five books that remind me of summer

 :

Summer is no school and a billion hours of free time and wood-smoke and freshly cut grass and reading outside (curled up in a hammock, if you’re lucky) and all that awesome stuff.  Mostly the reading, though, if you’re a bookaholic like me.  Anyway, these are a few books that remind me of summer in some way and are therefore perfect for summer reading.

**************************

Audrey Hepburn, "Funny Face":

~Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell – You’ve now got the time to read this, right?  GWTW is a delicious read and the pages fly by quickly because Margaret Mitchell was a fabulously cinematic author.  Plus, there’s all the bragging rights that go with finishing this one.

 :

~The Outsiders by S.E. HintonI believe this book takes place in autumn…?  Maybe.  But it still makes me think of summer (maybe the movie’s to blame for that, ’cause all I can think of is Johnny and Ponyboy hiking through farmland and it looks so hot out there).  But I adore this book any season.

 :

~To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee – Right from the start, you know that a whole lot of this book is going to take place during summertime.  It’s just the facts.  I mean, right on the first page Jem says that everything started the summer Dill came.  Then, too, the atmosphere of oppressive heat permeates this book, no doubt about it.

 :

~Shane by Jack Schaefer – I remember reading this last year, all in one sitting (I think), curled up on a chair with golden sunlight spilling everywhere. #goodtimes

 :

~Holes by Louis Sachar – This one is pretty self-explanatory, in my opinion.  The desert is blazing hot and all the kids are at what’s kiiiiind of like summer camp (though in the very loosest sense of the word), so, yeah, it’s pretty summery.  Just not in that sit-back-and-drink-a-glass-of-lemonade-and-relax-in-the-shade way.

 :

**************************

Interestingly enough, all five of these books have excellent film adaptions and I think that partially contributes to my visual impression of each story.  Just a thought.  If y’all are interested, I might do a ‘five movies that remind me of summer post’.  Let me know in the comments!  And I’d also love to know what books remind you of summer.

 

Eva

14 thoughts on “five books that remind me of summer

  1. “The Lilies of the Field” really reminds me of summer–there’s so much sun and dry heat (since it’s set in the Southwest). Same for “Death Comes for the Archbishop.” (Have you read either one? They’re both AMAZING.)

    Oh, definitely–I’d love to see a movies-that-remind-you-of-summer post! 🙂

    Like

  2. I don’t know why, but when I think of Gone with the Wind, I always think of summer … so you’re spot on there! I don’t know about the other ones (well, I guess To Kill a Mockingbird, though my first time reading it was in the autumn, so … my brain obviously makes me think of AUTUMN days in relation to it), though.

    Like

  3. Pingback: five movies that remind me of summer | coffee, classics, & craziness

Leave a Reply

