Mostly, he just slinks around and doesn’t say much of anything, but…still cool. (Just like in The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance.)  Frank Miller is sort of bland for all his big reputation – Colby (Van Cleef’s character) and Ben Miller steal the the show for me. (Mainly because Ben is, um, kind of cute.  Sheb Wooley, the guy who plays him, is credited – according to Wikipedia – for originating the Wilhelm Scream.)

3:10 to Yuma: Okayyyyy.  Ben Wade is hands-down my favorite part of this movie (and that was before I started seriously crushing on Glenn Ford).  I’ve always had a certain weakness for great villains, but Wade is the first one I’ve actually liked.  He’s cool and calm and smart.  And charming, to boot.  Plus, he makes some great choices in the end that go to show that he’s not a lost cause where decency is concerned.  As for the rest of his gang…they’re all pretty faceless, except for Richard Jaeckel, who makes a chilling right hand man.

-Music-

High Noon: The theme song is just…wow.  Melancholy, beautiful, even a little heartbreaking.  I love it.  And I love how it’s repeated so often, either in the soundtrack, on the piano in the saloon, or bits of the song proper here and there throughout the film.

3:10 to Yuma: You know, as I started writing this blog post, I was listening to soundtrack suites for both these movies, and the first one I listened to was High Noon.  And I was like “I love this theme song!  Definitely more than 3:10 to Yuma.”  And THEN I listened to 3:10 and it’s so achingly bittersweet and soulful and I really can’t decide.  All I know is that when it starts playing at the end, I get a big lump in my throat.  I like how it’s riffed on in the score and especially how Glenn Ford whistles it off and on a lot.

-Ending-

endingcollege

SPOILERS.  Like, maaaajor spoilers.

High Noon: Kane faces down Frank Miller and his men.  Amy joins him at the eleventh hour and, together, they defeat The Bad Guys.  Once the danger has passed, the townspeople emerge from their houses, Kane throws his tin star in the dust, and he and Amy drive off.  It’s a powerful, albeit bitter ending, brightened only by the hope that Will and Amy will finally be able to live in peace.

3:10 to Yuma: Evans and Wade end up facing down Prince and the gang together, with Wade eventually choosing to save Evans’ life over escaping.  They jump onto the train together as it pulls out of the station, and Evans shoots Prince, who was running after the train/shooting at them.  As the train passes a waiting Alice and she spots her husband, rain begins to fall and the theme song plays.  It’s rather awesome and emotional and such a relief after the hour or so of nail-biting tension.  Plus, Glenn Ford’s dimples are adorable.

-Overall-

overallcollege

Sooooo…which film is my favorite?  I don’t know.  I think that High Noon is the better film, that it works together as more of a cohesive whole and all that, but it’s not my favorite of the two.  And I don’t know if 3:10 is my favorite either.  They’re not just excellent westerns, they’re excellent movies in general.  I think High Noon’s story is stronger, but I like the characters in 3:10 to Yuma better.  It’s a toss-up, it really is.

But fine.  If you twisted my arm…

High Noon.  But only by the tiniest fraction.

Have you seen one or both of these films?  Which is your favorite?

Eva

21 thoughts on “high noon VS. 3:10 to yuma

  1. What a nice comparison of the two films! I like how you broke down the elements this way, with even matching screenshots! It’s very interesting to see them side by side. I dig it.

    I’m afraid, for me, 3:10 is the easy favorite. I’m just not a fan of High Noon. It’s a very good movie, it just isn’t my cup of tea. But I adore both Glenn Ford and Van Heflin. And I love love love the main title song for 3:10.

    Like

    • It’s lots of fun to hunt out all the similarities. Glad you liked it. 🙂

      Van Heflin is a good, solid actor and I like him. As for the title song…no arguments there!

      Like

  2. I actually haven’t watched either of these, but they both sound like great movies. I’ve heard of them both a lot (especially High Moon). I’m going to add them both to my list of movies-to-watch. 🙂

    Like

  3. Oh my goodness! This is the best!!! You should do this again with even different genres of movies, I love this!!
    So I absolutely love love LOVE High Noonno matter how good a movie 3:10 to Yuma is. Perhaps IRS Gary Cooper and the beautiful ‘Do Not Forsake Me, Oh My Darling’ theme song but what a great movie!!
    Anyway, like I said, you should do this idea again sometime, it was enjoyable!

    Like

  4. High Noon is definitely on my to-watch list; although I will admit I’m going into it with some reservations, because I’ve heard very mixed accounts of its treatment of its female characters, and that is one of my biggest make-or-break things about a movie. If I end up liking the way they present it, I’ll probably enjoy the movie, but if not . . . well, we’ll see how it goes 🙂

    Like

  5. High Noon was one of my favorites when I was in my early teens. I really, really loved it. Probably watched it a dozen times. I then watched it again in my twenties and kind of reacted in a, “Oh, just grow up and face the bad guys and quit crawling around asking for help” sort of way. Which maaaaaaaaaaay be a result of watching a ton of other westerns in between, many with lawmen who have to stand up against bad guys and don’t do that. I’m thinking John Chance (John Wayne) in Rio Bravo and Cal Wayne (Bobby Darin) in Gunfight in Abilene specifically right now, but there are many more. I recently picked up a copy at the thrift store so I can try to give it another viewing and see what I think of it now.

    3:10 to Yuma, on the other hand, I loathed when I first saw it. I could not stand it. I thought it was boring. I was very angry with Glenn Ford for playing The Bad Guy. (We all know I have issues with this sort of thing.) I refused to ever watch it again. And then maybe fifteen years later, DKoren convinced me to watch it again, and I fell so madly in love with it. SO much love for it. The writing, the acting, the cinematography — it is magnificent.

    Like

    • Huh. Now that you mention the whole ‘asking for help’ thing, I can see why you think that (though I’m not sure I agree). I’ll be interested in hearing your thoughts after a re-watch. (Might make for an interesting blog post.)

      YES it is magnificent. ❤

      Like

      • Yeah, I could see me doing a review on it at such time as I manage to watch it again. I am sooooooooooooo looking forward to May 15, because that’s when I can send off my revised version of “Cloaked” to my editor and then spend at least a week gorging myself on movies. Only watching things once a week is hard.

        Like

      • I don’t know yet! I’ll be at my parents for part of that time, so I will probably be rewatching Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them because my parents haven’t seen it yet, and then probably things they have that I haven’t seen yet. We’ll see!

        Like

  6. I have seen both of these films, and I also loved both of them! I think I also like High Noon just a little bit more. I don’t know why. Maybe it’s because I saw it first and fell in love with it first.

    I had never thought about these two films together, but there are a lot of similarities. Wow. I never noticed that. It makes me think of a line from “Singin’ in the Rain.” The quote is, “If you’ve seen one, you’ve seen them all.”

    I also liked Ben Wade. To be truthful, when I was watching the movie, he didn’t creep me out like most villains do. The fact that I was liking him creeped me more. He was extremely charming, and I love what he did in the end. I was not expecting him to help Dan Evans.

    Like

    • Well, except for the part where he shoots his own man, he actually isn’t all that bad. Unlike his right hand man, Prince. It’s a bit strange for me, liking Wade as much as I do, because I’ve never actually crushed on a villain before. I love what he does in the end, too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

