book lover tag

Kate over at Once Upon An Ordinary tagged me in this tag when she said “I happen to know you are a fellow book-lover (why else would you be reading this?), so I would love to see your answers to these questions!”.  So here are the questions and my answers. (I feel like I talk about movies more than books on this blog, even though I love books better.  Must rectify that.)

~Name a book you’re embarrassed to say you haven’t read yet.

Well, I wouldn’t say I’m embarrassed about this, but I haven’t read Jane Austen’s Sandition yet, even though I’m an ardent Austenite.

https://classicsandcraziness.files.wordpress.com/2017/05/b8b87-tumblr_lbpknuikax1qei20oo1_1280.jpg?w=640

~What is the strangest thing you’ve ever used as a bookmark?

No idea.  Most of the time, I either use a bookmark or try to remember whatever page number I was on. (Which rarely works.)

~Look at your bookshelf. What’s the first book you see with a yellow spine?

The first totally yellow one (besides the title, of course) was Shane by Jack Schaefer. *heart-eyed emoji*

~If you could have one new book from a deceased author, who would it be?

Jane Austen.  Duh.

https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/originals/b8/0e/f3/b80ef34ba2f67f09592d8572df1bdbaa.png

~Name an author who deserves more readership.

JACK CAVANAUGH.  Seriously, people.  Though my obsession with his books has cooled slightly (he’s no longer my favoritest author ever) he is still a genius in the world of Christian fiction.  And historical fiction in general, for that matter.  If you want to know where to start, I suggest The Victors.  It’s part of a series, but you can easily read it and not be confused in the least.  He’s a great author and his Songs in the Night series has impacted my life probably more than any other.

~Bookmark or random piece of paper?

Bookmark.  Sometimes a library receipt, but usually a real bookmark.

~Can you stop anywhere in a book or do you have to finish the chapter?

If I absolutely have to, I can stop anywhere, but it’s so much more comfortable to finish the chapter.

~One book at a time or several?

I used to be a ‘one book at a time’ girl, but not so much anymore.  For instance, recently I’ve been reading a book for school, a Christian historical romance, and a Suzanne Collins book, all pretty much at once.  But if I come across an epic book, chances are I’ll ignore all the others until I’m done that one.

https://cdn-img-0.wanelo.com/p/015/caf/d79/ec912f2a1c0e0ec9dd48d8e/original.jpg

~Do you read ahead or skip pages?

I don’t read ahead and the only reasons I have for skipping pages are: 1) an inappropriate scene or 2) I’ve read the book before and I know of a particularly boring part that I don’t want to re-read.

~Breaking the spine or keeping it like new?

If it’s a paperback (especially a cheap one), I’ll probably end up breaking the spine.  It doesn’t really stress me out to see cracked spines (unless pages are falling out, or something) ’cause it’s usually the sign of a well-loved favorite.

~What book do you regret reading?

The Fault in our Stars by John Green.  Just no.

https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/92/4e/11/924e115bfef373260a7a96b2c108aecc.jpg

~On average, how many books do you read per year?

2014: 268 books read.  2o15: 167 books read.  2016: 107 books read.  2017: 58 books read (so far).  So I have no idea.

~What book can you read hundreds of times and never get tired of?

Emma by Jane Austen, To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee, and anything by Suzanne Collins.

~What’s the biggest lesson you’ve learned from a book?

Unless we’re talking about the Bible (in which case, there are probably dozens of lessons) it’s hard for me to say.  I really don’t know.

https://i2.wp.com/data.whicdn.com/images/65614270/large.jpg

~What is the most recent book you’ve read?

Gregor and the Code of Claw by Suzanne Collins.  An awesome conclusion to an awesome series.  For a week or two each year, I live in the world of the Underland – if you’ve never read the series, you need to because it’s an incredible experience.  Just don’t ever make a bad movie out of it, Hollywood.  Please.

~What quote from any book will you never forget? Why is it significant?

Major spoilers for Gregor and the Marks of Secret.  Y’all have been warned.

[Hazard’s almost-bond, Thalia, has died.  Howard tells him of his own bat, Pandora, who was killed earlier.]

“You’re not crying about her now,” said Hazard.
“No,” said Howard.  “I have become used to carrying her in my heart.”

“My heart is crowded already,” whispered Hazard.  “But I’m sure the other will make room for Thalia.  She is not a very big bat.”  And with that, he drifted off to sleep.

Don’t worry about me.  It’s just FEELS.  It’s stuck with me for so long, too, that quote.

~How many books do you own?

No idea.  Probably over two hundred, though, counting what I’ve got on my Kindle as well.

~In the past year, what is the greatest book you’ve read?

I’m not sure exactly what year this question refers to.  In 2016, it was The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton.  This year, so far, it’s Defy the Stars by Claudia Gray even though I hated the ending.

https://i0.wp.com/cdn.amreading.com/wp-content/uploads/reading-a-book-outside.jpg

So, those are my answers.  If you love books and want to participate, please do!

Eva

12 thoughts on “book lover tag

  1. I like replying in the comments, it saves me the trouble of the post plus it’s fun when other people answer in comments too.
    First off, your answers. Sandition, it might sadden you that it is unfinished. It didn’t care especially about The Watsons, more than that I hate unfinished stories, but Sandition, Sandition was going to be GOOD.
    Christian fiction tends to make me cringe. Its terribly written and all the same. Janette Oake is the only one that stood out in any way. Still poorly written but far better than the others. I might have to at least look at Jack Cavanaugh though.
    I cannot remember if I’ve put the Underland Chronicles on my reading list. I need to look at these also.
    For my answers
    ~Name a book you’re embarrassed to say you haven’t read yet.
    Macbeth and Hamlet. These are plays (which makes it worse because people, I’m sure I can carve out the time plus Shakespeare).

    ~What is the strangest thing you’ve ever used as a bookmark?
    Who knows. Maybe a hairband? I don’t know what I’ve used temporarily. I’ve probably tucked a corner of the bedcover in as a place marker.

    ~Look at your bookshelf. What’s the first book you see with a yellow spine?
    I only have three yellow total and none are fiction. The most eye-catching is a garishly yellow German pocket dictionary, another is a child’s book of manners, and the third a book by Elisabeth Elliot from my mom.

    ~If you could have one new book from a deceased author, who would it be?
    Probably another Wimsey mystery from Dorothy Sayers or another ancient time novel from Rosemary Sutcliff of the quality of her best.

    ~Name an author who deserves more readership.
    I will go with modern authors: R. J. Anderson and N.D. Wilson. The Faerie Rebels trilogy and the Swift duology for the former and the 100 Cupboard Trilogy for the latter (don’t stop and the first, this one gets better unlike most pop stuff which gets worse).

    ~Bookmark or random piece of paper?
    I have tons of beautiful bookmarks, and recently I’ve been better at using them, particularly my JA ones I won in a giveaway. But previously I’d grab any scrap or piece of paper I could find.

    ~Can you stop anywhere in a book or do you have to finish the chapter?
    I’ve a bad habit of stopping anywhere although I’m trying to get better I think.

    ~One book at a time or several?
    Several, but I’m not evenly interesting or dividing my time. I might start a book and then start and finish another in between. I think I have two going right now.

    ~Do you read ahead or skip pages?
    I don’t skip, I mean if I look ahead I always come back and really read unless in the rare occasion when I’ve skipped to see if the story is going to improve, decide it won’t, and leave off the book.

    ~Breaking the spine or keeping it like new?
    Breaking the spine usually seems to mean all the pages fall out.

    ~What book do you regret reading?
    I most regret skimming books as a teenager I found on my parents and grandparent’s shelves and that weren’t meant for me. I still wonder why they ever had them? I also regret skimming Christian Fiction and reading or skimming many YA novels.

    ~On average, how many books do you read per year?
    According to the Goodread Challenges
    2012-84
    2013-85
    2014-75
    2015-69
    2016-52
    So that is 73, except the last few years it’s been decreasing,

    ~What book can you read hundreds of times and never get tired of?
    I don’t think that is possible, I’d hate a book that I originally loved long before then. I must space my re-reads out over many years.

    ~What’s the biggest lesson you’ve learned from a book?
    Maybe that I need to give some probably well-written books another chance. And that my perspective will change.

    ~What is the most recent book you’ve read?
    Fridays with the Wizards by Jessica Day George (I’m so mature).

    ~What quote from any book will you never forget? Why is it significant?
    I’m terrible with remembering quotes, and I enjoy witty pithy quotes in their place, but I’m more of a big picture person.

    ~How many books do you own?
    Around 100-120 give or take. I’m including cookbooks, craft books, dictionaries, learning books, devotion/Christian living books, fiction, the few books on my Kindle, and I’m counting anthologies as one book and excluding books I’m trying to sell or get rid of. Less than half of these are fiction, its closer to 1/3. I’ve gotten rid of a large amount of my fiction. I’ve relegated a shelf for library books (and probably need two shelves). Books are heavy, I prefer hardback, I prefer to read books that I don’t worry about keeping perfect, and I’m chary of my re-reading.

    ~In the past year, what is the greatest book you’ve read?
    For 2016, Albion’s Seed: Four British Folkways to America by David Hackett Fischer
    For 2017 Either Basic Economics by Thomas Sowell or The Intolerance of Tolerance by D.A. Carson

    Like

      • No, this year I’m actually trying to seriously read nonfiction. I’ve always wanted to balance out my reading, but never really got motivated (and never really understood the difference between pop nonfiction and more intellectual works). I have a history degree yet I never explored history seriously on my own plus I want to be better informed, and last year I finally got the motivation, and I’ve done really well this year. I love me my fiction though.

        Like

      • I find that the older I get, the more I appreciate nonfiction (though I still like fiction better, I think). Most of the books I’ve purchased for myself recently have been nonfiction. Congrats on reading more nonfiction!

        Like

  2. I’ll do the tag, too! I love books! 🙂

    1. Book you’re embarrassed you haven’t read yet–“Lord of the Rings.” I feel like I SHOULD, but then I didn’t like “The Hobbit,” so . . .
    2. Strangest thing you’ve ever used as a bookmark–probably a stuffed animal’s leg 😛
    3. First book you see on your bookshelf with a yellow spine–“Alexander Hamilton.” 🙂
    4. One new book from a deceased author–Erm. Could I PLEASE have another Willa Cather novel? Because yes. Because I love them.
    5. Author who deserves more readership–Pam Munoz Ryan 🙂
    6. Bookmark or random piece of paper? Eh. Neutral. I often end up using folded sheets of lined paper because that’s what I have close to hand.
    7. Can you stop anywhere in a book or do you have to finish the chapter? I’ll stop anywhere. I don’t really care.
    8. One book at a time or several? Usually several.
    9. Breaking the spine or keeping it like new? If anybody knows a good way to keep the spine like new, I should be very very interested to hear it . . . 😛
    10. What book do you regret reading? “1984,” by George Orwell. #nope
    11. On average, how many books do you read a year? No idea.
    12. Book you can read hundreds of time and not get tired of–“Shadows on the Rock” and “Death Comes for the Archbishop” by Willa Cather. Usually I get tired of books kind of easily, but those books just get better and better every time.
    13. Biggest lesson you’ve learned from a book? Sometimes good people do bad things. “A Distant Trumpet,” by Paul Horgan.
    14. Most recent book you’ve read? “Blood in the Water: The 1971 Attica Prison Uprising and Its Legacy.” For my civil rights seminar. Great book, although horribly sad.
    15. What book quote will you never forget? “She is safe. She is loved.” (“Salt to the Sea”) Why is it significant? Because EMILIAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA. *cries*
    16. How many books do you own? Not sure . . .
    17. What was the greatest book you read this year? Fiction: “Wolf by the Ears,” by Ann Rinaldi. Nonfiction: “Storming Caesar’s Palace: How Black Mothers Fought Their Own War on Poverty,” by Annelise Orleck. (I know the last book sounds boring but IT. WAS. SO. GOOD.)

    That was fun, Eva! Thanks! ❤

    Like

    • Your answers were such fun to read! Love it. 🙂

      You know, I didn’t really dig Salt to the Sea the first time I read it, but I should give it another try. ‘Cause I’ve often read books that didn’t stand out to me the first time and then I loved them the second time. So you never know…

      Like

      • I’d be interested in hearing what you think, if you read it again! My opinion of books is usually pretty set after the first read, but I know sometimes people change their minds after one or two reads. Same with movies . . .

        Like

Leave a Reply

